The Horse With No Name (Part 4)

Horse

He’d been walking all night. As best as Horse could recall, when they had started walking it was just past “evening grass,” but not quite to “grass on my side.” That was the part of the night when he would lie down next to some tasty grass and nibble it as he preparing to sleep. He knew that The Man With No Name had funny names for times, but “7pm” and “9pm” were terrible names.

photo-1521688111897-4852b3006067.jpg

Humans were strange though, especially this one, so he just put up with the antics. Besides, Horse had this one place on his back where the hair always tangled, but Master knew how to brush it "juuuust right!" He was a good master. Normally, he gave Horse more details about the plan when they went on missions though.

Blondie was still draped over Horse’s back, but he wasn’t moving much. Horse thought that maybe he was just really tired from the long trip that day… but then again, Horse had done all the work. Blondie would just sit back there acting like he was working hard. And he’d do that funny walk when he’d get off to “take a break.” His legs would bow out and he’d sort of wobble. Horse snorted to himself in amusement. Ha ha ha, humans can’t even walk right!

Something was off though. A few “hours” ago, when Horse accidentally ran Blondie’s head into a tree… Blondie didn’t say a word about it! Normally, a horse could get in trouble for something like that, but apparently it was Horse’s lucky night. He nodded in self-assurance that things were fine. He picked up his head a little more, and almost pranced as he continued his journey toward his sugar! Er… destination. Yeah, that’s it, destination!

image.png

Just Before Morning Grass

Horse didn’t normally like to wake up early, but when he did, he preferred to have a little snack before starting the day. Hauling a cowboy around was difficult work. Horse normally would have laughed at the puny size of humans, but after running most of the previous day and then walking all night, he was pooped. Actually, in all the excitement earlier, he had forgotten to do that. Since he was thinking about it, he just took care of it. He was sure that no one would mind.

Just as the Big Bright Ball’s light was peering over the mountains, Horse and his master arrived at the monastery. Horse could see Father “Sugar Cubes” inside the largest building with the pointy top. It looked like the Father was inspecting the dirt. Folding your hands together isn't a proper way to inspect dirt… or grass for that matter.

As they say, “sugar covers many sins,” so Horse would forgive the Father for his silly ways. When the Father saw them, he came running. Excellent, he’s excited to see us too! But when the Father arrived, he didn’t reward Horse with any sugar; he just pulled master from Horse’s back and called one of the other men to help him take Blondie inside. The two of them strained as they picked him up by the shoulders and ankles and took him inside one of the smaller buildings.

That’s strange, normally they pet my nose… and give me sugar! Horse didn’t know what to do while he waited, but he knew he should stay close. If Blondie came out soon, Horse didn’t want to be gone; but he was also tired… and very hungry.

Fortunately, one of the other men in the brown robes had heard Father Sugar Cubes yelling and had come to see the cause of the commotion. He saw Horse standing there and led him to the stable. The man took the bag off Horse's back and set in the back of the stable. He gave Horse some fresh hay to eat, water to drink, and a nice place to lie down. Hay, it’s like dried grass. Not bad, just not as good as real grass.

With his belly full of “not-as-good-as-real-grass” and his mind full of thoughts of real grass, Horse drifted off into a well-deserved sleep. And as he slept, he dreamt of large, tasty sugar cubes.


I hope you enjoyed Part 4 of The Man With No Name (featuring The Horse With No Name). If you missed any of the previous parts, you can find them here:

Image Sources 1 l 2

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Totally. Worth. The. Wait.

I enjoyed it. Horse sounds awfully human. :)

  1. Has no clue what's going on but figures everything's got to be okay

  2. Everything revolves around him and his stomach

  3. Feels superior to puny, silly humans (albeit in a goodnatured way)

  4. Thinks his master is lazy because he does all the work

  5. Doesn't think anyone will care if he just "takes care of it."

That part made me laugh outloud. The transition from pooped, meaning tired, to pooped, meaning pooped, was hilarious. I could totally imagine Horse making that segue.

