Jerusalem artichokes, a wonderful aroma, a happy tummy and a productive brainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

5.JPG
Jumping out of joy and curiosity in the inside, I was trying to decipher what is the ingredient that makes the special taste and aroma of a stew my mother made one day atleast 6 years ago. It was reminiscent of the heart (the center) of my favorite vegetable - the artichoke, yet I could find anything inside that looked like it in the plate. That was the first time I tried a Jerusalem artichoke (Helianthus tuberosus) and I was completely blown away. Mesmerized by the aroma, I spent years trying to grow them... For some reason, I couldn't get them to germinate in my garden soil. Last fall, I put some tubers that were a left-over from the kitchen in a small bed with rotten wood and a thick layer of coco coir - the most sustainable potting soil ingredient I came across for now (which I use as sowing soil too - I'll be covering that in a new post!).

I left them grow there until may, when I pluck them out and discarded the rotten tuber. On grass, I put a 30-cm-high layer of partially degraded organic carbon based material, in this case, mostly mildewy leaves and old weed roots. Then, I topped it with my garden soil mixed sprinkled gently with some ash for potassium content. I plucked the young Helianthus plants in their permanent location, filled in the gaps with a mint bush and planted some Ipomoea plants on the other side of the fence to create wonderful green foliage that covers the fence and to show their beautiful flowers.

Below, morning glories that I let climb my fence, they give me and the bees beautiful flowers,
1.JPG

The Jerusalem artichoke grew and grew, every day a little bit closer to the sky. In May, when I planted it, it was two leaves on the ground... After a few months it grew to become taller than I am. A few days ago, upon harvesting, the tallest plant was atleast 3.5 meters high. It was exciting for me how big and fast it grows, tho' some people eat the leaves, I decided not to. I see plants, especially the tuber producing ones, as excellent solar collector that secure energy in form of carbs in the tubers... The same energy is ideal for humans aswell, so that's the priority for me, not the leaves. To get to the point, from five plants we got a bag full of jerusalem artichokes. For me, that is pretty profitable for the space and the soil they were growing on. If it was only for the taste, in my opinion, it still would be worth it - but there's something way more valuable about them!

Inulin - the fiber that makes us fart, have less problems with digestion and make us think better?!

...
We all know how probiotics are good for us. We also know that they are expensive and impossible to use every day for most of us. What I know, and most of you probably don't, is that the probiotics, by themselves, are incredibly short lasting, if at all - most die before even entering the large intestine. One way to go around is by eating a lot of indigestible fiber, which gets stuck in the intestine and is fermented (a process with which farty gases are created) by the probiotics. In other words, indigestible fiber in the large intestine acts both as a home and a source of food to the probiotics. Not only that, but it might be a safe way toward the gut if the fiber is inoculated with probiotics beforehand.

You ever heard of the term "psychobiotics"?

The scientists are really a mad bunch... They have proven the effects of probiotics on the mind and just had to call it psychobiotics! Apparently, if you don't have a healthy gut biology, you produce your own endotoxins which mess with your dopamine receptors... Meaning less feelings of gratification - which in turn means less productiveness. As it is explained here, by introducing bacterial colonies that do not produce the toxins, we teach the body how to respond to the ones that do. Again, this is only one possible mechanism, and as the scientists themselves say, it is yet to be determined in what ways does the bacteria influence the brain. One is sure - most people feel benefits, and side-effects, other than farts are not common.

That's why I'm so enthusiastic about growing Jerusalem artichokes - they are the number one on the inulin-containing plants list. Being up to 40 % this beautiful, farty fiber - it makes it an unbelievably practical vegetable (dried up tubers have even more). Being easy to grow and having low requirements and maintenance - it is a delight to grow! Not only that, but you can forage them and around here they are considered invasive - meaning that foraging Jerusalem artichokes is an ecological benefit!

Below, videos of me harvesting Jerusalem artichoke plants


2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

I cut up the tubers and spread them on a big piece of paper to dry. Hopefully, in a few days I'll have a stash of sunchoke chips to make sure my gut stays healthy, populated with 'good' bacteria all winter long.

Below, a close up of the sunchoke's stem. Notice the trichomes? The plant uses it to discourage insects from eating it (and being very effective at it)...
6.JPG

Hey, if you've been reading my blog lately, did you notice the plant in the banner is the Jerusalem artichoke?

Anyway, if you like content like this, please hit the follow button and comment below, what do you think, did you ever/do you grow sunchokes?... As always, if you write about similar topics - permaculture, gardening, plants, veganism, vegan cooking and so on - please let me know in the comments so I can follow you!

