Farmpunk Fiction Contest #4: Pumpkin Harvest

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

It's time for another farmpunk contest! Previous winners include @blueteddy, @calluna, and @ediblechthulhu for the following stories respectively:

If you missed them, here are the two original farmpunk stories, Altland's Gambit and Racioppa's Revenge.

Since this is October and we're nearing Halloween, I thought we'd go with the obvious theme for this month's contest: Pumpkin harvesting. Your original farmpunk story can be about anything at all as long as it involves pumpkin harvesting.

farmpunk pumpkin harvest
Image taken from Pixabay.

Rules for Farmpunk Fiction Contest #4

We're going to change up the rules slightly for this contest, but for the most part, the general rules have been solidified. Here's what we're playing with this month:

  • Upvote and resteem this post.
  • Write a farmpunk story between 750 and 3,000 words.
  • Post your story on your own Steemit blog.
  • Give your story the #farmpunk tag. It doesn't have to be the primary tag. In fact, it's better if it isn't. Use one of the more popular tags for fiction writing (fiction, writing, or contest) as your primary tag because your story will get more exposure and therefore more likely to get more votes. But do be sure to include farmpunk as one of your tags.
  • Link to your story in the comments below.
  • Deadline: Two weeks from today--Monday, October 15, 2018 at midnight EST (I'll announce the winner no later than the following Monday).

That's it in a nutshell. The winner will receive 2 shares of Steem Basic Income (SBI). I reserve the right to not choose a winner if there are not at least three entries. If there are five or more entries, a second place winner will receive 1 share of SBI. If there are 10 or more entries, a third-place winner will receive 1 STEEM.

Remember, the theme for this month's contest is pumpkin harvesting. As long as you incorporate high technology with farming culture and you include pumpkin harvesting in some way in your story, it can be about anything. But make it PUNK!

Just don't be a punk.

Join us in the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord group.

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon


At Amazon

steemit bloggers

poetry

review me
Review Me, Please

While you're here, check out the backside 5 (my five latest posts):


Steemit Bloggers

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

I am going to try and find some time to give this one a shot.

I can't wait to see what you come up with.

Unfortunately, I am working on continuous fiction and still have several episodes for completion. If this contest took place after I finished my continued fiction writing, I would definitely participate.

There will be another one next month.

Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit

I can't seem to resteem? Maybe I'm missing something. In any case, I've voted and written a fun little story.

MVIMG_20181010_160130.jpg

Link: Pumpkin Porche

Good luck to all the other entries!

You can't resteem past the 7-day payout period. That's why I publish a reminder post in between. You can upvote and resteem this one.

Thanks for the entry. Can't wait to read it.

Aye! Got it and will do!

Thanks for the entry. I'll read through them all after the deadline passes. :-)

The 2nd Farmpunk Contest was the thing that made me go back to Steemit, but I couldn't participate on that or the 3rd one... but here is my entry for the 4th one!:

https://steemit.com/farmpunk/@dranuvar/dance-macabre

Awesome. Glad you could join us. If you're into this type of writing, join us on the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord channel.

Judging will commence tomorrow.

You're welcome. Looks like you go this in just in the nick of time. I'll start judging today or tomorrow. :-)

Seems like no matter when I start things, I often end up posting then at the last possible minute. :) There were a lot of different directions the prompt could go in. Choosing just one was hard but fun. Now I get to enjoy the other entries!

For those of you that like writing halloween stuff, here is another contest
https://steemit.com/halloween/@stevescoins/halloween-2018-open-medium-contest-20-shares-steembasicincome-as-prize

@blockcurator, I have resteemed this post, but if you consider my comment as spam, i'll happily remove it!

Thanks!

Awesome. Third entry. I'll read them all when they all come in. Good luck!

Doggone it! I'd like to let you slide. I'll read it anyway along with the other entries. I always love a good story.

Well deserved winners.

Again, good on you for doing these.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks! Glad to see you enjoying them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84