Anyway, well done once again. I think it did a lot more than move the story along. Getting inside any character's head, even Horse's, is essential writing. You didn't really give yourself much of a choice, though I probably would have written things from the Father's perspective, or included something from the varmints who done winged No Name.

That's why you're writing it, and not me. Much more fun this way. :)

Horse isn't the only one who likes a nice sugar cube. I just had a chocolate eggs leftover from Easter. They were pretty tasty and I would have walked farther than across the living room for them. ;)

Yeah, Horse knows who he is, so he doesn't have to worry about other things. He just works on being the best horse he can, and when left without directions, he does what brings him joy. He really likes to eat. It's one of his favorite things. It's also one of the reasons that humans are so puny compared to him... He's big! He looks at humans the way most of us look at cats or dogs. Awww, cute!

It's not so much that he thinks master is lazy as he understands the work that he does and that it's important to the quest. They have a friendship and a camaraderie so he gets to tease master... at least he would if he knew silly English words.

He's not worried about getting scolded. Just doing his job. If someone has a problem with that, they can take it up with his master.

I'm so glad the pooping part landed well. (Pun intended) Ha ha ha. I normally don't resort to bathroom humor, but seeing as Horse was outside, it was ok. ;)

I really intended to do Blondie's part first, but there's a key moment there that the reader wouldn't understand if they had to flash back to Horse afterwards. It will make more sense this way. In fact, maybe I'll start doing contests to see how well people are paying attention. Hmmm. I'll have to think on that.

I'm glad you're still enjoying it. It's fun to write when the creative juices start flowing. Thanks for the encouragement!

I'm not normally one for bathroom humor, either, but the wording hit me just right.

You know what's coming up in the story, so however you feel it works best is what you should do. It's a little easier when you have it all written and can see how it flows than it is for the reader who only sees chunks at a time. I know you're creating it on the fly, but you probably have some broad points you're working toward, at least, and have a good idea of the direction you're going and how to get there.

Was I being encouraging? On purpose? :) I'm trying to just enjoy it from a reader's point of view first and foremost and then try to deposit any pearls of wisdom I think I might have from a writer's perspective.

Mainly, though, I'm just enjoying the trail ride.

That part made me laugh outloud. The transition from pooped, meaning tired, to pooped, meaning pooped, was hilarious. I could totally imagine Horse making that segue.

I laughed too when I read that, but couldn't figure out how to explain it quite so eloquently as you @glenalbrethsen. My comment would have sounded like it was coming from a 13 year old boy haha

I never did 13-year-old boy. I went from 9 to 30 year-old, I think. So, I guess it's an accomplishment as a 51 year old that I enjoy the occasional poop reference. I think having the grandbaby in the house must have changed me more than I thought.

Need to go do something mature people do. Like sleep. Yeah, that's it. :)

I'm sure, though, it was just the way @themanwithnoname worded it. It was not over-the-top, like so many are, and the fact it was coming from a horse... I'm still chuckling over it.

Hooray!! Horse did it and he's ok ! :) I am however concerned about Blondie, but he seems pretty resilient. Once again, I liked your story from Horse's perspective :)

I'm so glad you found your muse again, whatever it may be!

Yeah, Horse is doing good work. I thought about doing this part from Blondie's perspective, but I didn't want to have to go back in time again to explain Horse's perspective. I know not a lot happened in this one, but it moves the story along. Still making it up as I go. :)

Maybe I should just switch the whole story to Horse's perspective. I feel like there's less pressure with that. :)

Well it is easier for readers to be 'critical' with a human's perspective ("Hey, a guy wouldn't do that?!!"), but who can argue with Horse's :)

I didn't know you make it up as you go along! That's crazy!

