Insta Famous? No, not me! The Picture!

in #travel6 years ago

Have Instagram pictures ever made you do anything crazy?

They recently made me drive way far out of my way to get to this breathtaking picturesque place at an ungodly hour to see what all the fuss was about!


IMG_1891.JPG


I take that back, the hour actually was quite godly or at least outerworldly... heavenly... paradisical.

Not many views can top a morning sunset when the sun really wants to give it her all!


moraki.jpg


It was 4 in the morning, the wind was biting me like a rabbid dog and I thought my skin was going to flake off.

My eyes could barely handle the weight of my lids, shutting automatically with each blink, begging for more time in lala land.

I read all over the place when I was researching New Zealand about the beautiful, infamous, sacred boulders on the beach. One of the best spots for a sunrise performance in the country. Of course, intrigue propelled me through the needles of fiery windchill to find it!

The van parked on a little beach about 20 minutes south from where the attraction was said to be. That night was a wild festival under the stars as I got lost in my emotiona and danced in the sand wildly until the cold pierced me too deep and the warmth of Samwise (my traveling camper) called.

The morning beckoned a warning light into my eyes as I fumbled to get it together and make it to where the boulders were supposed to be.


IMG_1888.JPG


With Samwise waiting up on the cliff top above, I ran down onto the beach in my housecoat looking for the big rocks before the sun started getting to eager to come up!

After threatening furiously to give up about 4 times (unable to open my eyes wide enough to see ahead of me)... 15 minutes down the stretch of sand alongside crashing waves, there they were!


IMG_1889.JPG


At the risk of being called a clueless tourist, I wouldn't have thought these magical boulders were anything more than some cool, round rocks on the beach if I didn't know any better!


IMG_1891.JPG


After first glance and including some local folklore, I noticed the incredible softness that gave them their character.


IMG_1893.JPG


All of a sudden that sunshine started to break open the clouds with a paintbrush of yellows and pinks across the clouds.

I was ready for action as she shone throughout the sky behind these really incredible stones, creating this magnificent moment where everything kind of stopped and I believed in more than just rocks.


IMG_1898.JPG


There is power there. Maybe it's the beauty, maybe it's the placebo, maybe it's nothing at all but a whisper in my memory... all I can say is, the pictures (while beautiful) could never do the whole experience justice.

All of a sudden these weird noises started bursting through my meditation. It sounded like some sort of insect...

Cue all of the cameras!

It was like the papparazzi showed up, clicking and posing and so many bodies now outstretched the space, clearly the guidebooks were effective! That means my time to skedaddle!


IMG_1900.JPG


About Moeraki Boulders:

What are they?
It's said they started forming in ancient sea floor sediments around 60 million years ago, and the largest boulders are estimated to have taken about 4 million years to get to their current size.1

Where to find them?

  • Koekohe Beach, Otago, South Island, New Zealand!

When to see them?
It's best to go early as possible to avoid the crowds and watch the sun wake up in the sky above!

Verdict:
Instagram was on point with this one you guys, you just have to see it to believe it!
heart thing.png


mepineappleheartedit.jpg


I HOPE YOU VALUE THIS POST!

If you got something from this post, let me know by throwing me an upvote, leaving a comment or adding me to your auto-vote account!

(Here is a post I wrote explaining how and why autovote is a great idea!)

💰Pennies for Thoughts! Why Auto-Voting is NECESSARY (+ STEP BY STEP HOW TO GUIDE)💰

STEEM ON FELLOW STEEMIANS :)

twirly.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions to get to know me better:


Have you heard about my super 22 day challenge?
EAT LIKE A SUPERSTAR: 100SBD GIVEAWAY UPDATE!


🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
🎂Healing Powers Fruit Cake!
🧀Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
🧀Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
🥑You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!
🎂Treat Yo'Self! Brownies+Ice Cream+Cookies+Fudge = Cupcakes
💜Incredible Purple Vegan Quiche!

I can show you the world!
💰Come on an Adventure to an Old Mining Cave and Waterfall!
Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

New Zealand is a beautiful place.

It seriously is an amazing wonderland that I feel so fortunate to have gotten to travel through twice now and more to come ;)

My friend, this is a very well written blog, you can do magic with words, or was it maybe the magic of that amazing scenery, the magic of those round rocks that inspired you, and the words just easily came out of your heart. I have been in some places, but I still have a lot to see around this beautiful world, and if I wouldn't have enough time in this life to see this one, then I have to say thank you, because at least I was able to see it through your eyes and your heart. Oh by the way, once again you made me work hard with the dictionary, but it was worthy and I also discovered a new Land....., The Lala Land :)

Hi @mendys-soul :) I'm sorry for making you get the dictionary going again ;) I think that these places just get into your heart and maybe that is where the words come from, I don't know, it's certainly beyond me and coming from a loving, inspired place I can tell you that :) I am happy to keep sharing the world with you! Luckily, I have had the opportunity to see a lot of the beauty and I have a camera and a phone that come along with me so I can share it with you to see as well :) Come along whenever you like! I'll make sure to post more travel blogs so we can travel together here ;) <3

Beautiful!!! 😍

Hey you! You love the NZ travels, I think you should go visit soon ;)

It's in my ''Soon'' bucket list ;)

I love the round and unique rock on this beautiful beach.
So peaceful and so beautiful.
I love the beaches and the sunsets. There is no better place then the beach.

That is definitely true :) Especially at this time, when everything is quiet and perfect :) If it weren't for the wind, I would have loved to stay here all day =D

Yeah I actually had to.........smile

Beautiful sunset scenery

wow , It's incredible view . I was think that is in the afternoon .
You are race with the chicken to take this pic haha lol :)

No this picture was very early in the morning, not the afternoon! The sun was only just coming up! =D

Beautiful photos, probably worth all that struggle? 😊

Haha well, yes ;) I only get out of bed that early if it's truly amazing <3

Such a beautiful place!! Love your story!!

Your photos here reminds me of when I lied in Hawaii. So peaceful. These are the times, at the beach, during sunsets, that lifelong decisions of romance and passion are made for sure.

This was a sun rise, super early in the morning when barely anyone was awake yet but yes definitely a special time for sure =D

Hey. Thanks. Awesome. Love the sun. Love the snow. Delightful, like you.

KEEP SPAMMING & YOU GET MORE FLAGS!!!

@SteemFlagRewards I warned this account to stop the comment spam but they never stopped.

Please consider to UPVOTE this warning if you find my work to protect you & the platform valuable. Your support is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85