Doodle Art | Flower Doodle Tutorial

in #teammalaysiababes6 years ago (edited)

28548338_10156025529109070_1896217753_o.jpg

The Zentangle doodling method has taken the doodling world by storm since 2003. This doodling method was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas. Zentangle is very easy to learn and almost anyone can draw a simple Zentangle art even children.

However, do you need to learn Zentangle patterns in order to enjoy doodling? Absolutely not! Even though Zentangle is very fun to learn, it is not a requirement to learn its patterns in order to create a beautiful doodle art.

In this tutorial, I am going to teach you a very basic doodle art that you can create using basic art supplies - watercolor paper or thick drawing paper, watercolor, black fine liners, and markers.

Where to find inspirations?

Inspirations come from everywhere! Yes, literally. If you look closely at the natural world around you, you would notice beautiful patterns, shapes, and colors everywhere. Take for example this photo. Can you see the patterns on the gemrock, wood planks, and leaf? They are beautiful, aren't they? You don't have to go far to look for inspirations because they are everywhere.

"It is not the language of painters but the language of nature which one should listen to; the feelings for the things themselves, for reality, is more important than the feeling for pictures." ~ Vincent Van Gogh

collage.png

Source: pixabay.com

For this tutorial, I am using this photo of a flower as my reference. I love the color combination of light blue and pink. The blue background makes the flower popped out.


flower-3140492_640.jpg

Source: pixabay.com

The step by step tutorial

Step 1

We are using the wet-on-wet watercolor technique to create the background. Wet the entire surface with water using a clean sponge or a large flat paintbrush. Splash blue watercolor paint onto the damp surface. You can tilt the paper to make the color run. Leave it to dry.

1.jpg

Step 2
Use another piece of paper (similar size to paper in step 1. I used an A4 paper) and draw a flower like in the picture shown below. Draw the internal and external petals as shown in step 3.

2.jpg

Step 3
Carefully cut out the flower design.

3.jpg

Step 4
Again we are using the wet-on-wet watercolor technique to paint the flower. You can use whatever color you want, but for this tutorial I am using red purple mix with white to paint the petals.

4.jpg

Step 5
Paint the middle circle in light green, yellow and red purple. Leave until completely dry.

5.jpg

Step 6
Use a black marker to draw the petals outline like shown in the photo below.

6.jpg

Step 7
Use a black fine liner (I used 0.5 pen) to doodle some patterns inside the petals. You can copy my doodle of you can draw your own.

7.jpg

Step 8
Once completed, use a double sided tape to stick your flower onto the background paper from step 1. And that's it!

8.jpg

It is very easy, isn't it? This flower doodle is perfect for DIY greeting cards or postcards. You can even put it in a frame and give it to someone special. As for me, I might use this on merchandise on my online stores.


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this tutorial? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Daily Devotional | Planting Seeds of Kindness

Portrait Of A Steemian | @angiechin28 Of Team Malaysia Babes

Team Malaysia Babes First Ever Gathering

MyJuniors | Saturday Is Coloring Day

Art Explosion Week 29 | Awakening

Daily Devotional | Why Job Remained Silent?


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Wahh.. ada sudah aktiviti baru saya sama anak-anak :) Thank you for sharing sis :)

Thank you sis. Kalu suda buat aktiviti do share di Steemit sis....ka kamurang suda buat? Saya yg termissed post ni haha.

I think it's absolutely lovely! I love it! Upvoted and I am now following you. Thank you for sharing! Jay x

Thank you for your kind support @jaytaylor :)

I never know this technique until I read your post.creative mind create awsome drawings. Maybe next post can teach us how you mixed colour. I love it.

Thanks for sharing i will done up vote I always see your post. And follow you

i saw your some previous and now this so at this moment i want to say that your all post is best and it nice one.... i also like your art....

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I love the fact that you are self-taught and when you explain how to do this creation, you make it so understandable and makes me motivated to try! Will share the pictures when i try and tag you! Looking forward to more tutorials like this. Upvoted and followed :)

I am sorry for missing your comment @rubinamary. I just read it today. I am so glad you found this post easy to follow. Yes do tag me in your post. I have another tutorial coming which I will post later today :)

Ooohhh yay!!! Looking forward to it. Btw, I saw that you are part of the teammalaysiababes. How do I qualify? 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64