Team Australia new recruits update 29/08/17 and choogirl v the mould!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, I hope you’re all having a fine Tuesday (or Wednesday since the Aussies will be asleep when this gets posted). I’m back in my normal routine now, which includes upping the ante in my ongoing battle against mould on all things you don’t think would get mouldy. This includes pretty much all my shoes, my wardrobe doors, and some makeup. Even the sheets on my bed had got a bit mouldy while I was away. Urgh!  

Seriously you guys, this is the worst thing about living in the tropics. 

Especially in the wet season.  

Going away for two weeks didn't help.

Source

Righto, so what else do I have to talk about apart from my mould wars? Well, there has been some renewed enthusiasm around other nations emulating Team Australia's success in the past couple of weeks. 

Teams South Africa and Canada

Between making awesome photography posts (I’ve been following him for ages and have developed a strong jealousy of his skills), @cheeto.blue has been doing a stand up job in rallying the troops to Team South Africa. Latest count: 103 members. Nice one mate. 

The other team that’s gained some momentum lately is Team Canada led by the always entertaining @goldenarms. It seems to have about 15 members so far and is attracting a steady stream of posts under the teamcanada tag

As usual, the talented @bearone has been helping out by making team footers/logos for those who want them. If you have a connection to South Africa or Canada then please check these teams out. And unlike for all those dopey MPs in Canberra, dual citizenship is allowed in Team Australia so go ahead and claim that second passport. 

Steemit Worldmap

The other project I want to give a shout out to is Steemit Worldmap developed by @martibis and @blueorgy. This is brand spanking new and designed for travel posts. Since everyone knows the Aussies love to travel, we should collectively be able to make good use of Steemit Worldmap. 

You may have noticed a link to it on my last post. It works pretty well and is a cool idea cos your post literally shows up on the map. 

If any of your travel posts are within the seven day editing window, you should go back and put a link in so it will pop up. @shellyduncan and @travelgirl—I'm looking at you two in particular.

Also, if you're going somewhere, then check out your destination to see if anyone else has written about it.

You can find out more about the project here. @martibis also hangs out in Discord if you have any questions.

Source

Official notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising and rewarding creativity within Team Australia. He will also submit the most worthy posts to @curie, which would result in a massive upvote if you can tap that gravy train.

You can support Team Australia members by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions on how to do that are here.

Don't forget that @centerlink is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for posts, as well as showcasing Australia's most worthy dole recipients.

The Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank has created the @discordia bot, which you can use to increase your upvote moolah. Some of the proceeds will support @centerlink so give it a try.

Of course, also check out the awesome Minnow Support Project. Details on how to join are are here and here. Come say hi in the Team Australia chat room in Discord. It's fun and you can make new friends!   

And lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink and/or @mrsquiggle (or any other bot you like) using Vessel.  

Candidate 1 

Name and bio 

@sakhone is a little difficult for me to introduce since she is still learning English, so my apologies if any of this is incorrect. Also, as someone living in a foreign language country, I totally understand what you’re going though. Keep going @sakhone, you’re doing a great job blogging in multiple languages. 

@sakhone recently moved to Queensland from Laos (which I went to one time and liked very much). I think she lives on the Gold Coast. She has two children and likes coffee, cooking and photography. 

Fun Fact 

“I can read Laos and Thai.”

Nice. I think they are quite similar languages aren’t they?

 

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@buggedout is a middle aged white guy, husband, and father of two who lives somewhere in Australia. He’s also a software developer, entrepreneur, sports better and investor. In @buggedout’s intro post, he basically divides up his adult life into five phases—several of which I can relate to: 

  1. The Corporate Wage Slave.
  2. The Internet Boom Entrepreneur.
  3. The Public Servant Idealist.
  4. The Lone Wolf Risk Taker.
  5. The Crypto (insert something here). 

If you want to know more, go check out his blog. 

Fun fact 

“I sometimes like to play on words and use bad puns. For example, my steemit name has 3 different meanings.” 

Hmm, let’s see. Something do with actual bugs (creepy crawly kind), something to do with computer bugs, and since you’re a dad, something to do with your kids bugging you. They’re my guesses. 

Candidate 3 

Name and bio 

@oliviagrey is a 20-something girl from the Blue Mountains. Her intro post seems to invoke some kind of PTSD around having to 'introduce herself' at job interviews, as she runs through her awkward characteristics, wondering what to tell her potential employers.  

@oliviagrey also talks about being bullied at school and finding an escape in drama classes and through writing. She excited that steemit presents her with an opportunity to actually be herself. That said, she still has an underlying fear of being bullied online, which I hope she will be able to overcome through interaction with the awesome people here. 

Fun fact 

“Someone once said to me, ‘the problem with you is you're an idealist.’ They were saying it as an insult but I was very flattered LMAO.” 

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being an idealist. Your ideas are what drive you in life.

Source

Candidate 4 

Name and bio 

@foovler is from Sydney. He has a range of interests including motorbikes, cars, fishing, food, gaming, and anime. He has been into photography since 2013. More recently he's started getting into videography, and is looking forward to getting a 4K camera at some point. 

