Take it to the Streets Photo Contest by @derangedvisions

in #derangedphotography6 years ago (edited)

Iguana.jpg

Deranged Photo Contest

The newest challenge in Wes' @derangedvisions photo contest is to take it to the street. If you like to find out more, click here. Btw. I am entering as a beginner - you don't have to be a hot shot photographer to enter.

Well, my particular street is pretty boring and the best shot I can get is a piece of trash stuck in a bush. we have an elementary school close by but I don't feel comfortable taking pictures of other people's kids.

But I remembered that I had some people photos from last year's earthday celebration held in Balboa Park in San Diego. I am pretty sure the contest didn't require to only use new photos. If it did - then I just disqualified myself.

The first image above is of a lady carrying her pet iguana with her on a leash.

Here is another picture of her.

woman with Iguana.jpg

The first picture I cropped pretty heavily because I wanted mostly the iguana offset by the trees it never gets to play in. Kind off the idea of being out and so close to nature, but not free to actually be in it. Of course, it probably wouldn't survive in this climate... But you know what I mean.

The second picture is showing more the crowd and the attention this somewhat unusual pet being taken for a walk got from the crowd. Someone wanted to hold it.
I like that the iguana and the hat and face of the woman are in focus in the foreground and the people in the background are a bit out of focus. I just ajusted the light on it a bit.

IMG_9261.jpg

I liked the street organ and the shadow next to the cart. I cropped bushes out up to the shadow since they were distracting. I don't like that I got a lot of shade in his face...

indulgence.jpg

The Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence are quite a group. I cropped some tree and sky from the top of the photo and applied the vivid filter to make them pop a bit more. They need to pop :)

Now, the choice!! which one to enter??? Arghh. I don't like decisions like that!

Which one would you have entered?

All photos were taken with an iPhone 6 and edited in iPhoto.

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Weekend Freewrite Single Prompt

New Life - Photo contest

Pay it Forward Contest

Mulberries

I am Here

How to Keep a Three-Year-Old Still - For a Minute

Sky Painting

Do You Know This Woman?

Weekendfreewrite 4/21/2018

Market Friday in Vegas

Boya in the Garden

Dude

Steem Creator Conference Day 2 - Morning Sessions

BB and Boya entering a photo contest

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

These look very beautiful.

Thank you so much!! Just an FYI - did you know that $0.01 and $0.02 votes get rounded down to nothing? I am upvoting your comment so you have at least 0.03 . I didn't know that until recently and have wasted a lot of my votes....

That red iguana is wikkid awesome! Used to have one many years ago.

You have a zoo!!! so funny. My son used to have snakes and he had some lizards. We went to Germany when he was 12 and went to the Zoo in Berlin and I think we spend the whole day in the reptile house.
Me - I am a huge fan of my lizards in the yard - but not so much as a pet... 👍

Those are awesome photos with so much backstory to each. I love the harness for the iguana and the Sisters.

The sisters are a riot. I have seen them on a few occasions. The Iguana lady was funny as well. She loved the attention lol

Well, that seems like a super fun time. ;)

What a cool iguana! Looks like a dragon to me. ;)

I am pretty sure dragons did have a model in nature 😉

I like the first picture - nice photo of the iguana's profile. Did you get the name? :-))

Yes. his name was Mike!!

Agreed about not putting other peoples faces into shared photo's @mariannewest Iguana would my first choice, cutest of them all.

hahaha - that is what I first thought too. But the theme was street photography. So, i wasn't sure if the street part was visible enough to satisfy the criteria.

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.10+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51