Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #11: A Wild Faux-Ocean Plate - Bell Peppers with Wild Shrimp and Oyster MushroomssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

I found a Shrimp mushroom in the forest and Oyster mushrooms in my neighborhood. With some other foraged and homegrown plants, this plate of Bell Peppers is flat-out amazing! It's an ocean theme, fresh from the land!

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms TN.jpg


Getting the Ingredients Together

I've been in the forest again. I found some good mushrooms! One of them was a single Shrimp mushroom (Russula xerampelina). Many Russula mushrooms are acrid and peppery, but this one is so incredibly tasty -- like seafood! And then, in my own neighborhood, I found a big patch of Oyster mushrooms (Pleurotus ostreatus). They are such a substantial, good-tasting mushroom!

It's funny how so many mushrooms are named for ocean creatures. I already used Lobster mushrooms in the Steemit Iron Chef contest and wrote about how to identify and prepare those forest-dwelling lobsters. So when I found these Shrimp and Oyster mushrooms, I wanted to use them with this week's ingredient - Bell Peppers.

Like most wild mushrooms, these should be cooked! So I'll need to cook some of my bell peppers to go along with the mushrooms. Shrimp and Oyster mushrooms go well with bell peppers, because they have strong flavors that stand up well to the intensity of bell peppers. All the mushrooms need is a simple sautee in butter, because they have such strong, delicious flavors built in!

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 1.jpg
Left: Oyster mushrooms in my neighborhood. They look like they are growing from the ground, but they are not! Like all wild Oyster mushrooms, they are growing from decaying wood, In this case, a decaying tree trunk is embedded in the ground. Right, top: The Shrimp mushroom I foraged in the nearby forest. Right, bottom: the Shrimp and Oysters in my kitchen, ready to cook up!

But I didn't want only cooked bell peppers. I wanted some that would be fresh and crunchy. So, I also gathered some ingredients for a marinated salad -- flat-leaf Italian parsley from a garden bed, Jerusalem artichokes from where they have escaped cultivation, and Black Nightshade (Solanum nigrum) from my neighbor's patch of weeds. From my cupboard, I got my prize-winning Spruce Tree Balsamic Vinegar.

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 3.jpg
Clockwise, from top: Spruce Tree Balsamic vinegar with Spruce needles, Jerusalem artichoke tubers, black nightshade berries, Italian flat-leaf parsley.

So what about the peppers? I don't have any fresh, homegrown Bell Peppers in mid-November. My bell peppers are all in the freezer by now! They are wonderful food, but won't look nice enough for the Steemit Iron Chef contest. So I bought some.

To make a crisp bell pepper salad, I sliced the green pepper into one really long piece and marinated it, and super-thin slices of Jerusalem artichokes, in the Spruce Tree Balsamic Vinegar.

To cook the yellow and orange peppers, I charred them in the oven and then removed the burnt skin. This makes the peppers sweet and smoky-flavored. I filleted the peppers to separate the soft exterior wall from the more crisp inner wall. They have different textures and flavors that I can use! :D

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 2.jpg
Right, top: I roasted these peppers under my oven's broiler and then put them in a paper bag. Then the charred skin comes off easily, leaving a nice roasted flavor. Right, bottom: the skinned roasted peppers.


Ready to Eat!

I'm sorry that you can't taste any of this. It's fantastic! And it has a theme, too. The green bell pepper salad is like the kelp in the ocean. It's trapped big white, Jerusalem artichoke "fishing-net floats", like the big glass ones that drift onto Oregon's beaches that I like to visit. And there are some Black nightshade berries, too, like smaller floats. All still crisp in the spruce tree balsamic vinegar.

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 6.jpg

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 4.jpg

I paired the crispy shrimp mushrooms with the soft exterior wall of the roasted orange bell peppers, that I sliced into thin noodles. The sweetness of each of them go so well together. Together, they seem like sea anemones swirling their appendages in the currents.

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 5.jpg

The Oyster mushrooms are tender, yet firm. I put them on the textured inner-wall of the bright yellow roasted peppers. I think the inner pepper wall looks like a layer of sea urchin roe! The Oyster mushrooms, with their large gills, look like living, swimming, sea creatures! The finely chopped parsley is like small plankton in the sea.

