Daily Devotional | Money And False Sense of Security

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

28536421_10156039091334070_1308994412_n.jpg

When I was about 4-5 years old, I remember seeing my elder sister coming home from her bible classes bringing a sheet of coloring page with an image or a camel going through the eye of a needle. I laughed when I saw that page. I knew how the eye of a needle looks like because my mom sew. However, I didn't understand what it means, of course, I was too young to understand it.

I didn't understand that verse until decades later.

I now knew why.

If you have material wealth and you live in comfort with power and prestige, why would you need God? Prior to this verse, Jesus was telling the man to sell his possession.

When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was very wealthy. ~ Luke 18: 22-23 NIV

By telling him to give up his possession, Jesus was touching the very basis of his security and identity. The rich man put his sense of security on his wealth. He felt confident to face life because he had money and stuff. But take away his wealth, how would he react? Despair, because he lost his "security".

We are like him, don't we? I don't know about you but I am like that man. I feel secure and confident to face challenges in life if I have a fat wallet. When troubles come I can solve them easily by buying something or paying for a service i.e expensive medical bill. Say if I am broke and have less than RM500 to last me (and my family) until the end of the month, how would I feel? Fear, anguish, worry, angry.

I am not saying money is not important because it is.

What I am saying is it is wrong to put my sense of security on money or wealth. My sense of security should come from God alone. God is the one who gives me the strength and wisdom to work in order for me to earn money. He is the one who provides. I should not live in delusion!

There is more insight to share about this verse but if I write everything, it won't be a devo anymore but a sermon LOL.

Note: This is my personal devotional and I don't intend to preach to anyone or tell people how to lead their life. I am just sharing what I learned from my daily Bible reading. That's all.


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this devo? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


My Sketchbook | Funny Moments In Our Day to Day Lives

Team Malaysia Babes | The Community

My Sketchbook | Sketches Of A Dancer

Steemit Milestone | 1000 Followers And Being A Force Of Good

Daily Devotional | Worry And Obedience

Doodle Art | Flower Doodle Tutorial

Daily Devotional | Planting Seeds of Kindness

Portrait Of A Steemian | @angiechin28 Of Team Malaysia Babes


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

It is true sometimes we need to see beyond wealth. I always make it a point to share if I have extra, and that to me is my way of appreciating what God gives me.

When we rely on our strength and external things for our sense of security that is idolatry. This is a hard lesson, to be honest.

We need the grace and the spirit to be able to abide with God in riches and wealth.

Abraham was rich and yet he's very faithful.
Cornelius was rich and even a gentile but he thirst for God's word and he was noticed.
God will not grant us the wealth that can make us backslide like that of Solomon.

Gracias!

Thank you for sharing your insight @freezels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13