Art Explosion Week 30 | A "Deviant" Cow

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Here is my last minute entry to ArtExplosion Week 30 contest run by @juliakponsford. Phew! I submitted it about 15 minutes before her announcement post pays out. I was very busy the whole day and the only time I could post something is at night after my children are off to bed. I am so glad I made it on time!

The theme for this week contest is DEVIANCE. I had to google what it means since English is not my main language. I knew what it means but I just wanted to make sure I defined it correctly.

"The fact or state of diverging from usual or accepted standards, especially in social or sexual behaviour." ~ Google Dictionary

The first thing that came to my mind when I read that definition was an image of a school girl smoking. Then I checked the rest of the entries and noticed that quite a few people submitted drawings of someone smoking.

The next thing that came to my mind is, guess what? This is gross.

Someone picking his nose.

Yuck!

But yeah, it does show a deviant attitude!

But the thing is I kind of not wanting to draw someone picking his nose because it is too disgusting. And I never draw something gross before. So if I don't draw a person, then what? Well, easy. Draw an animal instead. I know it sounds weird but I figured I am just doing this for fun. I wanted to draw a monkey but my daughter asked why not a cow? So a cow it is.

I have not been doodling for quite some time so I decided to submit a doodle of a cow. Maybe it is not too obvious, but if you look closely you will notice that the cow is licking its nostril using its pink tongue! LOL!

I know a cow is just an animal and its disgusting behavior is not a deviant to its kind or humans. Anyway, I bet it still disgust you if it started to do that in front of you. I would feel disgusted! So to me, even if it is just a cow, its behavior is still "deviance". I know the way I relate the theme to the cow is a bit weird but I hope it makes sense.

The doodling process

I used a pencil, a couple of fine liners, and a black marker to doodle this cow. I started with a sketch of a cow and once I am satisfied with it, I inked the outline using a black marker. And finally, I filled up each section with different doodle patterns. It is very simple but I love the end result.

Here are the process photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this doodle? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Daily Devotional | Money And False Sense of Security

My Sketchbook | Funny Moments In Our Day to Day Lives

Team Malaysia Babes | The Community

My Sketchbook | Sketches Of A Dancer

Steemit Milestone | 1000 Followers And Being A Force Of Good

Daily Devotional | Worry And Obedience

Doodle Art | Flower Doodle Tutorial

Daily Devotional | Planting Seeds of Kindness


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Damn those are some detailed patterns!

If you notice I kind of rushed it towards the end...the awkward geometric patterns on the body LOL! Thanks for commenting!

I would love to do colouring on your cow... haha

I have a doodle tutorial coming. Will post it today. You can make this and color it XD

Hahaha... sure do!

The lines are clean and well put together
I wanted to congratulate you :)

Beautiful Oli!! The cow never look that attractive until you drew it this way! Those details are just wow!

Lembu berhias haha

Doodles are so addictive and it's a form a meditation for me. I used to do this a lot before I was a mom. Now I don't seem to find the time to do it. Art is a creative process for me that really can't be interrupted and my almost 4 year old is very time demanding ha ha ha. Hope I can get back to this again. You made me miss my doodleling days. By the way, that cow came out pretty awesome!

I hear ya @gabyoraa . I have 2 kids age 8 and 4 and it is hard to make art with them around. Thank you for taking the time to visit my post.

For me, it doesn't look like the cow is licking its nostril; more like it just had a really good and satisfying feed. I guess interpretation differs among different people. Nevertheless, this cow looks divine!

Yes it does look like it's enjoying its meal XD

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

What a beautiful artsy fatsy cow! -- my cousin since i'm born in the Year of the Ox.

Erm, cousin, you were not digging into your nostril with your tongue, were you? Yikes! Devil, oppps, deviant cow you are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13