My Short Video Tribute to Steve Irwin

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was the 10 year anniversary of Steve Irwin's death. Though I was unaware of it at the moment, I happened to post a video of How-to Grab a Snapping Turtle by the Throat.

Interesting coincidence, or was it something more?

If you've seen any of my animal-related posts, you'll know that Steve was not alone in his passion for animals. He took it to a level that many had never seen, and was appreciated worldwide for his passion. Mr. Irwin was also able to make a career out of his love for animals, which allowed him to spend as much time as he wanted interacting with his favorite creatures. Now, thanks to steemit, I can also make a bit of a living with my passion.


Here's a short list of some of the posts that I have recently made:

postimage Black Light Scorpion

postimage 3 Options When You Encounter a Wild Snake

postimage How to Fly a Bumble Bee

postimage How to Grab a Snapping Turtle by the Throat

postimage Occupational Hazards of a Steemit Author


If you haven't seen those yet, please check them out. They can get a little strange, but then again, so can I!

I always admired Mr. Steve Irwin. He was passionate and remained himself. I do not think that he ever embellished himself for the camera or toned down his personality for it either. Those are rare qualities these days. The goal of preserving the species of animals on this earth is an important venture to be involved in, and I am glad to be here on steemit to help raise awareness and share about some of these wonderful creatures. @herpetologyguy is up to the same stuff!

So, without further ado, I bring you my Steve Irwin Tribute Video. I may not have the accent, but I've got the zeal. My inexperience and lack of cameraman may come into play, but I think that you'll be able to appreciate these attempts. Additionally, I am not trying to copy his work or parody it, but rather to demonstrate that the same love for earth's creatures is alive and well, though Mr. Irwin has passed on.


Attempt #1


Attempt #2


Thanks for your time, and I hope that you enjoyed it!
As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:



Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  

Great post mate:).....I was living in Australia for ten years, and you definitely can't handle them like that over there lol unless you were Steve. I remember the news when he passed it was a huge tragedy and a very freak accident.

I was living in Mildura out from the city and tiger snakes were rampant. To protect my German Shepherds I had to get a couple of cats to handle business. Working in​ the vineyards, it was very common to see brown snakes. I had a few cases of backpackers running through the vines screaming from seeing a snake lol. They are amazing creatures but definitely not my cup of tea, lol

Yeah, these are definitely nothing compared to some of those. With experience, it can be rewarding to interact with them, but it's a serious "no go" for most!
Thanks!

We loved watching Steve Irwin he lived what he did and it showed, He was fascinating to watch, he's been a big miss. You did a great job in your Tribute videos well done

Thank you for that. I wanted them to be informational, and hopefully help some people see that even if some kinds of snakes are biting you in the face, there is still really no threat or danger.

That first one wanted a bit of you, don't think I would be that brave but I managed to watch your videos until the end :)

I'm glad that you could at least watch!
Thanks @karenb54!

lol, you had me giggling pretty good. "... bit me in the lip again..."

Yeah, a bit of that may have been intentional, just to show that even if some snakes bite you in the face, they still may not pose a threat. I remember once trying to catch multiple blue racers. I quickly ran out of hands, held one it my mouth, and of course got bit in the face.

I guess you win some you lose some!

Steve Irwin was one of a kind, I loved that guy! Thanks for your tribute!

I agree. I definitely won't attempt to walk in his footsteps or replace him, but it is still nice to walk a few paths over from where he did.

You are indeed a very interesting man an it's a joy following your blog.
@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

HAHAHAHA!
Thanks!

Can you believe that people look up to me?

Hey sure man you're a cool dude. Well spoken and well written! My hat goes off to you!

Thank you sir.

His daughter has done a great job keeping his memory alive! With an awesome tribute to him on Danceing with the The Stars which she ended up winning!! Bindi Irwin now 18 is very much so a conservationist, like her dad, and also a tv personality and actress! Very cool! We watched him all the time... great post! 😉👍

Thank you. He meant a lot to a lot of people, but most of all to his wife and daughter!

Yes! In fact she spent her 18th birthday at their famous Australia Zoo in Queensland, along with her mom Terri and 12 year old brother Robert! In fact i think they still live right there on the zoo property! Pretty cool! Ive always rooted for her since she was on dancing with the stars, in fact she returned to the shoe on Monday and paid tribute to her dad Steve again, after winning the mirror ball trophy a year earlier! Its just such a great story! Love it! Thanks alot for shareing! And comenting! 👍😉

When I saw your post about the snapping turtle, Steve Irwin's voice was going through my head. Crickey!
If I was ever deserted somewhere in the wild, I'd want you on my team. At least I know we wouldn't starve! LOL

My wife used to have me watch all sorts of survival shows before...
She knew if I watched it, I'd be able to remember it later, and it was easier for her than trying to remember all the stuff herself.
Thanks for the compliment! We won't starve!

Lovely! When I was fishing the other day I looked down at my feet and there was a copperhead sitting about two feet from me, ready to strike. I did what felt natural, whacked him with the tip of my fishing rod. Thankfully that worked.
Steve Irwin was a great influence on my attitude toward snakes and to an extent reptiles of all kinds. His love for them was infectious and he will be missed. His daughter Bindy has a show, but, my family doesn't watch very much tv nowadays. You hit the nail of why in another one of your posts. Thanks.

Thanks @matthewtiii!
He definitely will be missed, but his passion can live on in all of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52