DIY Thrifting For Income - $90 Spent On 8 Items I Sniped & Sold For $807 (8.9x Return)

in #thrifting5 years ago (edited)

Like thrifting? How about finding something worth a lot more than you paid for it? Buying low and selling high?

Of course you do.

Check out some recent sales to see what I sniped for a great profit.

Leather motorcycle jacket bought for $55, sold for $285 to a thrilled new owner.

Body composition scale bought for $8.43 and sold for untested for parts for $190.

Dyson fan base bought for $5.43, sold for $51.50.

Sealed valid printer ink bought for $2, sold for $48.

New friendship lamp bought for $5.44, sold for $88.50. I have 12 of these left to move.

2 lamps bought for $10.86 total, sold for $115.

New audio speaker bracket bought for $3.26, sold for $29 within a day.


The jacket had a small tear on the back, or otherwise I'd have easily gotten another $100. It was too high quality of an item to pass on since I knew it'd sell right away.

Plenty more, but just a gist for those who appreciate these types of posts for inspiration and ideas.

While I can double or triple my money constantly on countless items if I bought more, I like to go for 5-10x+ to keep it exciting.

I still prefer to upcycle to help the environment, so I don't thrift as much as I used to. When I do, I usually do pretty well.

Revenue is before shipping and platform fees.


TIP:

Look in the stores where you'd expect people to potentially hide good items. Many people stash things to come back with more money or to wait for a discount color day. Store employees will also hide stuff so they can buy it once it's "been on the floor" for the required period before being eligible for purchase.


Recent Upcycling Sales:

Other Recent Thrifting:

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Fantastic! So inspiring to see these posts. I hope it awakens something in others here. The potential is totally out there.

Someone will have to buy the hot dogs when you catch Billy Joel. Come early or stay late and we can scoot around to load the SUV up with a ton of stuff for you. Thanks for getting the bigger picture.

Wow. This can help to make someone rich. How can i join this hustle

Keep em coming bro, you're a legend. That vest is baller mayne.

If you only saw what I'd pull in daily in my prime before crypto became an enormous distraction... I'd have bags and bags a day. Sometimes too much to carry.

Soon enough, I'll get pumped up to rage the thrift stores again and then I'll drop so much knowledge you guys will pack up to move here to join in on the fun.

Thanks fo the resteem.

Yeah man I'm super interested in learning how to do the thrifting/selling as another side hustle. How do you come up with your target asking price for your thrifted items?

I found some badass stuff tonight on the curbs. Check back tomorrow.

P.S. while writing this, just sold a book I found on the curbs this month for $125.

I look up the recently sold items on eBay to get a pulse. If it's rare, I use my judgement. I often raise the bar on prices if the quality or condition warrants it and see how the market reacts with page views/watchers/messages. I'm never in rush to move anything, so I'll assess and adjust if I was a little too ambitious, or just sit it out for the right buyer.

The key is having this skill handy or instinct while at the stores to be efficient and also prevent things from being missed. I also find a lot of the same types of stuff, so experience has taught me the general price points.

Damn, matt. Teach me your ways! How did you market those lights when you had them for sale?

Posted using Partiko Android

They're a well known lighting brand used by DJ's, musicians, and production crews. I found a batch of 9 of them and have 1 left. Great for making those small Pokemon frescos... just sayin...

Upcycling is pretty easy to do if your nearest cities have curb-side recycling. My city's sidewalks are overflowing with mounds of stuff for collection. Thrifting is about consistency. Go around to a few stores a few times a week to understand their inventory, their flow, and quickly identify the new stuff they just put out that's got the most value for the cheapest price (often their pricing errors).

Nice wheeling & dealing!

Do you ever see any midi keyboards that have been thrown out?

Appreciated. I've seen a few keyboards and acoustic pianos on the curbs, but nothing I've been able or wanted to take. I'm about to go out and look on the curbs now, and if there's a midi keyboard, you manifested it for me.

Good luck!

You could find anything out there.

Hellllll yeah!! A nice brand too

8C5D314A-CA1E-45B9-89DC-F5A238873487.jpeg

You find the most awesome stuff., that's hard to believe someone would just throw that away.

Maybe someones Mrs or ex threw that out just to be a bitch after an argument or a breakup. Musical instruments seem to suffer that fate quite a bit.

I just got back in and you won't believe it!!! On my last street (phone died in 25 degree weather) I found a Casio LK-50 keyboard!! I almost fainted. These barely pop up, but you did this. What the heck?! Will post on everything tomorrow.

Yeah, I manifest with focused intent these days, I've given up on random happenstance ;)

That's some high-quality hustle for a day! Impressive!

Thanks for enjoying the post. To clarify, I didn't buy/sell everything above in the same day. Just took a couple examples from recent sales.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80