My lonely crusade... (spammers)😥

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

I was wondering if any of you try to “curate” the feeds in a proper (traditional) way. What I mean is flagging and reporting spam, fake accounts and misleading tags.
Sometimes I feel that i’m on a lonely crusade against the heathen spammers … 😥
Sure we have bots like the @cheetah but to be honest they miss most spam posts and copy/pastes, and end up downvoting original content like my post here (Reason why I won’t do any more funny translations on Steemit).


crusader.png

One thing that really gets on my nerves is the tag spammers, especially the “steemit” and “introduceyourself” spammers. As we all know, there are bots that welcome newcomers and give them a tiny tip to help them on their way. Some unscrupulous users include the introduceyourself tag into every post they make to obtain the 0.001 SBD tips from the bots (even though you would make more money by going outside and finding $0.01 on the floor 😏).
Seeing as there is currently no bot to “hammer the spammer” I have taken up this lonely crusade myself taking to flagging spam posts from accounts that misuse the tag frequently. Unfortunatley my flag only nails them -$0.02 but hopefully it should give them some piece of mind as their post usually has generated $0.07 from the bots…

I hope people don’t just read this post and think “Hey, great! I’ll spam the tags too”. I must warn you that I have recently found out the wonders of Steemit.chat. With Steemit chat we finally have the power to report spammers, fake accounts and plagiarism and not just downvote their content! Oh happy days! 😄

I was wondering if anyone else takes it upon themselves to report abuse on Steemit, or are you all too busy upvoting random posts and resteeming any post made by a user with a reputation of 70+ (the other dark side of Steemit).


Things got weird after this post (part 1)

Things got weirder still... (part 2)


Other memes & posts!

►China, Bitcoin, exchange ban & The perfect storm... ◄
► Doom & Gloom ◄
► The forest fire of Pedrogão Grande, 3 months later... ◄
► Darth Vader killed Mickey Mouse! ◄
► One does not simply... Kill Bitcoin ◄
► Give this post an upvote! (meme) ◄
► Keep calm and fuck you JPMorgan ◄
► Keep calm and fuck China's! ◄
► The church of Santiago (Coimbra) ◄

Helpful posts!

►My lonely crusade... ◄
► What is Steemit: A short intro ◄
►Steem, Steem dollars & Steem Power: An intro◄
► Why is your upvote worth so little? ◄
► The power of the upvote! ◄

Buy $100 of BTC, ETH or LTC and get a bonus of $10!

Coinbase

Start mining today with no hardware and a nice discount!

Genesis-Mining
Hashflare


If you found this interesting, funny, useful or just wish to support me, buy me a beer! 😃🍺

💰 BTC: 1L2bTMbZ23s9v7GFMA5NiD5tSqkG38Yvgz
💰 ETH: 0x76aA02B473849e540dE18b5c55Ed5980d918CEb7
💰 LTC: 355nBgEd7n3HUA8n2skg8bAe3VNUGsFrbD
💰 DASH: Xj8x5jAX6X6tHjXK6yTmwDtRxd9oU5RkHV
💰 UNO: uRXQiav5NGD9sCLS8XKFYsNehJdHj6XMPJ
💰 BLK: BS3hNJAcpw9iCGSN63jBb1YkR1awjHuuQo
💰 XPM: 461LB9s4N65FWnr4uRzY9v4u5ARa5xxMLYCzjTZUfECqWYP3pcNNLMeGUuz38veszza55ixxP9UBLVjo3SwYWtGDNG1sB2h


U5duGPxiryJmdcRS8n6HQTayX8tnbzr.gif

Sort:  

Great post, you are not alone :p

Thanks! It's great to see poeple "fighting the good fight"! 😁
Keep up the good work!

I know how you feel! I've been flagging mostly plagiarist and comment spammers and sometimes it feels like there's just no end to it.

Keep up the good work though! You're not alone in this and all we can do is set the right example :-)

Awesome not being the only one!
Its down to the community to keep Steemit clean!
You can use https://steemit.chat for effective reporting. For a booster you may be tipped for your good samaritan work! But i'll do it for free :D

Yeah, I report to Steemcleaners when I find something most of the time. They just have more resources to deal with the repeat offenders than I do.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @domcrypto to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I hate spammers as well scammers. Ill keep my eyes open. Good tip about the chat.

Great @signorfeast !
Its up to the community to keep Steemit clean! 😁
Count on you to flag spammers in the future?

count on me I will flag everybody...I mean spammers :-D

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Awesome-ness! 😁

I did see your posts on most of those scammy introduceyourself posts, Good work!

Thanks! 😄
Hope you can help curate the feeds aswell! 😁

I do my little by reporting to @steemcleaners. Need more power. Crouching till I get enough power to pounce.

Yea, my SP is only 170,300 in a few days but it stilldoesn't have much impact

We may need a downvote version of minnowbooster to tackle it.

That would be a good idea, but how would the bot verify that it is spam 🤔

Some types of scam are easy to identify by querying the database, others may require manual intervention.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dbdecoy/steemit-intro-tag-abusers-daily-report-19-sep Here's my little report in identifying these intro spammers. I'll try to do it daily, Spread the word.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you ever so much @followforupvotes

@domcrypto You are not alone!!! I just started on steem 4 hours ago and I am already thinking the same thing. BUT I am setting up the chat as I type this and I will join your forces to keep the garbage under control!!!! 🗑

🤔... Great @devonreal , welcome to the light side! 😄
I wish you success with your Steeming!

Congratulations @domcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45