SnOwregon 2019 ~ Part 1A: THE PAIN -- Installment One ~ How To Lose Massive Amounts Of Sleep Pulling Snow In A Major Weather Event ~ Original Photography and Original Lengthy Discussion About Snow Management ~

in #snowregonpart1-thepain5 years ago (edited)

0 - P1220093-2 411kb.jpg



~ § ~



Part One - Day One

So It Goes, And It Goes, And It Goes...

P1210075 325kb.jpg

Where IS Everybody?

The weather guessers had predicted: "Light flurries... " the night before, "...followed by to some rather heavy snowfall by mid afternoon on Monday. " Understatement of the year on the news there, Jim.

By 8:30 in the morning, the white stuff was coming down in droves. However much a drove of snow is. I'm sure it means something like a LOT. Because that's what was falling from the sky by the time the sun finally came up. (?) And NO ONE was driving around by early morning, except that lone doofus in the Subaru. Let me tell you, those cars are MADE for this stuff.

I was having a blast, bombing down the empty roads, plowing through the drifts, TRYING to get the car to spin out or slide...all the while doing my best impersonation of a little kid, stuck in an older body with a driver's license. Oh, the joys of pretending to be a grown up. I never DID get the car to do anything other than go pretty straight. Amazing what All-Wheel-Drive will do for you.

Onward, to more snowfall. And certain, late-night-into-early-AM hunger and exhaustion.



~ § ~



1 - P1210078 (2) 272kb.jpg

Wow

By the time I pulled back into our long driveway, the white stuff was REALLY coming down. The neighbors house was already covered. This type of day gives you a warm, fuzzy feeling in the pit of your stomach, particularly when you settle into the toasty-warm, cozy house, and look out at 'the blow', going on outside the living room window. Takes me back once more to being a kid in the howling, wintry Midwest. Only thing missing is a mug of Mom's hot cocoa with marshmallows. Finest kind.



~ § ~



P1210081-1 183kb.jpg

What IS This Business?

Pantera the Cat, heading out to check on the snow-covered Subaru. He likes to sleep on the hood, when I return from driving around on errands. The engine warmth makes him happy, not UN-like me in the heated living room. But this day, he was having none of it. He got as far as the right front tire, looked around for a moment, muttered a "this is BALONEY " and other harsh, kitty invective's, did an about face, and trotted back to the front door. And that warm living room beyond. Whoever said cats are dumb, never owned a cat during a snowstorm. And as it ends up, Pantera is a LOT smarter than the guy that fills his food bowl every day.



~ § ~



2.5 - 20190225_113807 133kb.jpg

I Don't Think This Stuff Is Going To Stop

By late in the day the snow was really piling up. Out back toward the South-40, the wood storage shed was covering over at an alarming rate. As were some of my tarp shelters around the place. They're made up of heavy duty metal fence post material, held together in the shape of a building or porch with really nifty, rather expensive tubing brackets. Very handy on a farmstead. Not very handy in a blinding snowstorm. The slick, spend-y tarps bulge and rip, and the poles tend to bend and break when excessive weight is applied. And this snow was beginning to qualify as excessive. Would my structures hold up to the onslaught, barreling down from the skies in huge, glob-y flakes?



P1210283-1 76.2kb.jpg




~ § ~



Even The BIRDS Were Having Troubles

17 - P1210088-1 414ob.jpg

After noticing the birds in the feeder, and the amount of snow this TINY roof had accumulated, it was beyond obvious. The big buildings would soon experience a whole RAFT of trouble in this snow. At least as far as my understanding of physics takes me. The birds watched me messing about with my buildings, and wondered out loud if I could help THEM, with THEIR building. I'm sorry, little birds, but I have bigger fish to fry. Or accumulated snowflakes to move.



~ § ~



So, WHY Is This So Important?

4 - P1210815 394kb.jpg

The neighbor's light-weight tarp building, a day or two after the storm's end. Notice it's no longer in decent shape. That's a nice, antique, 1960's car under there. Somewhere. I don't think the vehicle got damaged, from the looks of things, but not an ideal way to end up either. Suffice it to say, I did not want MY buildings/structures to end up with the same, ignoble fate.



