You've Become My Safe Space—Original Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

Remember that day, mom
When we lay in the grass for an undefined length?
That southern breeze carried scents
Of tilled soil and honeycomb.

Like Yin and Yang,
We fit together cheek to cheek.
I might have belonged there, but
We know who carried light to our union.

In that suspended place,
Where stars sway to the rhythm
Of the thrushes' dawn chorus.

I wanted to stay there,
lost in your hair.
You wanted to let me.

But I'm not still seven.
Going on twenty-seven,
That rest remains only a retrievable memory.
Turned mostly bland now, I beg for your touch.

I'll wait on your whisper.


~Sam

Image Source: Field.

Recent Posts:
How Do You Know My Name? -- Original Poetry
Sunday Soul Tap #2: Change is Weird
Steps of Healing #1: My Symbol
Lessons Half Learned #2: Let 'Em Dance (and my first DTube Video)!


Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Sort:  

Just lovely. I've been missing both of my parents of late.

Your words brought them, especially my mom, very much to mind. Thank you.

Thanks for your encouraging words. I am so glad that this brought you something worthwhile. That is a huge compliment and an honor.

You're a very good writer. I've been enjoying your posts.
I found you on Steemfollower, via your Woman's Day poem yesterday, and I'm glad I did.

Thank you for sharing that! I've actually considered stopping Steemfollower at times because I wasn't sure if people were even reading my posts, or just voting to get their points. It's great to know at least some people like yourself do actually looks :D

Yeah, I've had the same quandry, especially since it can take some time to find ten posts to upvote.

And, sadly, there are posts I've really wanted to upvote, but they were so badly written, or got important facts wrong, so that I just couldn't bring myself to do so.

Yours, I'm happy to say, was the exception; a post I was happy to upvote, because it was not only well-written and well-thought-out, but also moving, and said so much that I had already been thinking. Thank you for that.

That's really great and very kind. Thanks you!!

My pleasure. Happy to make your acquaintance, Sam.
I'm Cori. ;-)

Thanks for the kind words! It is encouraging to know that my words can bring others enjoyment.

You have a great talent for words, no doubt you have learned the world well and can see it in a manner many do not have the capacity to.

I wonder what my capacity is? Oh, that's right, about 1 billion joules per lightning bolt...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get onboard early and grow with us!

Thank you!
I am loving these personalized comments. Good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43