You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Better Than A Whale Upvote?

in #steemit8 years ago

We can't just sit back and wait for whale upvotes. We have to put the work in to create our communities, lurking and sub-par efforts will get us nowhere.

Sort:  

10 points for you

I love points from wizards. (Is this a hip Dumbledore I am speaking too?)
How many points for this @trendwizard?

Untitled-66099f.jpg

Exactly. Rather than hoping for one whale vote, I'd rather have hundreds of users finding my content valuable and giving me feedback. Yes, the rewards would be great, but knowing that you're appreciated for your contributions and that many people are enjoying what you've provided for them can be even more rewarding.

exactly my thoughts. When someone tells you "you inspired me", it's one of the best gifts you can receive.

To be honest my view on the obsession with celebrities has changed. I would have been really excited at one point if a celebrity retweeted or liked my post. (I still would appreciate it) but that really is meaningless in the long run.

I'd much rather have a congratulations and a meaningful comment than a retweet from a famous celebrity.

Minnow followers are just as important as whale votes. It all depend on how you view steemit. Short term gains, or long term investment. The latter will be far more successful, with the fringe benefit of sometimes having a whale encourage their hard work.

agreed. I'm not here to actually make money off this site, mostly here to kill time

on that note, I'd rather people find what I post interesting or useful than posting something clickbaity to gain upvotes!

absolutely right!

In fact for some people whale votes may even be detrimental. It's always a thrill to have a whale vote on your content, but just because you don't make money on a post you think is really well done doesn't mean that nobody will notice it. Many posts I do are hit or miss. The thing is that I enjoy helping people and being creative. Honestly while I do need money, it's not as important to me as you would think. This blockchain is built on people contributing are sharing with each other, not just a fistful of dollars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65