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 8.jpg

x bell peppers with wild mushrooms 7.jpg
I hope you enjoy looking at my Ocean-themed plate. If you could taste this, you would be out looking for mushrooms with me!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you like Wild Mushrooms or Jerusalem artichokes?
  • Have you ever found Shrimp Russula or Oyster mushrooms?
  • Do you forage for any mushrooms?
  • Do you grow Bell Peppers or Jerusalem artichokes?
  • Would you eat my bell peppers with shrimp russula and oyster mushrooms?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant List

  • Shrimp mushrooms - Russula xerampelina
  • Oyster mushrooms - Pleurotus ostreatus
  • Italian Flat-leaf parsley - Petroselinum crispum - leaves
  • Jerusalem artichokes - Helianthus tuberosus - tubers
  • Black nightshade - Solanum nigrum - fully ripe, black berries
  • Spruce - Picea spp. - young needles
  • Bell peppers - Capsicum annuum - fruit

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Great combination of tastes and textures! I'd absolutely eat it :)

Glad you enjoyed my "seafood" plate of peppers and mushrooms, @kate-m! In your time on South America, researching how people use wild foods, have you seen much use of mushrooms? Have you gotten to try some of them?

Bearing in mind I didn't stray from São Paulo or Rio de Janeiro states, I was actually pretty disappointed by the wild mushrooms available. One of my friends there was one of the most knowledgeable people regarding mushrooms in the Atlantic Rainforest and he only ever seemed to pick from the genus Auricularia (sort of Jew's ear type), which for me is one of the most under-whelming wild mushrooms you can get. However it is quite nice when fried in olive oil and salt (handy to use in recipes where you might normally put crispy bits of bacon as is crispy and salty).

People are starting to experiment with cultivating exotic types such as shitaki, but the wild fare is definitely under-whelming in my humble opinion.

That's interesting about the lack of wild mushroom foraging in Brazil. @galberto wrote about a neat edible mushroom that he forages in El Salvador in his first Steemit post.

I like the Auricularia, sliced thin and included in soup. I'll definitely try them fried like you suggest. The ones I know, as Wood Ears, are not the most flavorful of mushrooms, but I still like eating them. :D

I think this must be one of you best entry ever in the contest my friend! What a great combinations of flavors we got on this lovely plate! So tempting!

Thanks for the encouragement, @progressivechef! Without the Steemit Iron Chef contest, I would have used these mushrooms much differently. I was inspired by the bell peppers, for sure. It's been fun!

Beautiful dish! I would love to taste this!

Good luck for the contest! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! I think you would like this. Do you like mushrooms? I don't think I've seen a lot of mushrooms in your posts about food. I think anyone that likes seafood would like the Shrimp mushroom!

You’re welcome! Mushroom is one of my favorites, especially when they are in hot and spicy soup with shrimp! Yes, I love seafood, so I think, I would certainly love shrimp mushroom! ;)

Wow, such a beautiful plate, I bet it's very appetizing and I know it's very healthy for you! I wouldn't be satisfied with the amount tho'. :P
I love both oysters and jerusalem artichokes (I see yours are purple skinned, mine are yellow!), but these Shrimp Russulas I've never heard of... When I google it, it seems that they are the ones that are called purple Russulas around here. I found them once, but didn't pick them because I couldn't ID them at the time (a few days later, my father ID'd them from a picture, and told me it's one of the most delicious Russulas there are!).
Have a good night fellow forager, keep on foraging and as always, steem on (looking forward for new content)!

haha -- I agree about the amount! But for the Steemit Iron Chef, it seems like small amounts are important. Nobody sees that I made - and ate - a lot more than did not end up on my entry plate, lol.

That's neat that you have the Purple Russulas around you. I hope you get to try some, sometime. And I enjoyed seeing your yellow Jerusalem artichokes in your post. Happy foraging!

