SnOwregon 2019 ~ THE PLEASURE - Post VII ~ Industrial Magic and Light - Part II ~ Staying Out WAY Too Late Running Around Town Recording The Snowy Night-Beauty ~ Original Photography And Some Discussion ~


P1210495 5.38 27 216kb 248kb.jpg

We're STILL boppin about in the NightSnows...



The Joy Of The Lovely Of It All ~ Part VII

More Images From Driving Around In The Recent Snows

Our overly-large snowmageddon has come and gone. But I'm still reveling in the images that showed up in the back of my camera, taken while driving all over the place, all night long. Over several nights, during SnOwregon 2019. In our last post, I was out and about in the Industrial part of town, snapping away, capturing all the cool things that go on behind the scenes of our fair city. The cogs and wheels and belts and pulleys and other behind-the-scenes machinations of Manville* that keep all things urbane, day in and day out. And I'm STILL out there, at least in spirit, and in visual Post as well. So, WITH further ado, more SnOwregon 2019 images, from the working side of town. Enjoy...


Previous PAIN and PLEASURE Posts:

Industrial Magic and Light ~ Part I
Goin Out The Country ~ Part II
Goin Out The Country ~ Part I
Drive n' Around The NightSnows ~ Part II
Drive n' Around The NightSnows ~ Part I
Whispy NightSnows
SnOwregon 2019 THE PAIN-Post I
SnOwregon 2019 THE PAIN-Post II



~ § ~



The PLEASURE Of The Drive Continues

P1210367 4.17 27 389kb.jpg

Large TP Tubes In The Snow?

No, very large culverts, stacked up and waiting for some sort of drainage fix to happen. No one was out and about messing with these in the middle of the night. Which makes sense. Who wants to push a big, frozen, metal tube around in the snow, in the dark? Unless...that's a small, red UFO coming down to borrow some pipes for their over-loaded drainage ditches on flooded Planet Wherever. I doubt it, but didn't wait around to see what would happen. Potentially meeting little people from space scares the HOOEY out of me!


~ § ~



P1210364 4.15 27-1 215kb.jpg

You Won't Get Very Far On "E"

One of the downsides of driving around all night, all over town in the snow, spinning your wheels and bombing through drifts of the white stuff? You tend to use a LOT of petrol. I had to stop in the middle of the night to re-fuel. Luckily, the Chevron station on the edge of town is open 24 hours. I noticed while driving around today that gas has gone up quite a bit in price, since I was 'out there'. I'm not sure what that has to do with the price of Teaberries, but thought I'd mention it anyway.


~ § ~



P1210354 4.12AM 27th-1-1 194kb.jpg

It's All About Doughnuts

It was pretty quiet out there, with only one guy working the gas station, and this was the only other customer I encountered while hanging out. He had a dog with him, but left it in the jeep while he went in for some doughnuts. (They have excellent maple bars here.) The jeep guy must have been out messing around in the snow with his dog. Just like me. Though I don't have a dog, so not EXACTLY like me.
Either that, or he takes his dog to his all-night job. Which I doubt, unless he moonlights (literally and figuratively) as a dog catcher, and he only caught one dog so far that night. But the dog seemed to know him, when he got back into the jeep. I suppose this familiarity might arise because the guy had warm donuts in a bag, and the dog LIKES donuts. But I'm thinking they knew each other before this night began. I just had that feeling. So I'm leaning more toward another all-night yayhoo, out messing around in his 4-WD in the snow. He did a big doughnut in the snow with his little jeep, as he left the lot. So that's my vote, and I'm sticking with it.


~ § ~



P1210366 4.15 27-1 215kb.jpg

No Sleep For The Weary Fuel-Man

This big truck pulled in while I was standing around, shooting photos. After the doughnut man with the dog left. I think the hard workers never sleep. I suppose SOMEONE'S got to keep the underground gas tanks full, for those of us out and about, doing important things all night long in the NightSnows. Thanks Be for the hard-working fuel man.


~ § ~



P1210356 4.13 27-1 210k.jpg

Onward, Into The Industrial Night

Not sure what was in these rail cars, but hopefully it's stable in cold temperatures. Surely it is. Not much was happening here at night either, at least with what I could see. Though I didn't venture further beyond the gate, into the factory. The signs were pretty adamant about staying out. I like to mess around in the middle of the night with my camera, but trespassing into a chemical plant is not a good idea, even for a cool photo.


