The Day Australia Wept 💔 Saying Farewell to Aussie Legend Steve Irwin may he RIP

in #steveirwin8 years ago (edited)

As some of you may know by now I'm Australian, what you don't know is that I grew up just down the road from Australia Zoo and Steve Irwin.

Steve and Terri Irwin lived at the zoo, living in a rural area we had lot's of wildlife around our house and this meant from time to time animals got hurt.

I remember the first time I met steve I was about eight years old, a rainbow lorikeet had smashed into the window of our house and seriously hurt itself. It was late afternoon on the weekend and we knew the zoo had a hospital and trained staff so we wrapped the little bird in a towel and placed it in a cardboard box, with some holes for airflow and were off to the zoo.

When we arrived at the large gates we were greeted by about five dogs very friendly and excited to see us, the emu that accompanied them however was not so thrilled - and as we soon found out Steve got harassed by the emu to.

Shortly after the dogs and emu appeared, Steve came jogging up to the gate to see what was going on. Like always he was in his signature khakis with his mop of blond locks hanging messily atop his head, he was a bit puffed he had obviously run a fair distance through the zoo to the gate to see us after hours.

With the emu pecking at the back of his head he attempted to have conversation with us including something along the lines of "Don't mind the dogs it's the emu that thinks it's the guard dog here", we quickly explained that we had an injured bird and he was on it we handed over the hurt bird and he thanked us for bringing it to him - said farewell and was of on a run again to get the beautiful bird some much needed attention.

Over the years we have a few more instances mostly with butcher birds, they eat spiders that like to hang out on our windows and awnings. We even had an issue with an echidna once poor thing had been hit by a car - let me tell you spines are all good as a defence mechanism but it makes it fricken difficult to help the poor thing when it's been injured.

Each time he was polite and kind and took the animal to get it the care it required, we never got to spend a lot of time with him or know him well personally - but as a family of massive animal lovers (7 cats and a dog at one time O_o) we loved his commitment and passion to all animals.

I grew up watching him on tv and seeing him in person Steve Irwin became a massive influence on my life, as a child if you asked me what I was going to be when I grew up it was to be a vet - I even spent my school holidays volunteering at our vet and watching surgeries and helping out, animals were my everything.

So when the news broke on the 5th of September 2006 that Steve Irwin had been killed, I like most Australians I was devastated - I wept for the extreme loss I felt, a loss for humanity and the world and all it's creatures.

For the first time since September 11th 2001 Australian tv played only footage of one event our, corner of the world stood still and wept for the man who fought to protect every animal to understand them and to love them was gone.

He had been such an integral part of our cultural identity especially in America - Steve Irwin was and will be the only person who can pull off the catchphrase "Crikey" I have never met another Australian who said it naturally in conversation it was just Steve or in mention of him - that's the power he had, he made an entire content think all Australians spoke like he did.

Australia stood still Every channel on tv was about Steve Irwin they had people at the zoo, people onsight where it happened and then they started playing constant streams of the Crocodile Hunter.

The day following his death Australian parliament opened with condolence speeches from both major parties, the flags on the Sydney Harbour bridge were lowered to half mast and thousands of fans flocked to Australia zoo to pay tribute to the fallen legend.

I had never felt such a sense of loss over someone I barely knew, it seemed as though Australia was in a state of disbelief not only that he had been killed but also that it was a stingray not a croc - we had just all assumed that would eventually be the way he went.

Two days ago was the ten year anniversary of his death a tragic accident that stole our true blue Aussie legend and as I sit here writing about meeting him for the first time and looking over the details of what happened all those years ago - I again have tears streaming down my face.

I feel such a deep sense of profound loss, not so much a personal loss but a loss for the world and for animals everywhere, when will we again see a man with such commitment and dedication to his work and most of all an undying passion for the animals he strove to protect.

Even with the immense sense of loss I still feel today, I know he went out doing what he loved working with animals and trying to raise awareness for animal rights.

He used education and an outgoing persona to engage an audience that was only interested in violent shows and drama, so he gave you nature with danger and adrenaline and then educated you while entertaining you - like the genius he was.

I sit and remember him for who he truly was an Icon and legend in his own right, as I feel my eyes again brim with tears I am saddened that he was taken from us too soon - but what he accomplished in his life will live on forever in the work he did and the memories that live on in each of us who watched an episode of the Crocodile Hunter.

RIP Steve you may be gone but you'll never be forgotten

Depressed and need to get cheered up?

Sort:  

Hello @krystle,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

cuz youre a true magic beauty YEERHA GIRL

Oh thanks lovely

Thank you so much for your amazing support, I really can't believe it - it means so much to me.

I have been trying really hard and at times it's easy to get discouraged when no one notices just how much work you've been putting into your work, regardless of the success of my posts I will keep posting it - there is no way I can stop writing the rest of my story on here :)

Thank you @robinhoodwhale @pharesim @smooth @xeroc and @dollarvigilante and everyone else who voted, this means more to me than you can imagine - I truly appreciate the effort you have made to make my posts do better and be more visible.

Especially this post in memory of the Great Steve Irwin - thanks again.

I heard them talking about this article earlier. I'm glad you got hit. I told them they chose wisely with this one from you!

It won't happen every time, but it is sure encouraging when it does.

Keep up the good work, @krystle!

