Steemitbloggers Contest: 5 Ways Writing Farmpunk Fiction is Like Writing Cyberpunk

Two days ago, I announced the start of a new farmpunk fiction contest. The theme: Pumpkin harvest. I thought it appropriate for this time of season. Today, I'm going to share five ways writing farmpunk fiction is like writing cyberpunk fiction (and one way it isn't).

cyberpunk farmpunk
Image from Unsplash.

  1. It's got to be punk - Whether we're talking about punk rock or punk lit, it's all about the attitude and less about the style. So put some punk into your farmpunk.
  2. High technology - Cyberpunk wouldn't be cyberpunk without the high technology aspect of the narrative. In the same manner, one thing that sets farmpunk apart from other fiction genres is its focus on high technology--of the here and now or the future.
  3. The characters do unbelievable things - In a certain sense, all fiction involves characters that do amazing things. That's why we read fiction. But with farmpunk, as with cyberpunk, the juxtaposition of high technology with low culture will mean that characters can, and will, do things that are extraordinary--even for fiction.
  4. It defies tradition - Punk literature is way more about the attitude than the style, tone, or voice of the auther. That said, all punk lit must defy tradition, and what better way to do that than to create something brand new. Cyberpunk was cutting edge in the 1980s when William Gibson wrote Neuromancer. Likewise, farmpunk is on the edge of the fringes of today's literature.
  5. It paves a path to the future - Today's cutting edge is tomorrow's mainstream. Audiences have embraced cyberpunk, which is why movies like RoboCop do so well at the box office. Let's make farmpunk mainstream by carving that path today.

Despite some clear ways #writing farmpunk fiction is like writing #cyberpunk, there is one very clear way it is quite different. Where cyberpunk was mostly set in urban centers that allowed for a sharp contrast between high technology and low-life subculture, farmpunk more often will take place in rural settings. Farmpunk takes the elements of cyberpunk--high technology and low culture-and puts them on the farm.

Join the Farmpunk Revolution

I'm looking forward to seeing some great stories by some of Steemit's great storytellers in the current farmpunk fiction contest. Details can be found here.

As a recap, here are the rules:

  • Upvote and resteem the original contest announcement post.
  • Write a farmpunk story between 750 and 3,000 words.
  • Post your story on your own Steemit blog.
  • Give your story the farmpunk tag. It doesn't have to be the primary tag.
  • Link to your story in the comments on the original contest announcement post.
  • Deadline: Monday, October 15, 2018 at midnight EST.

The following writers have expressed an interest in farmpunk. I hope they'll enter this contest:

@bashadow, @mujasteem, @samuraihedgehog, @steveblucher, @calluna, @blueteddy, @iamjadeline, @stever82, @cicisaja, @talkingwiseshit, @jaichai, @seesladen, @ediblecthulhu, @effofex, @lapb, @dedicatedguy, @mudcat36, @wales, @reonlouw, @agmoore, @kaerpediem, @riverflows, @illusions16, @riverflows, and @joelai

If you want to be removed from this list, let me know in the comments.

Join us in the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord group.

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon


At Amazon

steemit bloggers

poetry

review me
Review Me, Please

While you're here, check out the backside 5 (my five latest posts):


Steemit Bloggers

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

You know, I've started writing a farmpunk story with an Australian setting (because that's where I live) but hmm... not sure I can now weave PUMPKINS into it!!
Not least because pumpkin harvests aren't really in our cultural vocabulary, and it's not the season for pumpkin harvest either. I'm sure it'll be fun for y'all though! ! But I'm thinking about this genre a lot and how I'd interpret it and it's given me a lot of inspiration, so thanks for the tag reminders to help me engage. Engagement is key on this platform so I like it when I'm tagged in something!

Posted using Partiko Android

Instead of the "Grinch who stole christmas", you could farm punk it and do the "Aussie Pumpkin War of 2234" Where Renegade Aussies all sneak to America and Canada and steal all the pumpkins because of a pumpkin embargo in Australia due to a Pumpkin Pie addiction problem.

Ha ha ha, I love it! Maybe you can make that your contest entry. I'd love to read it.

I'm still trying to wrap my head around the next part of my prisoner 4378 story, or I would try another entry. I will try to get another story out again.

Awesome! Yeah, I didn't think about your seasons being different than ours. Maybe you can figure out a way to farm pumpkins in the Australian October climate. What kind of technology would that take?

I am going to try to do this over the weekend.

You summoned and I have come and it has tweaked my interest...
I will be honest though, I am still kinda grey around these punk era's ...
I understand what it is, but my mind seems to be hitting a wall...
But I will give it a go... maybe you can suggest one read for me to get an idea of what it could be like ....

I will be honest though, I am still kinda grey around these punk era's ...

So am I!

Seriously, read these two stories to get a feel for the flavor:

  1. Altland's Gambit
  2. Racioppa's Revenge

whokay, will do some homework haha
Thank you @blockurator :)

This is what I need @blockurator 😂 I need to learn how to write a farmpunk story.. though I'm afraid im not that high-tech minded 😊 but I'll try... 750-3000 words in english would kill me actually 😁 but for the free steemmonsters booster pack.. I'm willing to die trying 😅 thanks for the mention.

give it your best shot.

Wish me luck 😂😂😂 pumpkin is my favourites😊

I wish you your best and look forward to seeing what you put in. :-)

First I've heard of this genre. What do you recommend reading? Are the books above the best?

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

You won't find it anywhere but here. Check out my two stories Altland's Gambit and Racioppa's Revenge.

This made me realize that I don't even know what people mean by "punk" I can think of some punk rock... oh, wait, I'm not even sure of this. I'm old. I should know this thing. I REALLY don't know what is meant by writing any type of punk fiction. I understand (I think) the concept of steampunk... maybe?

I'm lost.

I've read your fiction. I'm sure you could figure it out. :-)

Great initiative sir @blockurator. God bless you

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blockurator from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

When the plot get hard the writers get writing...

Ha ha yeah, that's right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84