A throwbackthursday post about my music journey - cc: @gee1's FUNTIME

in #throwbackthursday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3881[1].JPG

Hello there, greetings to you from my stable, Nigeria. I trust y'all are having a great and fulfilling day, and I hope this post meets you well?

Alright, in the spirit of the #throwbackthursday initiative from the stable of the delectable steem queen of fun times @gee1, I bring to you my first throwback Thursday post on Steemit. I've been observing the throwbacks since its inception, but, I've been procrastinating putting up mine. So, today I made up my mind to put up my throwback picture. I trust it'll inspire courage, tenacity, consistency and most of all, strenghten your resolve in all of your key pursuits...yeah! I believe it will.

Here's the link to today's flagship #throwbackthursday post by the author herself @gee1:
https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@gee1/9h24d-fun-time-with-gee1-my-throwbackthursday-post

There we go...boooommmmm!!!

Below is a picture of me with the legendary singer Samsong. This picture was taken in the month of October 2010 in the city of Ilorin, Nigeria. This was whilst I was still in the University.
IMG_3881[1].JPG

I came to watch Samsong perform at a concert

Back then, I was just a passionate singer who loved God, I had no intention nor thought of becoming a recording artiste. Every musician has a music icon/mentor/legend whom he looks up to and patterns his sound alike. In case you don't know, for me, it is Samsong. I developed my singing and songwriting listening to Samsong. I scored all of his songs and mastered most of his riffs and runs. The Samsong bug had stung me and I couldn't recover. I even began making my hair like Samsong.

The Samsong bug

If you've heard me sing, you'll sure hear some deposits of "Samsong" in my vocals. I had and still have other music influences: J Moss, R. Kelly, Stevie Wonder, Tye Tribbett, John Legend, Jonathan McReynolds, and Asa. Among these legends, Samsong seem to be the one I've had the opportunity to get close to. This is because we belong in the same Church, that is, Christ Embassy, but in different locations so, there's still a separation by distance.

Seven years later

Fast forward to seven years after the last picture, I get to share the same stage with Samsong!!!
IMG_5533.JPG
This was backstage of Nasrec Expo Center, Johannesburg South Africa, at the prestigious Loveworld Festival of Music & Arts held in the month of April (about a year from today) 2017.

Anyone who wants to become has to look at who has been and who is.

Now I'm being watched!
Sweet dreams come true!!

IMG_5904.JPG

The morale of this throwback picture/post

Success is the application of revealed principles and means - Pastor Chris Oyakhilome

No matter where you come from, your dreams are valid - Lupita Nyongo

So long as you can access revealed principles and means, you wield it - Paul "Marpe" Atume

Don't give up on your dreams, 'cos one day the spotlight will beam on you.

Cheers!!!

@marpemusic.

Do check out other scintillating #throwbackthursday posts (as of now) by amazing Steemians alike via these links and do your best to follow and upvote their posts:

@gee1: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@gee1/9h24d-fun-time-with-gee1-my-throwbackthursday-post

@oredebby: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@oredebby/2ffx34-fun-time-with-gee1-throwback-thursday

@mickyscofield: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@mickyscofield/throwback-thursday-with-gee1-calabar-trip

@julietisrael: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@julietisrael/throw-back-thursday-fun-time-with-gee1-5df87fd40090a

@ehiboss: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@ehiboss/my-throwback-thursday-entry

@donkelly: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@donkelly/my-throwbackthursday-entry-food-and-nut-practical

@mzajoke: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@mzajoke/throw-back-thursday-fun-time-with-gee1

@uche-nna: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@uche-nna/fun-time-with-gee1-my-throwbackthursday-post

@eunireal1: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@eunireal1/funtime-with-gee1-my-throwbackthursday-post

@oluwatobiloba: https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@oluwatobiloba/it-s-another-thursday-to-share-throwback-memories-i-hope-you-find-mine-interesting

You can as well use the #throwbackthursday hashtag to search for more throwback thursday posts.

Sort:  

Great post, you have been chosen by me as one of the notable post. You can visit @wafrica for more info on today's daily pick. Thank you

Ohh...I'm humbled. Thanks a million for the support, I'm elated.

Awwwww thanks so much for the honourable mention boss. #dancinggggg

...always a pleasure sister!!!

Fantastic bro @marpemusic. Sweet dreams really come true. I love the 7 years interface where consistency, hardwork, determination and the right character kept you and has brought you thus far. Congrats even for the next level you are headed dear.

Thanks a million @thelovejunkie ... I'm humbled, and I say AMEN to your prayers. Do have a pleasant day ma'm.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Wawuu
You are an inspiration
Great throwback

I could barely recognize it was you at the Seven years before with Samsong.
You going places Bro
Thanks for the mention too

Thanks for your comment bro...it's a pleasure sir!
Stay blessed and lifted!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59