Yeah, I have some ideas for where the story is going to go, but I haven't figured it all out. I have two episodes that are partially done at this point. I got on a roll tonight and rounded out one partial episode and almost completed the one after that. I have some ideas of what's going to happen, but we'll see how these next ones change things. I wasn't going to do episode 6, but that story line came into play as a result of some feedback. I want to give my readers a little better perspective. We'll move forward after that, I think. ;)

Look at you go! Glad to see you on a roll. Feedback sure is an awesome motivator, if it is done right!

Feedback helps... sometimes. "Make Your Face Better!"

hahaha "Make Your Face Better" :) Love Parks and Rec !

Yeah, Tom's a creepy little dude, but he's got some funny lines. I think it's funny that he can't keep a woman because he acts like a child all the time. What's strange is that so many women are attracted to that. Eventually they wisen up, but still, how can they not have an issue with that immediately? Yes, I do know real people like that. I don't get it.

Ohhhh, I just stumbled onto this series with this installment, and read all the others, and now I can't wait for more! This is great reading! I love how sugar cubes decided Blondie's destiny in the last one :)))

I'm glad you liked it! Isn't that great? Sometimes we assume that it's a clever plan or scheme that decides things, but in this case, it was a purely (pun intended) desire for sugar. :D

We'll see what happens to Blondie soon. Thanks for catching up. I'm glad you liked the story thus far.

Isn't it great reading?!! I stumbled on his story a few instalments ago and was also immediately hooked :)

I love your ability to personify animals and fruits. Maybe Jake could make his way into the story.

Thank you! It's a gift, apparently. :) That would be funny if Jake the blueberry (not a seed anymore) could make it here.

I think it would make Jake berry happy!

Something was off though. A few “hours” ago, when Horse accidentally ran Blondie’s head into a tree…

oooh blondie is so sweet when I read that at first, I thought he would hit the horse but he is kind your stories are really great oooh, you are agreat story teller

I'm glad you liked the story. It seems that you might have some catching up to do. There's a critical piece of information that you need from earlier. ;)

Still, thanks for stopping by!

Yah i have to catch up i will get time and look at your other posts a friend recommended me your blog
Thanks

I think you'll like the other episodes. Who referred you? I'll have to say thanks!

danielsoari reffered me to your stories ... thanksfor the kindness @themanwithnoname

Awesome, well I'm glad to have you!

oooh, @themanwithnoname I am also humbled to be on the team

another great chapter! I just can't help but to feel sorry for ol'e Horse - he seems like such a good horse - and he's going to be really sad when he realizes that Master is never going to wake up ...you've really breathed some life into the character - so much so - that I want to go and comfort Horse and give him lots of sugar cubes ....

Glad you liked it, man! You're so sweet! I'm sure that Horse would love to hang out with you.

he's going to be really sad when he realizes that Master is never going to wake up

I really want to start the next chapter with "Master woke up!" Ha ha ha. That would teach you. LOL.

I hope you do... then Horse will be happy and it will put a big smile on my face! :) - of course he probably won't even realize what happened and call Master lazy

Big fat juicy upvote for ya

THANK YOU!!! I appreciate you stopping by! You're the best!

Well, I'm late to the party but I went backward​ and caught up. Ennio Morricone tunes going off in my head now.

Thanks for checking it out. I'm glad that you liked it enough to read through them all!
If Mr. Morricone's music wasn't in your head already, it will be now. :)

Ha! That's cruel!
Is that Hugo Montenegro's orchestra!
Great tunes right there!

I'm not sure if that's his orchestra, but it's what came up when I searched for his music. It's fun to get to listen to some of his old songs.

As they say, “sugar covers many sins,” so Horse would forgive the Father for his silly ways.

That part got my attention, I know it's figuratively used but can sweetness(sugar) cover evil(sin)

I don't know that sweetness can cover evil, but it can keep from escalating the situation. A soft response is less likely to makes things worse.

Yea. Soft words calms anger and that is why

an angry person can not be happy and a happy person can not be angry

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57