Chickens Do So Much For Us!

in #chicken6 years ago

50a46826-2ca4-407d-a5d0-514b3654ef77.jpeg


Everyone is busy and is showing me their butt.
That is what is happening pretty much every day when I go and visit my girls.
First they are all excited to see me - actually, not so much me but more what I am about to give them.
The minute their bowl is filled, or the greens are dumped, they don't care about me at all anymore.
Typical.
They only are nice when they want something!! Oh well, complaining is for the birds.
Wait, I am complaining about the birds!!
Not really. They are good girls and one boy.
Every day, they give me lots of eggs. So many that we are looking for more recipes which require a lot of eggs.
They also give me a lot of poop. And by that, I mean lots and lots and lots!!!
Which is fantastic. After that is composted it is the best fertilizer ever!
Chickens are supreme garden helpers because they scratch and scratch and scratch. They eat the weed seeds, eat all kinds of insects and prepare the soil for the next garden.
Then, some of the girls get broody ever so often and produce a lot of little chickies.
They are so cute and provide so much entertainment.
Then they grow up and half of them become roosters and they are not cute at all anymore.
But they make excellent stew and soup.
Their feathers are great for art and craft projects and are full of nitrogen in the compost mix.
So, you see, I forgive them for showing me their behinds when I want to take pictures - that is just how they are.
Got to love them for all they do for us.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Lolz indeed they do much for us, you really took time to check them out

Their feathers are great for art and craft >

This is my best of them, i so much admire art works

They really do if they are allowed to live freely :) And some of the feathers are beautiful!!

Hahahah love this, @mariannewest. Such a holistic and grounded view of the situation. I laughed out loud at the morbid humor of these lines in succession :)

Then they grow up and half of them become roosters and they are not cute at all anymore.
But they make excellent stew and soup.

Awesome:) Thanks!

thank you for that 😄 🐣

Oh my you are so funny. Reading what you wrote here made my day. My hubby dislocated his ankle and may need surgery so abit down. But the chicken butts and how you story it. Haha! Thank you @mariannewest.💞

Oh no!!! Hope he will heal fast!! Gald that I could bring a smile to your face lol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 23:42:45
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 285.50/400.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I only knew half of how good they are, so I learned something today. It was a fun read too! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60744.52
ETH 3381.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57