@foovler also loves travelling, however, that is on hold since his partner is expecting their first child soon. 

Fun fact 

“Desserts are my weakness.” 

Tell me about it. Two weeks of indulging in all the desserts while on holidays left me with three days of stomach pains when I got back. But it was totally worth it. 

Candidate 5 

Name and bio 

@cooknbake is a paediatric ICU nurse, wife and mother of two. After poking around in the comments of her intro post, I believe she lives in Brisbane but moved here recently from Israel. She loves animals, spring, traveling, the beach over pools (nooooo, pools FTW!), movies, skiing and cappuccinos. She also got into running lately and now understands why people get addicted to it. 

@cooknbake has a recipe blog with many delicious looking things on it. She grew up on delicious middle eastern food and is constantly picking up more recipes from anywhere she can.  

Fun fact 

“My fave series is game of thrones.” 

Yep. How about that finale? So good! Pity about the massive wait we now have til the final season.  😒 

Candidate 6 

Name and bio 

@beet is a self-proclaimed weirdo (well, you’ll fit right in here then) from the giant retirement village of Adelaide. (Lol, I love that description and it’s not entirely untrue.) He’s into travelling, 3D modelling, building, repairing and working on computers, working on new business ventures, and learning. 

@beet is also an engineer who likes hanging out with his friends, including fellow Team Australia member @hol0zor. He is also toying with the idea of becoming Australia’s second witness after a recent major computer upgrade. 

Fun fact

“I was beaten up by an emu while trying to save my friend from a toilet in Mount Crawford, Adelaide.” 

Hahahahaha! I don’t even know where to start with that one. Fun fact of the day for sure!  😭 

@sirknight, please add these new members to Team Australia. 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  2. Regularly check the  Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote the content you like. 
  3. Follow and upvote existing members of @teamaustralia who you share a common interest with. Alternatively, you can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions are listed here.
  4. Comment below or DM me on steemit chat or Discord that you want to join.
  5. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following. You can also follow this handy guide written by @teamsteem.
  6. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London.  
  7. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a Team Australia ambassador. 
  8. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner.

Team Australia banner by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Ah!!! Definitely a bugger living in the tropics! Mound totally sucks!!!
Thanks so much for the Team South Africa shoutout - you guys have started a trend hey 😁😁
Welcome to all the new recruits too 👍🏻

Thank @sirknight for that one. And you're very welcome @cheeto.blue

All new members now followed by the little guy with a pencil for a nose..... That's me. Welcome new members!

Is it weird that every time I see your username I read 'Mrs Quiggle'? 😂 I know it's not but every time!

I do the same too HAHA

Nice job as ever Choo Choo.
Welcome to all the new members of @teamaustralia

Thank you Perc!

Hey mate, what town (or at least what state) do you live in? I also need a fun fact. Thanks.

Well I live in Mandurah, Western Australia. And the fun fact would be... hmmm... We love game of thrones so much we named our first child Winterfell Snow.

Thank you so much Choogirl - the new members have been added to the register. As SirKnight mentioned, Team Australia now has 199 members - who will be the 200th?

@sakhone
@buggedout
@oliviagrey
@foovler
@cooknbake
@beet

Welcome to the fastest growing team in Steemit. Looking forward to seeing your posts at #teamaustralia

TEAM AUSTRALIA

Thank you Choo, have upvoted and resteemed in support of your effort. Keep up the good work.

Thanks mate!

Oh no! Mould/mold is horrendous... Do you have access to a dehumidifier? Also, check out an ozone generator to kill the spores.

Haha @buggedout.

One of my past clients was from Sydney by the way... his family moved to the States (including their 10 year old daughter) about 25 years ago... She adopted an American accent, but when I witnessed them arguing about projects, her Australian accent emerged... it was FUNNY!!

Not really. My fan/ac has something on it, which I sometimes use. The problem with dehumidifiers I find, is they are really hot.

I will look into the ozone generator thingy though.

Lol! That's hilarious. My slight British accent (from living there for a few years) comes out when I've been drinking I've been told.

With ozone treatments, you'd need to clear out while it's running (and bring your pets too) although it's supposedly not that harmful(?)

I kind of wish I had some sort of regional accent, but I'm pretty generic for a Yank :P

I'm sure someone out there thinks I talk funny, though!

How good is this Choogirl - we are at 199 with these awesome new members including - @beet 'the gorilla nose picker'. I think it is time Australia had a second witness too. After-all we are the fastest growing National Team in Steemit!

@teamaustralia as always will be along later to welcome the new members and add them to the register.

So the next member admitted... number 200!! This will be big - plenty of fanfare for this one me reckons - Choogirl!

Thanks for all your efforts.

SECRETARY SIRKNIGHT

Oh awesome. I didn't realise that.

Great work @choogirl! Loved the intro you wrote😁 happy to be part of this great group! (Loved the gorilla noae picker, by the way!😄)
See you around here very soon! Upvoted and following🤗

Thank you. Yes, see you in Discord.

Great to see the growth. @beet is good people. I heartily endorse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41