Mulberries! Yummy!!

in #gardening6 years ago

dd80d8a4-633d-4169-b20e-8f1ef9a8fc5e.jpeg


The first mulberries of the year are always the best!! My little dude agrees with me. Actually, he thought that sharing was not a very good idea. At least at first.
When he realized that we have two trees and lots of berries, sharing got a bit easier. Such a tough lesson to learn!!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hah! Our daughter, in particular, sometimes had issues with sharing things from our garden. We should have known — her first spoken word was "MINE!"

Bright Blessings!

😂 I am sure that was among his first ones too!

Blessings to you!!

Haha! Sooo cute🤗 what a lovely experience for a kid😁 mine love picking berries from a tree down the block from us they see it as an advernture, lol😊
Have a great day @mariannewest!

That is a great adventure to go and pick berries down the street :)

Ad my old sanctuary i had 2 mulberry bushes, While a like my little new house better i miss my old garden :( my trees and bushes I wish I could have taken them with me

It does take a while to establish an orchard again - the good news is that mulberries grow so fast and you can grow a new tree or bush from a small stick!!

I will need to get new plant as I no longer have a way to get to my old place :( I wish I had known that before I would have taken some branches ...

You might be able to get some through scion exchange online. They grow best when harvested while dormant

Thank you for the tip :)

Awwww so cute your little helper!!

He is!!! So sweet that you stopped by!! Lots of love to you!!

The berries called me! 😅
Love ya! 😘

What a darling little guy and a neat shot! So that's what mulberries look like. I don't think i have ever eaten them.

Thank you!!! Well, someday, you just have to visit at the right time and have some!!

I do love mulberries,still got a bit to wait here in Spain for them, I love the trees they are so inviting, just asking you to pick their fruit and all that purple dye everywhere, my girls love it xx

These are the earliest ones. I have a big tree of white ones which are not going to be ripe until the beginning of June.

Where in the USA so you love where the mulberries are ripe by now? Here in Minnesota, we won't see ripe mulberries for another two months.

I am in San Diego. these are Sullivans and they are the earliest ones I have.

Ah, that makes more sense. I assume you have a couple varieties that bear fruit throughout the year?

So far, I have 2 - maybe three. One tree I grew from a scion which just said black --- They look very similar to the Sullivan. I had grafted a couple more varieties on one of the trees, but only the Sullivan took. Next year, I will try again. there is one variety which produces a 3-inch long fruit that is green and tastes fantastic!!! Need to get my hands on that scion wood :)

Wow does this bring back memories. I grew up in Indiana and there were several trees nearby when I was a kid. How awesome your little dude will have the same memories.

I think lots of people have memories of climbing into the Mulberry tree for a snack :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80