~ § ~



There's Only One Thing Left To Do

~8:00 PM -- The First Night

3 - 20190225_113804 437kb.jpg

The snow, piling up on the tarp structure between the garage and wood shed. I park the lawn tractor, rototiller and other farmer accoutermon' under this 'building'. By the time I got out back to look, there was about 6 to 8 inches of snow on the tarp roof. Panic set in, and it was time to get to work. I donned my 'snow removal' gear, pulled out the special, homemade snow-moving tools and various ladders, and as they say somewhere or another, "the rest is snowstorm history". This was promising to be a long, hard night of cold, wet work.

I had been HOPING to start snow removal the next morning, when most sane activities occur. During the daylight hours. But the snowstorm was having none of this logic-based nonsense. Starting mid evening, the stuff was coming down at about 1 to 2 inches per hour. An ALARMING rate. And promised to smash my buildings flat, before the sun came up again. There was only one thing to do. Start moving heavy snow. ASAP.
[VERY Large Sigh Here]



~ § ~



A Short, Scientific Side-Note About "Our" Snow

2 - DSC01598 262kb.jpg

Dear Doctor Science

Eleven Inches Of Cascade Cement

Measuring with my special, fourth grade ruler, there was 11 inches of snow at one time or another this first day. I cannot tell you exactly WHEN I took this measurement, as time began to scrunch together during the next 18 hours. What I CAN tell you, is that this was during a 'break' in the storm. Before more snow came twaddling down once again.

And I can also tell you that snow in this part of the world is called Cascade Cement. The stuff comes down to us from the Cascade mountains, and is often as heavy as a bag of Portland cement. I don't know the actual weight per square foot, but can assure you after pushing and pulling it all over the place with my special tool, appears to hover around 6 tons. This stuff is RIDICULOUSLY heavy.

Well, I guess I better get to work. There's snow to move. Even though it's headed on toward the middle of the night in this part of the world...

~ Finto (Temporario) ~



~ Stay Tuned: for the 'End Of The Story' -- Coming Soon to a Post near you:

SnOwregon 2019 - Part 1B ~ The Pain Of Snow Removal ~



~ § ~







Thanks for stopping in and viewing the first part of my Snow Storm-Snow Removal Marathon, Part IA. If you have any thoughts about winter storms, the need to move snow, the subsequent moving of TONS of snow, making your own homemade tools for moving the snow, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 03/08/2019 @ 18:28



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 125

SnowOregon Snow Removal.PNG

Sort:  

Whoa! That is a proper amount of snow! Even by our standards! I wont even give you the refrain I always hear: "But it looks so pretty"...Well it does till about the time you have to deal with it some way! Then its not too fun or as pretty!

I think you made the right call to face the problems right off. You wouldnt been able to sleep at night worrying about it. I feel for ya, as I know that stuff is monstrously heavy! take it easy coz that is the stuff heart attacks are made of.

We did get a LOT. Not usual here, and not this much. And I agree, it IS pretty, I love walking around in it at night (See Next Post(s), Coming Soon) But MOVING it, nope. I am glad I did it, I've seen smashed ones all over town. Even some buildings. But you gotta do what you gotta do. I'm hoping it won't do in my heart,,,I figure it's actually exercise. Then again, so is laying around in bed, if you THINK about exercising.

WOW!! Snow snow snow…..

Beautiful photos of wonderful white snow! LOVE!!!

I especially like the photo of the little bird, Pantera the Cat, your neighbors house and the first photo. You took great photos of them…

It’s very amazing that the little bird can stay there among the very thick snow like that. Yeah! It may probably need for your help!

Ah! “Macgyver” is here! You did very hard work on the snow indeed. Great!

Look forward to reading the “End of The Story” very soon….. Hurry up!!!
Have a wonderful night, “a little kid, struck in an older body”! ;D

I fear I will always be the little kid. Then again, there are WORSE things to be, I suppose. Glad you enjoyed the romp in the snow...more than the little birds. I do like that picture a lot, it was a lucky 'hit' out the kitchen window. They were not having fun. Have you ever seen snow? Maybe in the mountains, eh? Well, Part II is coming out very soon. The rest of the story. Then I have to get to the next stage too. So much to process, so little time. Hope you have a nice day. Cheers

Ha ha! Don’t worry! You are a little kid by heart…. You always feel a lot of fun in life, that’s really great! ;D

To answer Mr. Curious’ question….. Yes, I have never seen snow by my own eyes in my life! Even in the highest mountain like Doi Inthanon, frozen flowers can only be seen when it’s under 0 degree Celsius in winter, but it’s very short period. That’s why I always felt excited when seeing snow even via photos… Ha ha! ;D

I’m still looking forward to the “Rest of the Story” with much interest.

