SteemConnect and Multiple SteemFollower Accounts Issue

in #steemconnect7 years ago

This is NOT a post about why, when, or how you should or should not use Steemfollower.

I have two Steemit accounts. This one, which is my personal account, and @nssi-advocate, which is a project account that I have just set up and am working to start posting to.

I have been using Steemfollower (or "SF") for both of my accounts.
If you are unfamiliar with SF, just give it a quick search-a-roo or googley-goo and you'll find a ton of articles written about it. Here is my referral link if you're interested in signing up and want to spread the love like that: https://steemfollower.com/?r=10513
Moving on!

The issue I have run into just this morning is that I can no longer switch between my two accounts.

)

I know this may be rather insignificant and a tad petty, but I like SF and want to continue using it to its fullest extent.
SF relies on another awesome Steem-related project (off-chain? side-chain? two-chains? I don't know what we call these things) called SteemConnect ("SC"). It is an awesome project that you can read about here. The folks at @busy.org and/or @fabien and @ekitcho (it's hard for me to sometimes tell who is or was making things happen) have put together something very useful. I'm also not sure who is running the @steemfollower account. Is it @reko, @neander-squirrel, @mahdiyari or none of the above?

SC is a simple identity layer built on top of the Steem blockchain, that allows you to connect to authorized apps is a secure and convenient way.

Basically, the way my tiny little brain understands this is that SC communicates with the Steem blockchain to verify your identity in a secure manner and thus allows you to utilize the numerous and great, but somewhat still untested, Steem side-projects. That way, I don't have to worry about whether SteemBaths, my favorite virtual hygiene app, is 100% secure as long as SC has my credentials on lock-down.

Okay, you get it, they're great. So what's the problem?

Well, in furtherance of the goal to create a beautiful and streamlined user experience, SF, through SC, has started logging me in automatically without allowing an option to switch users. It was not a cookie/cache issue. And while I could probably clear saved passwords and start the login over each time, I'm not about to do that.

That is just about as far as my tool-set takes me.

Sure, I could probably also switch browsers, but for the love of all things that are holy, please do not make me use Internet Explorer; SF wouldn't even load on there when I tried.

I recognize that most of this is above me and I might just be an idiot.

If that's the case, my apologies for making a fuss over this and if you wouldn't mind holding my hand through the solution in the comments, I'd be forever grateful. Well, maybe not forever, but it would go a long way.

But, I also like to think that I'm not a total idiot and figured that if I am having this problem, then other people (who want to run two accounts) might be having this problem too. There is probably a pretty straight forward solution that people much smarter than myself could implement in their sleep.

So if any of you wonderful people have experienced this problem OR more importantly, have a solution, please drop some of thems wisdoms in a comment.

Until next time, be blessed.
~Sam

Image Source: Coffee, Trees.

Recent Posts:
Steps of Healing #3: Fireside with You
The Weight of Quiet: 15 Minute Free Write
You've Become My Safe Space—Original Poetry
Steps of Healing # 2: I Will Rise From The Ashes

Kind of redundant, but consistency is important. Thanks Ma!


Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Sort:  

If your default browser is Chrome, try using an alternative browser for the second account, This will allow for both accounts to be logged in, will save the issue of having to log out of one account to enter the other.

Yeah, I considered that option:

Sure, I could probably also switch browsers, but for the love of all things that are holy, please do not make me use Internet Explorer; SF wouldn't even load on there when I tried.

For some unknown reason, my work does not allow me to install Firefox on my work computer. So it is Chrome or IE. And IE both sucks AND would not allow me to login on SF.
Thanks for the suggestion. It would work under normal conditions.

You got a 2.88% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @ssimkins9!

This post has received gratitude of 1.58% from @appreciator courtesy of @ssimkins9!

Update, for anyone who actually cares: Thanks to @MahdiYari for responding to my questions on Discord. He suggested logging out of my steemconnect via steemconnect.com/dashboard. That does allow me to logout of one account and into the other, but unfortunately, it does not effect the automatic login on steemfollower. Even after logging out of my first account on steemconnect, I am unable to login to my second account on steemfollower.

The search continues!

Good work, good luck always on your side....
@ssimkins9
@steemfollower

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sam Simkins from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Also ran into a referral issue. I have signed up multiple accounts through referral link that are not accounted for. I will be speaking with the creator tomorrow.

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @ssimkins9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35