Nice tribute @krystle.
I never met him, but he sure was inspirational!
I think of his periodically when I'm neck-deep in the swamp.

Thanks @papa-pepper he was a genuine down to earth guy who never let the fame alter him one iota.

I know what you mean I've had a few run ins with a range of snakes here in QLD including finding one in our living room O_o and I managed to catch a massive python at my families house just near the zoo a few years back - got it into a box until the snake catchers came to release it further out, in the end I usually end up thinking of Steve.

Your tribute was great too here's the link for anyone who hasn't seen it https://steemit.com/nature/@papa-pepper/my-short-video-tribute-to-steve-irwin

WOW!

You linked my post!

Thanks, and I appreciate it. I wish we had wild pythons here. Aren't **Carpet Pythons" from Australia?

Hey I just saw her post and was about to link to you in my comment. Very nice and well deserved my friend!

Yep and that's what I caught it was a biggen too, I have never really handled snakes much lizards and the like yes but not so much massive pythons.

I was amazed by it's strength once I got it in the box it started striking the lid and actually dislodged it, I ended up having to weigh it down until he could be rehomed safely.

@papa-pepper of course this is about Steve appreciation, I would love it if everyone mentioned in what way even if small Steve made an impact on your life?

He was a top bloke and I miss him and what he brought to our damaged world.

I think that the biggest impact that he made in my life was EDUCATED FEARLESSNESS. I'd been grabbing everything in the swamps up in Wisconsin ever since I was a kid, and then this guy (Steve) is messing with crocodiles and brown snakes! I thought, well, if you understand what you're up against and are comfortable with the risks, why not?

As you may have seen from some of my stuff, I'll jump into about anywhere if I think I can pull something out. It is so exciting to be involved with the world on that level.

On pythons, I had a 10 footer down in New Orleans (Albino Burmese Python) but my friend has a couple of Carpet Pythons, maybe 7 and 8 feet each. Those are some incredible looking animals!

Very nice article with a personal touch. What a thrill you had and I love reading articles from the perspective of members who live in another area of the world.
I really like the feathered edges on your photos. How did you do that? Upvoted!
@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Steve Irwin was a special one of a kind guy whom I really loved! Thanks for your tribute!

No worries I think he held a special place in the hearts of many, he really was a legend and deserves to be remembered for all he accomplished in his life - like the massive wildlife reserve he established and was named in his honour.

ohhh !!! bloody lovely tribute @krystal for a true interstellar legend... he had the enthusiasm for nature that I mostly had on mushies, i am thinking more and more maybe a lot of his natural beauty and enthusiasm we were watching was a naturally pickled experience, no wonder he was so magical... he was more naturally vibrating on a level that we can never understand quite why we were so enchanted in our loungerooms, or you were in real life... we were getting our own microdoses of magical energy off him for years

Thank you so much @elissahawke he really was and I totally get what you're saying about his energy, he had that "thing" that some movies stars get like heath Ledger (another fallen awesome aussie).

When he was on screen you couldn't look away, it's sad to think of the constant pain he was in from all his injuries over the years - his body took a beating but he never stopped.

I think he operated on a different plain to most of us, he understood the animals he was around, treated them with respect and did everything in his power to protect them.

If you look back at the really really early croc hunter shows you can see how little money they had they were the cameramen they did it all themselves, it took so much hard work to build the Beerwah Reptile and Fauna Park and turn it into the massive Australia Zoo it is today!

I was in Brisbane, Qld on holiday on the day he died. I will never forget that day!

I won't either, I remember where I was sitting when I heard.

I remember seeing my mother and sister both join me in grieving for him, and watching hours of the croc hunter on tv.

He will be missed by so many.

I live in Australia too (Sydney), and we had like 10 of those Rainbow Lorikeets in the 2nd pic squawking around us so much at lunch the other day, we couldn't here ourselves think. Who needs Currumbin? :P

Yeah I know right, when I was young there was a Mcdonalds at Caloundra that had these massive gum trees and in spring and summer at dusk the rainbow lorikeets would swarm hundreds of them the sounds echoed through the small city.

Fun/not fun lol

Beautiful but soooo loud, not to mention a dangerous place to park your car lotsa poop.

He was a great man and the best on doing his work. I forgot about him, but I'm glad you made this post and I could remember him again. I wait to see more posts from you. Thanks a lot.

Thanks he truly was, I am reminded fairly often when I visit my families home.

I'm glad to have reminded you of him he really was a unique and colourful character with so much passion for what he does - in the end he pursued his happiness to the extreme and achieved greatness because of it!

No worries and thanks again :)

I have to work more at my English because I don't find the right words, and when I read what you wrote and what I wrote is a huge difference. I think because of my bad English people don't read my posts or they see it and goo forward because they know I don't write well. Thank you for making me smile!

To be really honest with you I hadn't realised you weren't a native english speaker.

I think you're being too hard on yourself I know plenty of people who can't construct a sentence, as well as you have proven your able to do.

Mind you my partner @ausbitbank and I are working on an idea to organise a group of trusted posters to help people edit and proofread articles for others not sure how it will work yet but as I said we're looking into it.

This was mainly because we found an article about a guy with vision impairment struggling to find images for his post's, but there's no reason the group couldn't help people who are writing in their second languages as well.

Or really anyone just wanting a second pair of eyes proofing their work before they submit it!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback bot. Please upvote if you like the bot and want to support its development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62