Have a pleasant day, GFF! ;))

Oh!! Some guys get all the fun!!! We didn't get a hill worth of beans for snow this year. Once or twice and it was gone by the morning.

One of the reasons OGP thinks the state of Virginia is his Camelot. LOL

You certainly cornered the market on snow and yes!!! Can I be a little jealous, even if I don't want to help shovel? You totally win!

!tip

Ha haa, I get the award for snow in my area this week. Love it. Sorry you didn't get much. It IS gorgeous, and fun to walk around in at night with the lights. (Post coming out soon on that soon). But I thought you guys got hammered this year in the snow department, in that area. Though maybe it came down when you were cavorting about in the tropics. Oh, what a joy that would be to partake in, particularly this time of year. No worries, I'm not jealous, just happy for you to be able to do it. OK, maybe a little jealous ( :

I hope OGP finds his Camelot. I know the Michigan area is tough this time of year. Virginia would be a lot warmer. I think he would fit in well there, such a friendly chap he is.
Well, today it is 57 degrees, so no snow anymore, just a bit of rain on the horizon. Better for bike riding, and no heavy snow movement. That's OK with me. Well, here's to a nice afternoon, turning into evening very soon.

Nooo, the Washington, DC area really got no snow at all. Well, we did get a couple of inches and rain on top of it, so it went away.

You are right. They did get snow when I was away. LOL But, then it was mostly cold. I am so glad to see that you are getting nice weather and the snow and ice are behind you.

For today.

It is 72 right now, but, I think that winter weather or at least the cold will be visiting us sometime next week!

Drats!

Happy Pi Day @ddschteinn!!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @ddschteinn! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

You got a lot of the white stuff!! :O We've had some snow here in Indiana but its covered the ground & melted within a few days. I just hope mother nature see's it right to actually give us all Spring on the 20th!

We did get hammered pretty good. THought it's all gone now. But it was a chore, to say the least. Post No. 2 discusses how I about did myself in doing it. I'm hoping we're done for the year. It's 50 something today. Make up your mind, weather things. I heard there is another doozy coming your way in the next few days. Hope it misses you...

Holy mother of snow! I bet you ended up with arms filled with big muscles after all the shoveling! :O

I'm not sure my muscles got much bigger, but they sure got tired-er. The joys of shoveling frozen cement. Have you ever seen snow? I doubt it's ever snowed in your neck of the woods. Then again, you never know. Maybe on a mountain...

No, I have never seen snow. We get hail sometimes at the mountains

image

There are 4 in my immediate family!

oooh!! That looks so cool!

I liked how the snow collected over each of the letters!

That was quite spiffy. My first thought: a very hot SUBARU title, put down in the ocean with bubbles coming off of it, like right next to a volcanic vent. Very way cool.
Wonder why it ended up doing that on the hood? Warm hood and cold snow? Things that keep me up nights...

I have no explanation.... Just thought it made a cool photo!

Ha haaa, your family is smart. One amazing car in the nasty parts of the cold north. Go and go and go. I was very impressed. They do better than my 4WD pickup with chains. But the big drifts will swallow it up. (Then stay OUT of the big drifts! Duuh.) Thanks for stopping in. Have a nice Sunday night.

My daughter and her husband are active in the flat4society. My grandson just got his driver's license this week. Guess what he is driving? They all love their Subies!

I'm not familiar with the Flat4society. Is that an "I love my Subaru" sort of collective? I can certainly see why. (All except the "you have to replace all 4 tires" thing as they wear and you get a bad one. THAT can get expensive. But I guess is just part of having any AWD.)
Your grandson is smart, and following the family prints in the snow very well.

It is definitely a Subaru appreciation group. They seem to have so much fun. There is the Subaru wave. You would never meet another Subie without waiving. The Facebook group is very active and even has a section of 'is that you bro?' where they snap photos of each other's cars at stop lights and in parking lots. There are a couple Subaru ambassadors in town who always have swag to give out when local owners get together at the donut shop or the pizza place. They sell and giveaway parts to each other and offer advice on how to do various repairs or modifications. And when it snows they let each other know what empty parking lots have not yet been plowed! It is a large group that covers most of southern Wisconsin and Northern Illinois, and when they have area meetups they need to find restaurants with large parking lots and group seating areas because many people turn out. They do love their Subarus.

🎁 Hi @ddschteinn! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Passion Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31