Hello Steamit! Let me introduce myself through a STORY - Part 2

in #story7 years ago

This is the second part in my steemit introduction trilogy where I talk about my experiences with sleep paralysis. You can find my first part here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@luckyadder/hello-steamit-let-me-introduce-myself-through-a-story-part-1 

PART 2

Life went on pretty much as normal. I experienced a couple more episodes of this strange condition, though far less sever and never hallucinating. I had read that most people experienced this a couple of times in their lives, so I already knew that I was more prone to it than the average person, and after a little probing, discovered that my mother, and her mother, had experienced it pretty bad. All in all, despite some occasional apprehension before going to bed, life was fine.

The Shadow

This strange period of limbo lasted for a couple of months. Then stuff got serious. The episodes started to increase in frequency, until  they occurred on a weekly basis, always accompanied by an increasing sense of dread and uneasiness. I started to see shadows move, almost as if with intent. I started to see lights which resembled eyes to flicker in and out of existence and I always felt as though there was an unknown, threatening presence in the room.. But most of all, I was feeling more and more unstable. 


That's when I saw it. The first thing I noticed that morning was a relentless pressure on my chest. The second thing was the telling existential angst which unfailingly accompanied these episodes and finally, as I opened my eyes, I noticed it.

 Now, an important thing to note about sleep paralysis is that you aren't always lucid, in fact, a lot of the times you're downright batty. Your mental state lies somewhere in between dreamland, and reality. On the one hand, everything feels a lot more real than a dream and you remember a lot more of it once you snap out of it. On the other, your mind is still following a dream-like logic.

 Now, what did it look like, the thing on my chest at that moment. Well, it was hard to tell. The best way to describe it would be simply to state that it appeared to be a demon made of shadows. The shadows also blended into the actual darkness of the room, so an exact description would be beyond reasonable. What I can say is this: it appeared to have wings, its eyes were dim but red, and despite not being visible, for some reason i was convinced that it had a full set of razor sharp teeth. 


We proceeded to engage in an unsettling staring contest. My mind, in its adulterated state, informing me that I was very close to death. My thoughts claimed this with a deafening conviction, forbidding any form of rational thought. I didn't just think that i was about to die, I KNEW it. I felt something similar to a talon rest against my neck, and tighten as this thing's eyes, the only clear feature, closed in towards my face. Then the thing dissolved back into the shadows, and I could no longer find its eyes. That was the first time I saw the shadow demon, and now I was scared.


Thanks for reading! Make sure you don't miss the third and final installment in this series where my experiences hit a climax and I talk about what to expect from this account in the future.

Photo credits in chronological order: http://aplus.com/a/7-terrifying-facts-and-stories-about-sleep-paralysis-that-will-haunt-your-dreams?no_monetization=true , http://media.themovieaimless.com/tag/demons/ , http://roiler.deviantart.com/art/glowing-red-eyes-in-the-dark-14872787


Sort:  

Hi there @Luckyadder ,
Welcome to Steemit ! I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you !

I do check the values of some offers here and hope so to help new steemians. I just started this project !

In my session 1 of testing the value of an @booster upvote I tracked the gains of different users by using this offer - so - for example @gktown got for an investment of $1.96 and Post Upvote worth $5.09 !

if you want to save money, follow me on follow me on my blog! :)

Hello @luckyadder. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Welcome to Steemit, @luckyadder!

Hope you enjoy being here!

I'd like to remind you of Steemit.Chat (https://steemit.chat) where you can talk with others, promote your post in their promotion channels, and have a great time :)

Once again, enjoy your time on Steemit, and shall you have any questions, feel free to reply or ask in the #help channel of the chat!

I followed you. Please follow me back @srsrahman

Welcome to Steemit @luckyadder!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @luckyadder! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @luckyadder! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55