Birthday Girl!!

in #birthday6 years ago

8d5d2d45-2b08-46c7-8167-b0e6269642f9.jpeg


This little girl had a birthday yesterday. Only, she is not a little girl anymore and her son is older than she was in this picture.
They went camping. When she was the age in this picture, we used to go camping all the time. Pack up the kids, food, gear ready in boxes, and meet with a bunch of friends with kids.
The kids had a blast running free in some primitive group camp in the woods, getting fed from whoever was willing to make food at the time.
And the parents got a much-needed break!
Community rocks!!!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

What a lovely child! Happy Birthday little girl. The camping sounds so nice, too.

Camping like that was the best!!! Sanity time for me!!! (P.S. working on the digest right now - have to feed my dudes first :) babysitting)

Thank you for picking that up this week. I will post one next Sunday. <3

I had a horse like that when I was little! I've often wondered what happened to it.

Now you know!! We got it!!! 😂

Ha ha ha ha!!! Somehow I doubt that....

Happy birthday to her 🎂. The camping sounds nice. It’s nice when kids have a group of trusted adults to look after them. We could use more of that in American culture.

It was the best thing. when my kids were small I was all about La leche League and we had a great group of women who were supporting each other. I do miss that in my life now. All have gone different ways...

Awww. So sad, but sweet too. I guess you can't keep up la lache league if you're not leche-ing anymore!

🤔 Hmm. Some do. For me, I had to move on to the next phase - homeschooling. Here in California people move all the time. I have friends who kept their girlfriend circle together by meeting up on a regular basis at resorts or hotels for mini vacations. But that was never in the budget for me...

I now have a need to have a mini mom-vacation.

I’ve heard stories about radical unschooling groups evolving from Leche League. I didn’t find my homeschooling community until my kids were already a few years into public schooling.

The stories are true!!! :)

Yes!! Do take a vacation. When I was homeschooling, there were conferences and kind of state groups and we did campouts in different areas. Wonder if they still exist...

They do still exist. We’re attending our first HSC conference this summer 😀. The California conference used to be held here in Sacramento, now it’s in the bay area.

Great!!! Maybe you find your tribe to relax with there. I have many fond memories.

That's too bad. Good friends are hard to replace.

So true. But in a highly mobile society - that is what happens...

Your posts always make me feel so nostalgic! I LOVED going camping free-style with my family. Miss those days when sleeping under the stars did not result in a back sprain the following morning!

I hear you!! Things do change :)

what a cute picture!! such a sweet girl <3 Happy birthday! Sounds like a great day

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51