Dan - The Rooster

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_9038.jpg

Dan is the only rooster we have right now. He is the best rooster we have had so far. Not once has he tried to attack any of us and he cares for his girls.

Here, he is watching me to see what I am up to with the silly phone. The girls, in the meantime, marched on to explore.

IMG_9039.jpg

Dan had enough of me and followed the girls over the bridge crossing a rainwater harvesting ditch.

IMG_9041.jpg

He found this nice patch of greens and plenty of loose soil to scratch in and called them over.

IMG_9043.jpg

He stands guard - like he usually does while some are scratching and some are still looking around.

IMG_9044.jpg

Then, he tells them to go on and explore. Lots more bugs over there. And they all listen.

Dan is the very best rooster ever. We had some pretty ones before. One decided after a year of being very nice to start attacking me whenever I was out in the yard. I had quite a few holes in my shins.

My minpin started to guard me and the two were quite in a few fights.

But one day, he went too far. He tried to attack my grandson. That earned him a ticket straight to freezer camp. Kids can easily lose an eye when a rooster attacks - just the right height for that.

Dan has been great. He is getting a bit on in years but I hope he will be with us for a few more years.

Do you have chickens? And a rooster?

Believe it or not. It is quite entertaining to watch their going ons.

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Oh No!! A Bad Sunburn! Or?

And There Was a Little One
Chickens do Much for Us

Another Perspective of the Garden

Garden Update

Egg Salad

10 Facts, One Lie - Win 1 SBD

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Sort:  

Dan is a big bad buck... The one rooster I had kept tryiong to ninja Dweezel the Wiener dog, and me. He was a rhode Island named Nugget, and he was given to me as a chick in a McDonalds McNugget box.

They are so cute when they are chicks - but boy - they can get mean!! We had one who would jump up on your shoulder and peck you in the head. His name was Fred and he became the first rooster stew...

Not once has he tried to attack any of us and he cares for his girls.

This is downright funny. I literally just sit and watch them.

They are so fun to watch!!!

Dan seems like the perfect dude. Beautiful pictures. Nicely done.

He is the perfect Dude!!!

That Dan is surely a very cute chicken and healthy too!!!

He is a healthy boy.

We gave our chickens away last fall, and I'm glad we did: my husband would have had a hard time taking care of them this winter. Our rooster was a very nice one. If we start over with new chicks, I hope we end up with another nice rooster. Yours is so pretty!

It is much harder to take care of them in winter climates. That is for sure! I am a bit worried too when it comes time to replace him. Good roosters for a small urban homestead are not so easy to come by.

Dan is a handsome fellow! And yes they are entertaining to watch. Our chickens all have individual personalities.
Our Rooster 'Drumstick' looks like the Kellogg's Cornflakes Rooster from the box, with green plums where Dan has white on the neck.

He sounds pretty. Make sure you tag me if you do a post about your rooster :)

He is handsome, and a good boy. I think @csusbgeochem1 already posted about the chickens, but if he didn't I will and I'll def tag you so you can see them all.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 06:46:32
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 296.15/400.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43