Yea, I see, it's more polite to put smaller portions hahaha! :D I'm glad you're not starving yourself :P
About the purple Russulas, you know what they say, there's always next year! ahahhaa! :D

Dear i never heard about
jerusalem-artichokes but this pass saturday i visited a place in our country to see pinus and rest it is in the mountaint i thought every people are harvest mushroom i need to go to the pinus tree to see, maybe i found some mushroom, but only found one dry mushroom, but in the street i saw a beautiful yellow flowers and cut someone for my wife, there are similar to sunflowers but a litte big than this.
My trip was amazing in chalatenango it is the name of the place, and in the sunday here on steemit i found a post about this and put this the scientific name in the internet and found my flowers exactly, i am wonderfully i hope to return for verify the roots of this plants maybe will be an interesting jerusalen artichoques and i hope moved for our land.
Sorry foe the long history but i am exited with the idea to find other amazing plants for eat in the street.
Sorry by the way your recipe it is amazing specially with pleurotus ostreaus, i found some but i am not sure for this reason do not eat because here exist two or three species similar.
Best regard @galberto.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@freegardens/jerusalem-artichokes-a-wonderful-aroma-a-happy-tummy-and-a-productive-brain#@freegardens/re-galberto-re-freegardens-re-galberto-re-freegardens-jerusalem-artichokes-a-wonderful-aroma-a-happy-tummy-and-a-productive-brain-20171112t193416034z

Thanks, @galberto, for letting me know about that post by @freegardens! That would be great if you can get some Jerusalem artichokes to try on your land. I have grown them in wet Oregon, dry Kansas, and cold Michigan, and they have always been so productive! I read about someone growing them in Costa Rica. But there isn't much information about growing them in tropical area that I could find. Maybe @kate-m has come across them during her work in South America. And you can let everyone know what you find out about the plants that you used for flowers for your wife! I know I am interested! : )

A pleasure dear this is the most important parts of this network learn a lot of foraging, i give a wild flowers to my wife and this would be a nice food i hope to return to the place to be sure that are artichoque i hope yes. I told you if it is.
Best regard.

I agree - I really like seeing what other people are foraging. And learning from them, too. Happy foraging!

Yes mam, i will hope post the history about this interesting sourse if i find, thank you so much for teach about the foraging art.
Best regard. :)

Beautiful preparation looks amazing!! I would definitely eat it :p

Thanks, @liliana.duarte! I wonder what mushrooms show up in your area, when your autumn rains return. It's so amazing how these mushrooms get through the dry season and then can be everywhere around the Pacific Northwest. There is so much life that we only get a glimpse of, sometimes.

You said it well when rain returns here. I haven't gone​ for a walk in the fields for a long time, but I've seen some mushrooms on Facebook pages I follow, even without the rain. At least, nights are cold and humid.

I just love your plate and the theme is terrific... your descriptions are mouthwatering and it is just impossible to not yearn to have a taste...

Thanks, @globaldoodlegems! I never would have thought that bell peppers would end up with an ocean theme, but that's what happened, lol. It was nice having the contrast of the acidic, crisp green pepper salad, with the soft, sweet mushroom bites.

Amazing idea! Marvelous job! I like the idea of the plantbased ocean plate!
100% upvote! 😊👍🏻

Thanks! Only the Shrimp mushroom actually tastes like seafood, but it was all delicious!

What other kinds of mushrooms are named after sea creatures?! Looks like a great dish!

There are so many different kinds of Coral mushrooms, across several genus (like Ramaria). Some are good to eat, others not. But they are pretty!

And sometimes, when I am cleaning a lot of Slippery Jacks (Suillus luteus and others species), I feel like I'm cleaning a fish - so maybe they could be the Jack, like an Amberjack or a Skipjack Tuna. Although, depending on how they are cooked, they can be more like a snail, lol.

If you like wild mushrooms and bell peppers, I think you would like this ocean plate! :D

Wow, you’re very intelligent. You know everything about mushrooms haha I too love the way they look but I don’t eat them very often. Maybe I should try more

I wish I knew a lot more about mushrooms! I'll never be able to learn it all, but I will sure enjoy the process. I learn new mushroom every year. There are so many different kinds and each one has their own, unique qualities. I hope you get to know mushrooms -- one or a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85