What's Better Than A Whale Upvote?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Here on Steemit, everyone seems to be chasing after whale upvotes. It seems to be the best thing you can get from this platform.

But today, let me tell you what's ever better than a whale upvote.

It's waking up and seeing that someone has written a post about your work, appreciating your content, and telling you that you have inspired them.
It's making new friends and connections through Steemit.
It's communicating with people from all over the world who share your passion!

I don't things there are many things that could beat this!



So one day, I was just browsing through Steemit, and then I saw my own face on a thumbnail next to a post. But it wasn't my own post, it was by @stellabelle - the user with the highest reputation on Steemit!

And here's the story behind that:
I have written a fictional story called "Steem Island", where I mentioned her.
So I left a comment on one of her posts, letting her know that she was mentioned in my latest story! She read through my Steemit posts and must have liked my content.
So she wrote an entire post about how I got her attention and titled me a "Rising Minnow" !

I remember exactly that moment when I found the post and read it for the first time, and thought to myself: Did she really just write a post about me? About me? Someone she hasn't even met?
I was shocked, honoured and flattered! 




And then yesterday, something similar happened - I discovered that @bendjmiller222 had written a post about me and my Steemit content!
Once again I was not expecting this at all, and it amazes me how someone would spend so much time and effort on writing a post about me and my content. I can't believe it myself, but it's the best feeling to know that you have left someone inspired after reading your post!


And even his Dad wrote a heartwarming comment underneath that post!

thank you for your kind words @cliff-miller !



With this Post, I don't want to brag about the fact that someone wrote a post about me. I simply want to say thank you, in the most appropriate way here on Steemit ;)
Thank you to @stellabelle and @bendjmiller , thank you from the bottom of my heart for your kind words and your effort to write down your thoughts.

50% of the profits of this post will be going to @stellabelle and 50% of the profits will be going to @bendjmiller as a small sign of my gratitude. 



But I also want to highlight other things I'm grateful for that Steemit has made possible:

I have made new friends in the german steemit and crypto community ( @timsaid , @fabio ), we had some great brainstorming sessions and shared some information and will now meet up in person at the Steemit Hamburg Meetup!

Also, many people have connected with me through my Social Media or Steemit Facebook Group, and I have gotten to know so many interesting Steemers from all over the world!


I have never experienced such a positive community anywhere online before.

So THANK YOU STEEMIT, for giving us this amazing platform, for giving us the opportunity to share our work and our thoughts and be rewarded, and for connecting people from all over the world! 


And of course, a HUGE thank you to anyone who has ever upvoted or commented my posts, and who follows me. 

It has always been a passion of mine to help and inspire others. And now with Steemit, I have a whole different way of doing that and connecting to people!



So everyone, keep posting and being active, don't get discouraged if those whale upvotes are not coming in just yet. If you keep posting original content continuously, your work will be rewarded!


Much love

TW


Follow me ✅

© Sirwinchester

Sort:  

We can't just sit back and wait for whale upvotes. We have to put the work in to create our communities, lurking and sub-par efforts will get us nowhere.

10 points for you

I love points from wizards. (Is this a hip Dumbledore I am speaking too?)
How many points for this @trendwizard?

Untitled-66099f.jpg

Exactly. Rather than hoping for one whale vote, I'd rather have hundreds of users finding my content valuable and giving me feedback. Yes, the rewards would be great, but knowing that you're appreciated for your contributions and that many people are enjoying what you've provided for them can be even more rewarding.

exactly my thoughts. When someone tells you "you inspired me", it's one of the best gifts you can receive.

To be honest my view on the obsession with celebrities has changed. I would have been really excited at one point if a celebrity retweeted or liked my post. (I still would appreciate it) but that really is meaningless in the long run.

I'd much rather have a congratulations and a meaningful comment than a retweet from a famous celebrity.

Minnow followers are just as important as whale votes. It all depend on how you view steemit. Short term gains, or long term investment. The latter will be far more successful, with the fringe benefit of sometimes having a whale encourage their hard work.

agreed. I'm not here to actually make money off this site, mostly here to kill time

on that note, I'd rather people find what I post interesting or useful than posting something clickbaity to gain upvotes!

absolutely right!

In fact for some people whale votes may even be detrimental. It's always a thrill to have a whale vote on your content, but just because you don't make money on a post you think is really well done doesn't mean that nobody will notice it. Many posts I do are hit or miss. The thing is that I enjoy helping people and being creative. Honestly while I do need money, it's not as important to me as you would think. This blockchain is built on people contributing are sharing with each other, not just a fistful of dollars.

