Ten Truth and One Lie - The Reveal

in #tenfactsonelie6 years ago (edited)

10 Facts (1).png

First I want to apologize for not getting back to you. Time flies when you are having fun!!

And we are having a ton of fun over at the Freewrite House @freewritehouse

The Challenge
My so very talented freewriter friend @byn nominated me for this challenge which was initiated by @traciyork. Thank you for starting it!

This is how this challenge worked.

I told you 11 facts about my life. But one was not a fact at all. It was a big fat lie!!!

The Facts - Well, Almost All of Them Are:

  1. I am one of five children.

    Yup. I am No. 4 if you want to know.

  2. I grew up without a car and without a TV.

    True. I was a teenager by the time my parents got a car. My oldest brother had one before them when he turned 18 - the legal driving age in Germany. I got very car sick (still do if I am not driving) and it was a torture for me to ride in any car. So, it worked out well that we walked wherever we had to go to.

  3. I rode my bicycle from San Diego, California to Eugene, Oregon and back again.

    True. And I want to do it again.

  4. I studied 4 languages.

    True. But I speak only 2 fluently. One of the languages was Latin and I had 7 years of it in school. I forgot everything beside the phrase in Asterix and Obelix, alea iacta est.

  5. I was married many times.

    True, but I don't want to talk about it. If you are worried - the number is less than 10 🤪

  6. I had lots of pets when I grew up.

    Big FAT Lie!!!!!!! My mom thought that 5 kids was way more than she could handle without animals in the mix.

  7. My English teacher told me that I will never speak English.

    True. I showed him - well, some might still debate if I do speak English 😂

  8. I have witnessed birth and death.

    True. I was with both of my parents when they passed. And have had the priviledge of seeing quite a few babies being born besides my own.

  9. I have never seen the Grand Canyon.

    True. I need to go ASAP.

  10. I have shot a gun.

    True. I am not a good aimer. I did hit a can, but I was aiming at something else. Pssst. Don't tell.

  11. I love traveling by train.

    True, true, true!!!! Let's go!! I am due for an adventure.

And the winner is......

Drumroll please!!!

@enginewitty

How he guessed it, I don't know. I don't think we talked pets. Did we?

Proof of payout.

Screen Shot 2018-03-20 at 5.02.11 PM.png

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Dan, the Rooster

Oh No!! A Bad Sunburn! Or?

And There Was a Little One
Chickens do Much for Us

Another Perspective of the Garden

Garden Update

Egg Salad

10 Facts, One Lie - Win 1 SBD

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Sort:  

I had to go back and see which one I guessed. It was purely a guess! I can't imagine growing up without pets, but as a mom I can understand not wanting any along with 5 children up 3 flights of stairs. Congrats to the winner!

Thank you for playing along. I have guessed at a few now and it is really hard to guess when all sound either believable or totally unbelievable.

Haha that was fun! I love that you speak more than one language! I had no idea for a long time that English wasn't your first language...so you did show him! Haha

I did!! And I laugh about that at times. Also, a good thing to remember when learning new things which seem so hard. :)

Yes, I love that!

Wow, no pets!? I loved that we always had dogs and from time to time cats (but Dad never liked them).
I have tons of animal stories from my youth! Nice job!

Thank you!! We lived 3 flights of stairs up. Later, when I was an older teenager, my brother brought a dog home. and that was good because she ended up being my mom's only companion when my dad passed away and we were all gone from home.
But that was not our favorite job to take her down to pee :) Especially when she was a puppy and had to go every hour.

@mariannewest - How awful! Imagine how having no pets as kid has affected you!!...( just kidding - couldn't resist). Thanks for the fun contest!

Congratulations to the winner :)

hahaha - yes, you found me out!! My superior weirdness is all the result of a lack of childhood pets 🤪

You and I were early on a pow-wow one time and my dogs were barking and I forget what I said, something about pets and the girls, and you said you never had any growin up, was brief because people started showing up ;)

Hah!!! Good memory!! we have to watch what we say around you lol.

Glad you won. You are doing so much for all of us and me, in particular. Thank you!!!

All of this was very cool. My dad spends summers in Elkton, south of Eugene, and I have a friend at the University of Oregon if you do take that bike ride again. Thanks!

Thank you. Good to know. You might have to come along :)

Love it! I can understand your mom. I tried to avoid having pets for years, but my animal loving husband eventually won me over!

I think you're awesome and I would love love love to go on a long bike ride like you have! That sounds amazing :)

Let's go together :) I have to get back into bicycling shape - but that is not that hard... :) We have someone drive a car with all the gear and laptops and blog about it.
And that way is so much better than schlepping all your gear like i did :)

We actually have a bit of bike-friendly traveling gear because it's something my husband has always wanted to do... but at this stage of the game we don't actually have working bikes because those got sold before we left for the boat! There are amazing biking trails here that we love to ride on and you've reminded me that I need to have him start looking for good deals on bikes so we can start training for a good long bike ride!

I was also 4 out of 5, should we start another group?

Yes!!! I think we should!!! LOL

That's what I had guessed too. #6. Glad to know my deduction had been correct.

Well done :) How did you guess? 😄

I don't know. It just seemed to me it was easier to have pets if they were homeless animals and I figured that could be itnerpreted as having pets and so perhaps was the lie.

Hahaha, this is so great and so interesting, too! Unfortunately, I only saw it now and didn't get to guess which one was the lie, but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have picked that you had no pets! I mean, Germans and their pets ... I've got an aunt who has four children and they still needed at least one dog, hamsters, bunnies and maybe a cat, too, lol! Where in Germany did you grow up?

This challenge was/is so much fun, Inspector Dash nominated me yesterday, lol! If you'd like to support his investigations as to what lie I've told, you can join me and him here:
https://steemit.com/aboutme/@storytllng.rocks/ten-truths-and-one-lie-about-storytllng-rocks

I grew up in Coburg, Bavaria - but really, we were right next to the border to East Germany.

I will go and check out your challenge now :)

Wow, interesting! Though I travel a lot, I've never been to Coburg - would you advice me to see something specific if I would get there sometime?
As you probably know by now, I'm still living in Germany (sigh...), I grew up in a small town close to the Ruhrgebiet ... or rather Ruhrpott, lol! I'm currently living in Essen, though it's more like a home base and I'm away quite often. My mother grew up in the Black Forest, and my grandparents came from East Prussia, Pomerania and Berlin ... it's quite an interesting (though not easy) story and I'm actually working on telling it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63