#35 NBA moves I want to see happen, Unrestricted free agents Lebron James Special (Haas Picks)

in #sports6 years ago

Moves I want to see happen! Unrestricted free agent overview.

Hi welcome back everybody! Like most of you know I posted about the regular season of the NBA weekly as well as I did while the play-offs were on. During the past season I posted over 30 times about my take on the best performers weekly. I really enjoyed doing it and will be back for sure next year!

A few weeks ago I watched the Championship parade in Auckland and realized we all have to wait until the last week of October again to watch some regular season action. Luckily we are in for a great off-season if you ask me, I expect many great moves and the Warriors will be looking closely on who wants to dethrone them.
Today I past about the moves I want to see happen this off-season, but first I will explain the terminology briefly so we understand the different types of free agents.

NBA Ball.png

Unrestricted free agent
Is free to sign with any team although some have options or restrictions in their contract that may impact their choices.

Restricted free agent
Can sign an offer of every team, but the players original team can retain the player by matching the offer.

Player option
Grant the player the power to decide whether to stay for another year or become an unrestricted free agent.
(Lebron James)

This will post be purely about Lebron James and the decision he made last night! This morning I saw some interesting posts on my feed by @scottybuckets and @brianphobos. I also like the rundown @wheresmyfitzy and I expect him to post about Lebron for sure.

The Decision
I was really looking forward to all the moves that were about to happen since many great players opt-out of their contracts. There were many teams Lebron could go and last night before I went to sleep I was hoping to wake up to some news and so I did. Lebron is Los Angeles Laker. Compared to his big announcement to go to the Heat, this decision went relatively quiet. To be honest I expected that he would stay in the East and play for either the Cavs or Sixers but I think the Los Angeles spot lights were just too bright to ignore

nba week 35 pic 2.png

My Thoughts
My Thoughts? I have many thoughts on this! In general I respect players that only play for one team their whole career, so I don’t like the NBA nowadays much with shorter contract and players opting out to get more money somewhere else. So please do all respect John Stockton, Dirk Nowitzki, Tim Duncan, Reggie Miller and some others.

I also don’t really like it that big market teams always are able to land the big free agents and that other teams like my beloved Utah Jazz and Toronto Raptors always struggle to do so. I therefore really liked the decision Paul George made to stay with the Thunder!

But back to Lebron James, I do like the fact that the Rockets and Warriors play Lebron James even more now, I also understand his decision of leaving the Cavs who just could not surround him with enough talent to compete for a Championship.

The outcome
The outcome is that the West is even more powerful now and like the past NBA season I predict the NBA champion will come out the West for sure.
I also like the fact that Lebron made his decision fast so the Lakers have even more time to fine-tune the roster. For now JaVale McGee agreed to join the Lakers and also Lance Stephenson decide to team up with the king this time. Both will join the Lakers on short deals in order for the Lakers to hit free agency hard next year again.

nba week 35 pic 3.png

I expect LA to maybe even land Kawhi Leonard and really make a strong push for the Championship. If Kawhi goes East they will try Cousins to join, overall very exciting times in the NBA even though I think the Lakers won’t win a Championship I am excited to see what will unfold the coming days

So as you see the season might be over but the NBA never sleeps and is still exciting without games are played.
What will be your dream move? Let me know, and thanks for stopping by Steamian friends.
Will be back soon with part three and discuss other players.

Haas pet.png

Sort:  

I still think if James wanted to win more rings Boston or philly needed to be his choice. If your gonna go to a team like Lakers you might As well go to knicks since they haven’t won in 50 years or so and it would mean more for legacy. He’s got biz in LA and his family wanted to be there , that’s why he’s there’s he won’t get to finals but maybe once next 4 years

the Knicks your team! I do agree with you, do think that if they can add one more big piece (Leonard) that have a change. Lebron was a beast in the play-offs very hard to beat a team he is one 4 times. Lakers will add some more pieces next year, so this year for sure they wont have enough.
Thanks fo stopping by

To be perfectly honest, I really hate this move because it proves my theory about Kawhi. I could see this move from a mile away, what with Bronny James committing to an LA-based HS. Kawhi's uncle has been colluding behind the scenes the whole year. Enough of that bullshit about being "betrayed" by the team, guy suited up for only 9 games even though he got paid big bucks. He was the team, for god's sakes! The torch was passed and he just threw it away because he couldn't get the publicity he wanted from a small market team. The problem is that Kawhi isn't as vocal as the other players. They make their own publicity that's why their shoes sell. If Kawhi ends up playing with LeBron, I'll be cursing the Lakers for the rest of my life.

In other news, I've always been pro-West because of the Spurs, and I've often made fun of the (L)Eastern conference. But, with the vacuum created by LeBron's absence, I feel like it's a free-for-all that would make for an exciting competition in the East!

Great point! if he will not join right now he is joining next year. Dislike the big-market teams, Utah Jazz is my team when i was growing up.
hope that the team I had a season seat from the Raptors will make it out of the East next year so i can buy some merchandise haha, dont think so

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for stopping by, do follow you, so see most of your posts, keep them coming

Thank you. I also watch your posts, although the power of my votes is not too big :)

No worries my friend, it's all about content! I started over a year ago, so just keep going and longterm your account will grow.

Congratulations @heyitshaas! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Colombia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-07-04-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32