~ § ~



P1210358 4.14 27th-3 234kb.jpg

Ice Water-28¢ A Gallon

Doubt this spigot works. I'm guessing the hose is frozen solid. I didn't try it. Then again, I didn't need any industrial water.


~ § ~



P1210503 5.42 27 236kb.jpg

Two-Tone Industries Inc.

Not sure what goes on here during work hours, but it is a pretty building in the snow. All quiet this time of night, and buttoned up tight in the snowstorm.


~ § ~



P1210508 5.44 27 312kb lighter.jpg

Calling All Heros

I love the play of light on the snowy night. This light is REALLY green, for some reason. All I know, is it looks cool, and reminds me of something you'd see in a modern Super Hero movie.


~ § ~



P1210497 5.41 27 326kb 5sharp.jpg

Snowy Night Fish

This photo reminds me of my Plecostomus I had years back. That's a bottom feeding catfish that keeps your aquarium gravel clean. I had several, in my aquarium days as a younger, shorter lad. Only mine had spots, and funky whiskers. But that's the joy of imagination, and running around all night in the snow. Anything goes.


~ § ~



P1220070-1 168kb.jpg

The Railroad Is Still There

Bopping back over the railroad bridge we visited in SnOwregon-Industrial's: Part I. The train-building people still weren't doing much when I went back by. The cars hadn't moved an inch. Maybe they were stuck in the snow. I doubt it, as it wasn't all THAT deep, here in town.
BUT...the Amtrak DID get stuck in the snow in the local mountains, for a couple of days during this storm. Wouldn't THAT be exciting! Just think, to be on that train, sitting out in the forest in the snow for several days and nights. I guess the folks had quite an adventure, going nowhere fast. I think they got waylaid by tons of trees falling down across the tracks in the storm.
Last time I took Amtrak, I had a whole COOLER full of snacks: Bailey's Irish Cream, crushed ice, tasty sandwiches, and all sorts of fruit. I think I would've been very popular on that train. Luckily, we didn't get stuck on our trip, so my travel buddy Rodney and I ate it all, on our two week, All Aboard America trip. Though If I ever DO get stuck in the snow on the train, I'll be ready and fully prepared.

.

.

~ Finto ~ (Temporaritudinale')


Stay tuned for more, folks


*Manville-That area of town where you go to buy things like bearings and sheet metal and plate-steel and nuts&bolts and gloves by the gross and industrial-strength tarps and plexiglass and other cool stuff for garage art projects. Yes, it sounds a bit sexist, but it's a throwback to a time when I used to go with my Father on a trip to get all sorts of these things. Over on the far side of town. Yes, there are more women working there today. Still not many, but in the 'old days', they were very few and far between. If any. Only the smells of fuel oil, fresh-cut metal, grease and hard work. Tough-looking guys with a cigarette hanging out of their mouth as they talked with my dad about amazing mechanical things, while I checked out the latest racy calendars, hanging on the public walls of their business. The one's that made a young lad's heart race even faster than looking at all the 'really cool, industrial stuff'. Times have changed, for the better in most cases, but I still call it Manville. It's part of my history.



Thanks for stopping in and viewing more images of SnOwregon 2019: The PLEASURE, Part VI. If you have any thoughts about STILL driving around, taking photos in a snowstorm, stopping in for doughnuts and gas in the middle of the night, in the middle of a storm, the advantage of doughnuts over maple bars as a cold-weather sustenance, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 04/23/2019 @ 10:14



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 138

More Stinky the Cat Classics from Catfacts of Yesteryear

DONE Capture green pod final.PNG



Author's Note:
Many photos are a bit grainy. They were shot with the highest ISO (3200) on my small Lumix camera, while hanging out the car window, during the storm. All photos were handheld, without a tripod. So, there is a bit of color shift and odd things going on, which I feel adds to the effect. Thankyouverymuch. -dds

Sort:  

Greetings @ddschteinn,

What an lovely read and beautifully taken photographs of could have been not interesting and yet was fascinating.......thank you so much!

