Sentiment in the Debris

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I can't think about everything that's left to do to help patch things up for my friends and others in my community who have lost so much. It could paralyze the strongest.

Five days ago, you needed a boat to get to my friend's parents home. Wim and Anneke are both in their 80s. I've known them for 36 years and love them as if they are my own parents. Emptying the house and sorting through the muck with Anneke is filled with sentiment. Everything has a story and listening to the stories as we work is just as important as the work itself.

Here are a few profound images that I captured from different debris piles.

Stuffed animals

I can only imagine the care and love by the child or children who owned these stuffed animals. I am sure the stuffed toys had their place on the bed when the house was a home. I found it profound that they were not left in an undignified pile or in a bag, but in their place of honor, on the bed.

sentiment in debris1.jpg

Deadpool

Next door to the stuffed toys, the life-size cutout of Deadpool was in disbelief.

sentiment in debris2.jpg

Tiny green wooden chairs

For Anneke, the 3 green chairs that she's had for 50 years are priceless. My best friend, Ingrid and her 3 brothers, along with the 10 grandchildren have all sat and played as children on those chairs. Because their home was under water for over two weeks, this may be the only salvagable one.

sentiment in debris4.jpg

My Latest Posts

Remember to comment, follow, upvote and resteem to show support.

Much luv,

@karencarrens

*** This post was posted using the eSteem mobile app on my Android while I lay in bed. 😆

Sort:  

When your home is damaged like that it definitely affects you into the core. A house you have been living in for years maybe even decades suddenly flooded. It's really terrible because a house is the ultimate refuge and getaway and not to mention all the memories that are there...

Yes. It's a numbing experience. That's why it's so important for those of us who weren't affected to help our friends think through the mess. )))

That is very true !

LOL, my husband just told me that the cutout above was Deadpool, not Spider-Man. They kinda look alike!!!

They really do look alike hehe. After seeing last Spider-Man I am more of a dead pool fan now . My god it was bad

It's crazy. I like how you've captured the moment though. It helps bring the experience to us.

What do you think about the esteem app?

#resteembotsentme

Thank you.😃 There really is a special sense of togetherness now. And as for eSteem, I can't imagine steeming without esteem. I use it constantly. It's been the most helpful tool I've found. Resteembot's cool too! 😁

Cool I downloaded it. Do you know if it has the ability to do signatures?

I don't think it does have a signature option. They are always updating it. Maybe it'll be in a future release. 😀

I am so sorry, I hope you can get the debris sorted quickly and begin your normal life again.

Awww, thanks. Fortunately, no one in my immediate family flooded. However, many of our friends and many in the community flooded so I just help whenever I have some free time. 😀

Hi, Nice to meet you, wish you good luck and a Great Post God Bless you,...!!!

Thank you! I appreciate your comment. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karencarrens from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karencarrens.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post has received a 3.76 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @karencarrens.

@karencarrens Your generate up is spectacular. Mad regard for sticking as a result of many of the hardships, Many of us would've Give up A great deal before. Upvoted.

Thank you! It's really not that hard. Our minds just go into automatic mode and stuff gets done! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30