📷 Steemit Photo Challenge #5 — Theme Announcement! | Aug. 18 - 21

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

Good Day!

I've got what I think will be a challenging but potentially rewarding theme this week.

The theme for SPC #5 will be:

Emotive Human Portrait

"Any portrait which captures, creates or evokes an emotional outpouring."
Clear as mud?

This Flickr group shows some with the vibe that I'll be looking for, some are hits and some are misses, but you can get the general idea.

I've highlighted a few below that do it for me, to further explain. I'm not looking for high gloss glamour or fashion shots.

link | link | link | link | link | link | link

Get the idea?


UPDATE [READ THIS]

To encourage the use of original photographs for this weekend, I will require ALL posts to include a verification image.

Simply have the subject at the location hold up a sign saying 'Steemit Photo Challenge #5' (or whatever works) and include it with your submission post. It doesn't need to be embedded, it can be linked, just don't make me search for it. This is also to further ensure that you have their permission to take/submit the photograph.

Nudity will be allowed but must be tagged NSFW and will not be embedded directly into the winning post.
Failure to tag NSFW will likely result in numerous flags.

By entering this competition you acknowledge that you own the rights to the photographs and have the permission of the subject to post their image and further allow for me to re-post the image should it receive a winner or honourable mention position.

Prizes

These are made possible by the support of the community, the majority of the post rewards go towards the winners, plus donations by @berniesanders the official sponsor of the Steemit Photo Challenge.

First Place — 150 Steem

Second Place — 100 Steem

Third Place — 50 Steem

Honourable Mentions — 10 Steem Each


Rules And Conditions

Please read these carefully and adhere to them

  • No more than 3 entries will be considered, if you post more than 3 then only the first 3 will be considered.

  • Deadline for entry is midnight my time (UTC-4) on Sunday

  • All entries must be a post tagged both #photography and #steemitphotochallenge

  • The Title should contain "SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry" along with the title of your work.

  • Let us know the medium used to produce the photograph, it may be more impressive based on what it is.

  • Basic processing is allowed.

  • Any medium or format is allowed — iphone, ipad, film, digital, point and shoot, drone, whatever. Once it takes a picture. Note that image quality will be considered.

  • Multiple Entries can all go in one post, just put the details under the image.

  • If you would like, use the #SteemitPhotoChallenge tag across social media like Twitter, FB and Instagram. It may drive more users to the platform.

  • Any attempt to steal others' work is considered a serious infraction by the community, so don't do it. Please don't waste your and our time by posting some image from the net.

  • Every effort will be made to ensure that we do not reward theft. All images will be reverse checked, if the image has been found on more than 2 “major” websites, it will be disqualified unless reasonable proof can be shown to prove ownership of the original. If there is any doubt whatsoever about the ownership of the photograph, I reserve the right to disqualify the image. It is in your interest to provide any proof necessary. I would appreciate any help from the community in finding plagiarism where I might have missed it.

  • The photographs will be judged on how well they met the challenge, the quality of the image, the composition, lighting, exposure, creativity and the general aesthetics which means that yes, it is subjective.


Consider hosting your images with Steemimg created by @blueorgy

It is the first dedicated Steemit Image hosting website, set up with tag categories for easy viewing of images, and is also a sponsor of the Steemit Photo Challenge. It's also really convenient for copying markdown for multiple images. I suggest uploading to an account rather than as a guest, to keep your images tied to your name.

Have A Good Weekend!

Don't forget to do your verification photo — it would be a shame to get good submissions without them.

Previous winners:
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 1 - Animal Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 2 - Shadows
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 3 - Desolation
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 4 - Nature Macro/Closeup


Follow

Sort:  

This Challenge Requires Photo Verification

Simply have the subject (not you) at the location hold up a sign saying 'Steemit Photo Challenge #5' (or whatever works) and include it with your submission post. It doesn't need to be embedded, it can be linked, just don't make me search for it. This is also to further ensure that you have their permission to take/submit the photograph.

For all of you who tend to skip the reading part involved with looking at a post.
;) Blue

Please note:

The purpose of the photo verification is NOT just to prove that you own the photograph

The Purpose of the verification is to force photographers to take a brand spanking new image this weekend and submit it.

I know this is more difficult, and that's the point :)

Let's see how it goes.

If you seen any of my other posts you know that I think this is a great idea and attempting to capture new photos this weekend for the challenge adds so much more to it. There's been a lot of great photos taken in the past and perhaps the time to share them will come, but I like the adventure of attempting to create something new. Thanks for the reminder blue, and for steemimg.

I almost wish we weren't making this a requirement...rules out candid street photography portraits. Then again, always other contests and that could be a future challenge of it's own.

I'd like to, but I can't because I've got to stick to the rules for everyone.. You didn't know the theme when you went to the shoot, so it's really not taken specifically for the challenge it just happened to be appropriate for what would be the theme. Sorry man!

I have to agree with this. I have a multitude of photos in my archive that would be great for this, and that I don't have a problem proving are mine, but because of this rule I can't use them. I'll get in there eventually. ;-)

Yeah I think most people just use old photos from their archive when the idea is to create new stuff. For this one, though, I wanted to enforce the originality, it's a REAL challenge!

This one is particularly tough because of that, so we'll see what happens.

I shot a series last night at a local playhouse, a pre production of their show. I'd love to use something from this, and can even provide meta data, clips from email with time stamps lol if that works or some other form of proof. Having them hold up a sign, for a paid gig would have been kinda un professional. Any wiggle room on this?

I tend to agree but also it can be fun to mix things up and use this as an option to really force people into a quick shoot. Which is a skill all on it's own! Perhaps it doesn't need to be like this every time, but I certainly think it is a cool idea because after all, this is the Photo CHALLENGE right? You never know what those crazy judges might throw at us next!

You never know!!!! buaaha ha haaa

You bet, these are lots of fun, and shhhh you're giving them ideas, haha

I agree. I like more candid shots, so it really diminishes my creativity to have to set something up with someone I can do a photo verification with.

Hummm, I am unfortunately attending a funeral today.....plenty emotive outpouring available.....I just cannot see myself handing the bereaved a placard with Steemit on it.....lol. Only kidding , I would never be so disrespectful as to take a camera along....

I'm back in the game. Good luck everyone :)

As always, thanks for doing this. :)

Look forward to seeing the entries in this comp :)

Clear as mud?

Muddy clear :)

I guess that after this weekend you won't have a lot of work...

Yeah this one is going to be the most difficult so far. Not everyone will be able to pull this one off!

I took this today with my Polaroid...Seriously ;)

yes... photoshop polaroid

Simply have the subject (not you) at the location hold up a sign saying 'Steemit Photo Challenge #5'

I assume it can be us, if we are the subject of the photo? Or are self portraits not allowed?

True, if you are the subject then you do one with the sign. Self portraits would be fine.

Thank you for the clarification :)

gd

I took this photo and posted it here a while ago, wish I waited :(
Anyway, good luck to all participants :)

I like the verification aspect! Should narrow down the field considerably (or up the challenge for the photoshop masters out there). Good luck everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56