All the best.

Cheers!

Howdy. Thanks a bunch for the nice thoughts. Glad you enjoyed my little romp at midnight and beyond. As you say, there is a lot to look at, right in front of us, at the right time, all the time. I suppose it's all in the light and perspective, pun sort of intended. Hope your weekend is a good one (I'm a bit behind on here-what else is new?!) Cheers

I cannot imagine being stuck in the train FOR DAYS!! Oh that would have been rough. I wonder if they had enough fuel for heat? I always wonder too much lol.

I see that plecto! Kind of colored in reverse!

Seeing the truck driver makes one appreciate all the stuff that happens behind the scenes to make life happen!

Nothing wrong with a constant wonder. Makes the world go round more smoothly. And cracks me up on a regular basis. I think they had lots of fuel for heat. No one seemed TOO bummed, from what I read. Only the bathroom would become a problem. Then again, there's a whole WOODS on either side of the train, so who's complaining.
Did you have aquariums at times in your life? I was always enamoured of the Plecostomus. Never know WHAT a kid will latch onto. Have a nice night.

Love to take a train ride across the country. I find train travel far more civilized than air. You can get up and walk around and they give you leg room. We just need more trains and faster ones, if you ask me. The shots were great but now you got me craving donuts:):):)

I do love train travel. It's a fun way to chat with folks and see the country and have fun. Though in the U.S., you seldom get where you're going on time. But I've heard that is due to Freight Train shenanigans. SO many shenanigans in the world!! Do the Canadian trains do well? From the sounds of it, it's like ours. I hope you went out and found a doughnut. Or donut, depending on which you like better. (One has more hoity that the other...). Cheers to a good weekend.

We love our 'ou's in Canada. Alas, we do not love our trains. It is pretty much impossible to travel anywhere other than Seattle​ from Vancouver:)Love if there were a train to the Okanagan.

I seem to have a penchant for 'e's, as in potatoe and tomatoe and other such words that pop up when I type away. They just come out naturally, for some reason. Maybe I hailed from England in another life. I would think you'd have a cool train all the way across Canada, West to East. THAT would be a fun and long trip. Lots of Bailey's and sandwiches in the cooler for that excursion. I had to look up Okanagan. You live in such a gorgeous place. Sad there is not a train bopping up there. And to all your other sites of gorgeousality. Then again, it is very pricey to maintain. That is one reason our trains are so bad. MILES of track, compared to Europe. Then again, some of our politicians are giant putzes too, so there's more to it than cost. But it's STILL fun ( :

Same here. Plains and highway driving just took over:)

Hi ddschteinn,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks a bunch for the look and vote, @curie, I really appreciate it. And all the great things you do for the site and poster's of Steemit. Keep up the great works and have a nice weekend, wherever you may be in this big, wide world. Cheers.

I know Manville alright. A fascinating night and worth the petrol for the nocturnal prowl!

Manville is a bonny great place to hang out. It must be a universal thing, and place. All the way across the wide blue sea. Glad to hear it. This was a fun series of nights, that's for sure. Though sleep was a bit lacking. (Sorry this is so late, I'm so far behind, I just lapped meself).

You have lapped yourself. So much so that I don't know which time zone I am in!!

You got me at doughnuts!

Ha haa, the snacks work every time...sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do to get 'customers'. ("Never met a doughnut, I didn't like" -W.C. Fieldsschteinn

WOW! Amazing snow night photos with great imagination! I enjoyed reading your stories while watching the photos. Very creative and great work! I like them all. ;)

Thanks, glad you enjoy them. There seem to be a lot of them, ( :, so there are more coming. But it was fun, so why not keep them flowing, eh? Hope all is well with you, and have a nice weekend, GFF. Cheers

You’re welcome!

Yeah! Why not keep them flowing…., it’s a lot of fun to see indeed.

Have beautiful weekend, GFF! ;)

Is that a fuzzy carrot you're holding there, little kitty? Or some other sort of kitty toy.

@ddschteinn You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

I enjoyed that even though much wasn't going on at night. I am normally amazed at how much activity happens during the night, but not in your sleepy hollow obviously lol. I really enjoyed your stories with each photograph.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36