Oh No!! A Bad Sunburn! Or?

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_9017.jpg

A Bad Sunburn

As I was editing these photos, I couldn't help myself but to see a human form.

Just this morning, I posted sizzling to the #freewrite prompt. The prompt was inspired by a story in which the person was extremely sunburned.

Every time, my whiter than white family comes to visit us in California, at least one of them comes back from the beach with pretty much the coloring you see in the picture above. Hint: Keep several aloe plants in good condition in your yard. They are the saviors of those suffering from underestimating the power of the sun.

I am happy to report that this picture is not depicting a sunburn!!

The Identity Revealed

IMG_9013.jpg

What we have here is one of these beauties.

Every third Saturday we have a backyard produce and product swap. People bring all kinds of things they are either growing or making and we trade. The only rule is no money is involved. Everything else is up to the traders.

This Saturday, it was raining.

As much as we love and need rain in Southern California, we get a bit paralyzed when it is happening.

Most people just stay home.

It happens so infrequently that that is actually a good strategy since most people here don't know how to drive in the rain - but that is a different story.

One of the few who ventured to join the swap brought the purple ... along.

Did you recognize what this is?

IMG_9010.jpg

If you guessed sweet potatoes, you guessed right!!

Aren't they beautiful?

Sweet potatoes are such a great plant. they greens are not only edible but also delicious. They grow in abundance, fill your cooking pots and make a great living ground cover.

And they get huge!!!

IMG_9018.jpg

Here you see them in comparison to a 5-gallon bucket and a man's foot.

Pretty impressive, right?

Do you grow sweet potatoes? Or do you eat them? How many varieties have you tasted and which one is your favorite one?

One more question. What is your favorite way to eat Sweet Potatoes?

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Chickens do Much for Us

Another Perspective of the Garden

Garden Update

Egg Salad

10 Facts, One Lie - Win 1 SBD

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

A chance to win a membership in Steembasic income @freewritehouse every day for 11 more days!!!

Sort:  

I have never been able to get a sweet potato to fruit... err. tuber? Regular potatoes are easy here though.

Really?? I have them all over my yard all the time. Where are you getting your starts from?

Very impressive plants. Are you sure people eat them? And if so, Why? :-))

Because they're delicious! In pie or among root vegetables, baked with plenty of butter and herbs.

Interesting theory. Hmmm. Someone would have to prove it to me. Haven't had success with that so far. :-)) But I understand some people don't even like avocados! So I'll accept these sorts of things go round and round all the time. :-))

I’m happily pro-avocado, but saddened to hear you haven’t had a good sweet potato experience before. Or perhaps they just aren’t your thing. (In which case, more for me!)

sweet potatoes are delicious!! agreed lol

LOL at Bad Sunburn, We often have sweet potatoes so I recognized it immediately ;)

Good for you!! How do you like them best?

In NZ we cAll them Kumera and there similar to the ones callled red sweet potatoes here
I often roast them but of recent we have been having them mashed now and again

Thank you for telling me. This one is big. I think I try half of it smashed. Sounds good!

IT really is great Just mashed with some butter nothing else works good for us :)

I haven't seen a sweet potato as gigantic as those. I like the purple or violet ones because they are better tasting.
I think it's something else if someone has that kind of sunburned behind.

I like those as well. I also have some yellow ones growing which are really good.

Well played , well played i thought it was human too at first glance ...

LOL.. yeah, I see a burnt 'hiney'. Oh my that would be painful. And you say you have relatives who get that burnt ?? YIKES !! :)

They get pretty bright red. we always warn them and it is easy to forget how much the sun can do if you are close to the ocean. It seems cool and they only notice when it is too late.... But usually, with a good dose of Aloe, they are fine the next day (s)

Those are big sweet potatoes. Thank God it is not bottom as initially I thought so. Lol. You are hilarious. 😂

I knew it was a sweet potato! LoL

good for you!!! You know good food :)

Fy, fry, fry the heck out of those plants. That's my favorite way to eat them.

Thanks for the bountiful harvest yesterday. Now I have soup for the next 10 years.

You are welcome. Better get started with soup for breakfast lol

PS: I don't think I ever cooked a worse soup than the one we made (OK, you! Since it did turn out awful to my poor tastebuds, I am going to blame it all on you).

No wonder you did not take any home. I gave it all to Bonnie. ;-)

I liked it!!! We just had too much food at home and I didn't want to try to fit more in the fridge

If you liked that blobby water, you'd pull your hair out if I cooked a proper minestrone. So good.

Start cooking!! I have too much hair!!! And check it out. I posted a Steemit meetup with music and easter eggs lol

Reminds me of when I first saw Rambutan. I call them monsters balls. Hehe.
:-)

Wait....
how do you know? :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44