Steps of Healing # 2: I Will Rise From The Ashes

in #motivation6 years ago

It has become a cliché to reference the mythological Phoenix as a means of invoking hopeful rejuvenation.

We seem to slap the inspiring image of the fiery bird on all kinds of situations. From tumultuous emotional times, to getting over a less-then-ideal midterm exam.

And listen, I'm not demeaning how you use this phrase and your triumphs. I bet that you will rise from the cigarette ashes of last night’s bender, so you do you baby. Don't let me separate you from the inspiration you need to get your hungover-self out of that stranger's living room.

For me, rising up from the destructive reality of unchecked flame is a deeply personal idea. My city has even embroidered the notion onto itself.

The Detroit Seal, which is also the center of the Detroit Flag, reads in latin: Speramus Meliora; Resurgent Cineribus.
In English, that translates to:

We hope for better things; It will rise from the ashes.

As the artwork and inscription imply, Detroit suffered a sweeping fire early in its history.

During the early hours of a mid-summer day in 1805, a fire broke out in the French-settlement-turned-American-city. Detroit sits right on a pretty major river. Well, it is also technically a strait because it connects Lake St. Clair and Lake Erie. The original French settlers actually named it Rivière du Détroit, which means River of the Strait. But that is neither here nor there.

Not having a Fire Department, the 600 or so Detroiters starting drawing water from the river with buckets. Literally like you see in cartoons.

Unfortunately, the Bucket Brigade was unsuccessful in saving the wood city. Every structure, short of a stone fort, was leveled.
The flag shoes two women. One weeping over the loss of the city, the other looking forward to what shall replace it.

You may be thinking

That’s nice and all, but you said there was a personal connection. Who cares if your city burned down 200 years ago?

Thanks for asking!

Last week, I wrote a post about my symbol for hope and healing and how that relates to some of my struggles.

Spoiler Alert

I deal with physical self-half behaviors and have for quite some time. For me, that sometimes means intentionally burning my skin. I hit a low three years ago and came to the edge of myself (more about that in future posts). It took some time to come out of that spin. It took even longer to feel like I had started to build something new that was stronger than what existed before.

But prior to actually seeing the improvement, I had hope for things not yet seen.

That was a turning point for me. I haven’t lived most of my life with a strong hope for anything. It has been shaky at times these past 3 years, but I am indebted to that hope.

About a year after my bottom, I got this:

There are some small details that are intentional, but beyond those, my tattoo carries three main meanings.

1. The Words
You may have noticed that the phrase is the same as the one mentioned earlier: “Speramus Meliora; Resurget Cineribus.” We hope for better things; it will rise from the ashes. It was true for my city in 1805 and it became true for my life two thousand and ten years later in 2015. The hope continues to unfold into reality.

2. The Color
This is a water color tattoo designed to resemble a splatter and drip. On top of being gorgeous and one of my favorite styles of tattoo, it says something about my pain. I was confronted with the idea of beauty in struggle and have started to see pain as more than an uncomfortable or negative experience. It’s not fun, for sure. But it does often produce something deeply unique and stunningly beautiful.

3. The Semi-colon
I did not come up with the meaning behind a semi-colon tattoo, but I really connected with it. In my despair, I stopped wanting to live. I wanted my life’s story to come to an end. I wanted a period.

A semicolon is used when an author could've chosen to end their sentence, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life.

This reminds me every time I see it that I chose life and that life is worth choosing.

I continue to hope for better things while also embracing the entirety of my story.

Be blessed,
~Sam

Image Sources: Phoenix, Detroit Seal, Bucket Brigade, Detroit Flag

Recent Posts:
You've Become My Safe Space—Original Poetry
How Do You Know My Name?—Original Poetry
Sunday Soul Tap #2: Change is Weird
Steps of Healing #1: My Symbol



Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Sort:  

I wanted to wish you all the best on your continued journey for hope, especially as I'm on that same journey myself. Tattoos are becoming so much more common as a method of healing, especially amongst those who do self harm. I went with the cliché phoenix for mine and while I know it's far from original it has served me well in my own battle.

Thank you for the support and encouragement. Yes, the connection between tattoos and self-harm is fascinating to me and obviously personal. I've seen some pretty awesome phoenix tattoos and have considered it myself as well. It really is a great symbol of power and regrowth. Where is your's located? Would love to see a picture. If it can be shared appropriately, that is.

All my SH has been in the same place, my left wrist. So I placed it there after I completed my first year both to cover the scars and obv act as a deterrent to prevent me doing it again in the future. Will probably get it touched up soon.

Very cool. I like the colors. Thanks for sharing!

As always your incredible writing style allows for a window to took inside and see who you are behind the computer screen...

Speaking of that, you might want to look out the window now, because...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

It is often hard to understand situations as they happen, hold up; understanding will come one day. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for the encouragement. I have been delighted to see that understanding start to come into focus. It is interesting how it comes in developments though. Like a lock-step progression. The more I understand, the more my actions change, which in turn cause new understandings, etc.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 48 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Might be a cliche, but it is a beautifully feesable cliche!

and btw, I love your twisted intro!

It is a beautiful cliche, no doubt about that!
and Thanks!

My pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62701.29
ETH 3435.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58