You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Horse With No Name (Part 4)

Totally. Worth. The. Wait.

I enjoyed it. Horse sounds awfully human. :)

  1. Has no clue what's going on but figures everything's got to be okay

  2. Everything revolves around him and his stomach

  3. Feels superior to puny, silly humans (albeit in a goodnatured way)

  4. Thinks his master is lazy because he does all the work

  5. Doesn't think anyone will care if he just "takes care of it."

That part made me laugh outloud. The transition from pooped, meaning tired, to pooped, meaning pooped, was hilarious. I could totally imagine Horse making that segue.

Anyway, well done once again. I think it did a lot more than move the story along. Getting inside any character's head, even Horse's, is essential writing. You didn't really give yourself much of a choice, though I probably would have written things from the Father's perspective, or included something from the varmints who done winged No Name.

That's why you're writing it, and not me. Much more fun this way. :)

Sort:  

Horse isn't the only one who likes a nice sugar cube. I just had a chocolate eggs leftover from Easter. They were pretty tasty and I would have walked farther than across the living room for them. ;)

Yeah, Horse knows who he is, so he doesn't have to worry about other things. He just works on being the best horse he can, and when left without directions, he does what brings him joy. He really likes to eat. It's one of his favorite things. It's also one of the reasons that humans are so puny compared to him... He's big! He looks at humans the way most of us look at cats or dogs. Awww, cute!

It's not so much that he thinks master is lazy as he understands the work that he does and that it's important to the quest. They have a friendship and a camaraderie so he gets to tease master... at least he would if he knew silly English words.

He's not worried about getting scolded. Just doing his job. If someone has a problem with that, they can take it up with his master.

I'm so glad the pooping part landed well. (Pun intended) Ha ha ha. I normally don't resort to bathroom humor, but seeing as Horse was outside, it was ok. ;)

I really intended to do Blondie's part first, but there's a key moment there that the reader wouldn't understand if they had to flash back to Horse afterwards. It will make more sense this way. In fact, maybe I'll start doing contests to see how well people are paying attention. Hmmm. I'll have to think on that.

I'm glad you're still enjoying it. It's fun to write when the creative juices start flowing. Thanks for the encouragement!

I'm not normally one for bathroom humor, either, but the wording hit me just right.

You know what's coming up in the story, so however you feel it works best is what you should do. It's a little easier when you have it all written and can see how it flows than it is for the reader who only sees chunks at a time. I know you're creating it on the fly, but you probably have some broad points you're working toward, at least, and have a good idea of the direction you're going and how to get there.

Was I being encouraging? On purpose? :) I'm trying to just enjoy it from a reader's point of view first and foremost and then try to deposit any pearls of wisdom I think I might have from a writer's perspective.

Mainly, though, I'm just enjoying the trail ride.

That part made me laugh outloud. The transition from pooped, meaning tired, to pooped, meaning pooped, was hilarious. I could totally imagine Horse making that segue.

I laughed too when I read that, but couldn't figure out how to explain it quite so eloquently as you @glenalbrethsen. My comment would have sounded like it was coming from a 13 year old boy haha

I never did 13-year-old boy. I went from 9 to 30 year-old, I think. So, I guess it's an accomplishment as a 51 year old that I enjoy the occasional poop reference. I think having the grandbaby in the house must have changed me more than I thought.

Need to go do something mature people do. Like sleep. Yeah, that's it. :)

I'm sure, though, it was just the way @themanwithnoname worded it. It was not over-the-top, like so many are, and the fact it was coming from a horse... I'm still chuckling over it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51