Loading...

It's true! Thanks for this post! Happy to vote! ;)

As for @stellabelle, I was lucky enough to get support from her when she dedicated me a post. So I largely know how you feel. And very much agree with you.

True friendship cannot be bought. Therefore, friends are more important and more valuable than money. And although the word friendship for me a very serious thing, a journey of a thousand steps begins with a single step.

Thanks for the positive, @sirwinchester!

That's awesome, thanks for sharing and leaving a comment. We are spreading positive energy :)

Proof that I have sent 50% of the profits to @stellabelle and 50% to @bendjmiller222 :

Yep, posting here is all about generating genuine followers who are interested in what you are posting and what you have to say. I mean steemit is like the real world, sure a lot of people get paid a lot, but those who truly can achieve good things are those that a lot of others respect.

"Respect and reputation are far more valuable than a big wallet, but a big wallet often follows people that are highly respected and well thought of" -@bendjmiller222 (Hopefully I don't look like a jerk for making my own quote, but I've never heard it before, so why not)

I think we are on the same page @justtryme90

nicely said, agree with you 100%

Hi @sirwinchester definitely it is the community that makes the difference, how they show me today with this post:
*https://steemit.com/reputation/@oecp85/how-hard-will-be-rebuild-my-reputation-the-whales-also-make-mistakes

The friends you make in steemit is the best treasure you can have.

Great post and I'm glad the community showed you love! Just a suggestion to make your comment look cleaner -

Put the words you in blue as the link inside [ ]'s
followed directly by the url in ( )'s
Format
HOW HARD WILL BE REBUILD MY REPUTATION

(Maybe you already new this, but if not, it makes comments look a lot cleaner).

Glad your reputation was restored @oecp85

Thanks man, i´m still learning i really apreciate you suggestion.

No problem! Formatting is not an easy thing for everyone to learn, but I feel it makes I big difference

I used you suggestion here:
HERE
Thanks man.

Ugh I'm getting sick of these kind of posts. Post about what you want without considering up votes and monetary implications. Just post about what you love and let things fall where they may.

Your comment made me laugh right now. Did you even read my post? My post is EXACTLY about that - not caring about money and posting what you love and connecting with other steemers. Also, I don't receive any of the revenue from this post. but you would have known that if you would have read it. I don't go to your profile and comment stupid stuff without reading the posts do I?
You were the one who klicked on the title because they were interested in money. but that's okay ;)

I appreciate that you were able to respond with humour as too often when attacked, we tend to lash back. Keep doing what you're doing because the haters are going to hate no matter what you do. Have a great time in Germany and be sure to check out the wonderful museums and art galleries. The country also has some of the prettiest castles in Europe!

Yes he did and I'm not trying to give myself any credit, but I think this sort of response will to negative people is a wonderful thing.

13957621_10153584933301213_466235915_n8fc9a.jpg

Yeah I'm so tired of people working together and encouraging each other. Can't we be more like the youtube comments section? I hate seeing people making friends and being successful together. I mostly love just me, and can't imagine writing about anything else. In fact I hope nobody catches on that I've only made #introduceyourself post.

I'm gonna call you out @pandaking. You will not be successful if this is the way you treat other users. That was a completely satirical post, but I don't know what post you read, but you could not be further from the truth.

He is not worried about upvotes in fact:

50% of the profits of this post will be going to @stellabelle and 50% of the profits will be going to @bendjmiller as a small sign of my gratitude.

In fact I can only come to the conclusion that you read the title and jumped directly to the comments. I'm happy to dialogue with you in a more respectable way, but your comment stuck out like a sore thumb and I wanted to make you realize how ridiculous you sound.

Working by yourself and just posting about what you want may work for some people, but look at the people consistently at the top in the trending category. They wouldn't be there if they didn't love what they were doing, and they are letting the chips fall and at the same time are followed by people that care about what they have to say.

On a serious note @pandaking I would like you to be a successful member of steemit. It seems you have a long way to go to reach this goal, but it is not unobtainable. I'd suggest you take a step back and read some of the articles that do well and tailor something similar to what you are passionate about. Steemit is about more than just writing great articles. The community and comments are vital to your success. I'd be willing to work with you, but I would not be willing to do so until you have an attitude of gratitude.

Congratulations to you, sirwinchester! It's great to be recognized for your talents and efforts, isn't it? I received some unexpected support and words of encouragement yesterday and it certainly helps to keep me motivated.

Keep producing good content and maybe you'll surpass the reputation of @stellabelle soon enough!

wow thank you, appreciate it! Glad to hear that you are being motivated as well, awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64