BTW - two of my real-life friends recently joined the STEEM blockchain - check out their blogs and support them if you like the content they share: meet @khalu and @planet-green!

With the greatest love, @freegardens.
Sort:  

I have some of these in my garden 😊

Yaaay! Do you plan on eating them?

I've had them for a few years and I do eat them sometimes. I have to keep them under control though because they spread very quickly. I have mainly fruit bushes in my garden, that's what I focus on!

Well yeah they can be quite invasive, do you know what's the best way to control them? Eating them! :D Try drying it if you can't eat it enough, it's a nice way to trick your body into eating more, and being powdered it's more practical to use!

Great pictures, looks delicious 👌 @originalworks

interesting artcle. if they are so invasive, maybe you could make that artichoke powder and sell it, never heard of something like that! :)

Thank you ! I might be doing that commercially one day, yes!

Love the way you write... Always interesting to read, no matter what is the topic... Im glad you are so happy and passionate about your plant friends, I can feel the joy :D
And thank you very much for mentioning my blog in your post, full respekt!!!
Keep it up <3

Thank you brother!... Your opinion means a lot to me. Steem on! :) <3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freegardens to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Yay for Jerusalem artichokes! Now that you have a few tubers, you will have Jerusalem artichokes the rest of your life, so easy! :D Even when they get mowed down in the summer, they still produce tubers.

They are such productive plants -- and really tasty prepared in the right ways. I like them raw, in baked things, oven roasted, and roasted in a campfire, too. Such a nice, smoky flavor! I'm not bothered by their gas so much, although I know some folks are. Cooking in different ways does have an impact.

I've never tried drying them. I'll have to do that! Thanks! I generally leave them in the ground and harvest as I need them, whenever they have tubers. That can be in the summer, too - they just aren't as full of sugars. Happy eating! :D

Hello @haphazard-hstead, thanks for the comment! I hope they continue producing in the following years. I thrown some tubers back in the garden, gonna plant them in the coco coir again in a few days.
The drying was an experiment - a failed one at that - they got a funky smell before they dried fully, so I decided not to play with my health and compost them instead!
However, I am going to repeat the experiment next year if I manage to buy myself a dehydrator! If you have one, maybe you could try with a small quantity and report to me how it went?
I heard diabetics dig them up in the summer!
To you too, happy gardening, eating and steeming! :)

It's nice to find a fan of Jerusalem artichokes! Jerusalem artichokes are definitely worth foraging! And once you find a patch, it will be there every year! It's unlikely that anyone could get every tiny piece of a tuber from the ground. They are real food for regular people! :D

True at that, lovely, resilient plants! It's a food for anyone I think... Not just regular people :)

My friend i found your plant buyt the flower is yellow i found it yesterday in the streeg is same to the sunflowers but is more little.
Thanks for share this amazing plants.
Best regard@galberto

Yes that is most definitely sunchoke by the way you described it, can you take a picture? Thank you for your comment, be well friend!

I have photos but i do not know how i up the photos of the plants, we yesterday went to a place for rest and in the street i saw the flowers and cut some for my wife and today i watch your plants and see the flowers yellow similar that i saw and cut yesterday i saw guauit would be.
I hope return to this place in 80 kilometers from home to review the roots.
Thank you so much.
For the scientific name it is very helpfull for all to identify plants in the world.

Just drag and drop the photos... BTW - I always put the scientific name somewhere in the post. ;)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

I only grow them for the flowers :)
I give away the roots .. I don't find them yummy but I love the flowers, they smell a bit like vanilla but then more fragrant
keep posting !

Hey, not everything is for everyone! Maybe you could try drying and powdering some, then adding it to your meals if you would like some prebiotics in your nutrition but hate the taste... I never noticed the flowers smell like vanilla... I guess they grew too tall so I never took a sniff! :)
Have a good night/day, and keep steeming!

yes , they grow pretty tall but i used a ladder and stuck my nose in them hahaha
Im pretty curious I wanted to know what they smell like
I tried cooking them with ginger and I made a pizza dough out of them actually, have you tried that ? with just ginger, wild onion and mint .. no salt cause the cheese is salty enough
but I can still smell that smokey earthy smell it has .. but with ginger and mint is less :D

Hahaha I can imagine that, trying to not hurt the plant, but still not giving up! :D Nice idea with the pizza! Might be doing that one day! Maybe a sunchoke sourdough?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84