Owl Doodle Art | From Doodle To Various Products

in #teammalaysiababes6 years ago (edited)

header.png

Doodling is addictive. I doodled a cow yesterday as an entry for ArtExplosion Week 30 contest and it was a lot of fun. I decided to draw another doodle today and this time around I wanted to doodle an owl. I always love owl art and I knew this one will be fun to make.

I started my art career as a doodle artist and I used some of those earlier doodles in my coloring books.. A lot of people do not consider doodle to be serious art. Some even though they are just mindless scribbles that are worthless. It is so far from the truth. Some of my artist friends are well-known doodle artists. If you are a Malaysian and read The Star, chances are you have seen the Doodlism column. Those doodles of famous people were created by Sarah Salim. And if you go to some big chain bookshops like Kinokuniya or MPH you probably have seen this coloring book...

12679203_971172839670491_1763860933_n.jpg

Source: Marty Woods

This book was illustrated by my friend, Marty Woods. His doodle art is so intricate it just blew my mind!

Doodle? Who knew, right?

There is another artist who inspires me - the American artist Keith Haring (1958 - 1990). His doodle-like pop art has spontaneous lines and patterns that became his distinctive personal signature. Haring opened his Pop Shop in New York in 1986 to sell products with his designs on them. He sold t-shirts, toys, and mugs to his adoring fans who could otherwise only dream of being able to afford one of his paintings or sculptures. This was in the 80s where the Internet was not available yet and only well-established artists could afford to open a shop selling merchandise with their designs.

Things are so different now. We have the Internet and anyone could open an online shop with minimal or no cost at all. Artists could finally sell their art to anyone anywhere in the world and not just their local audience.

I have been selling products with my designs for a couple of years now. I think the Internet (and of course Steemit) have been a real blessing to the artists' community. Everyone knows artists do not make a lot of money, well, unless they are well established and well known. Having our personal online shop and gallery helps tremendously because it allows us to earn passive income without doing too much work.

The doodle

This is the owl doodle I did earlier today. I drew it on a piece of watercolor paper because I wanted the background to be in watercolor. Once the paper dried, I used black fine liners and markers to doodle.

6.jpg

Once completed, I scanned the drawing, cleaned it digitally in GIMP and finally uploaded the design to my shop...and voila! Here are some of the products with my design.

ds.jpeg

Source: CreativeUnited

slingbag.jpeg

Source: CreativeUnited

tshirt.png

Source: RedBubble

notebook.png

Source: RedBubble

pillows.png

Source: RedBubble

Here are the progress images in an animated GIF.

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Advice to newbie artists

A lot of newbie artists think their art has to be "perfect" before they could set up a shop. Maybe some people agree with this statement. But personally for me, don't wait too long to set up your shop. "Perfect art" is subjective. You might think your art is amazing but some people might think they are rubbish. And that's okay. It is just a matter of preference. The point is to put something out there as much as you can and see which one attracts the most audience. Chances are if you market it right, someone will like your style and become a fan and perhaps will buy something from you. Keep trying!


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this doodle? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Art Explosion Week 30 | A "Deviant" Cow

Daily Devotional | Money And False Sense of Security

My Sketchbook | Funny Moments In Our Day to Day Lives

Team Malaysia Babes | The Community

My Sketchbook | Sketches Of A Dancer

Steemit Milestone | 1000 Followers And Being A Force Of Good

Daily Devotional | Worry And Obedience

Doodle Art | Flower Doodle Tutorial

Daily Devotional | Planting Seeds of Kindness


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

My professor in University was friends with Mr. Haring when he was alive, thanks for sharing the post I really enjoyed how streamlined and motivating it was. Keep up the great work! If you're in the studio long enough some doodles can really be come moments of brilliance.

Thank you for your kind support @nathanthewise . I really appreciate it :)

I always like to say, 'Never Try, Never Know', a lot of ppl just stuck at same place because the fear of stepping out of comfort zone.

You are motivating and inspiring all of us!

I hate changes @joelai and the advice really is for myself LOL. I am not so adventurous to try new things XD. Thanks ya!

Oops... hahaha... But the motivating and inspiring part is true though!

Always an amazing work from you @coloringiship! You rock!!

Thank you dear @noriaakip ....you rock too!

I love owls too (and elephants).... Love your doodle @coloringiship... And it goes so well on the bags..

Hmmmm you are the second person who said they love elephants. Maybe I should doodle elephant next? XD

You know I will be looking out for it 😃

It look fantastic on all the products, love it!
Definitely resteeming this.

Thank you! Thank you!

I love your doodles @coloringiship. So intricate and hypnotizing to look at. Must be so therapeutic to make them :)

Yup. I enjoyed doodling very much. I don't have to think too much while working on this. It just flowed. Thanks @osm0sis :)

Love your doodles a lot, @coloringiship!!! Gonna resteem this post of yours :)

I guess when you're really focused to complete this owl doodle, the entire process must've been a therapeutic one too. Do you normally envision the patterns before you start doodling or you just go with the flow and let your ideas and imagination roam free? @coloringiship I love elephants, do you think you'll doodle one? Hahaha... I think I just made a fan request. 😄

It is very therapeutic. I don't plan my patterns. After doing this for awhile I kind of know which patterns to use and where to use them. I have a doodle tutorial coming. Will post it later today...and maybe I will include an elephant template for practice but see if I got time to do the quick sketch ;)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13