My Struggle to Train for my Upcoming Race Ends TODAY

in #running7 years ago

Many of you may have noticed that in my profile I identify myself as a runner. That's the first label I give myself in my profile overview, then yoga, crypto enthusiast, etc. And I posted about those things more often my first few months here, then things changed...

Back when I first joined Steemit I was doing a decent amount of running--most of it on a treadmill at my local gym because it was summer time since where I live it is very hot and humid this time of year well into September. But I cancelled that gym membership as I was trying to scale back on unnecessary expenses so I could invest in the crypto space as I was convinced the next huge wave was imminent and just a matter of time (December!).

I cut other non-critical monthly memberships, payments, and discretionary spending out and this allowed me to invest more money into cryptos (which I profited from nicely so far, but it came at a price. I no longer had that gym and its treadmills to run on when it is 95 degrees (35 degrees C) outside, snowing, raining hard, below freezing, etc.

It seems like ever since I cancelled that membership there's been more of these types of weather than ever and it's been hard to get out there and train. Then there was also the 3 month stretch of 60 hour work weeks in the fall that really killed my time and energy to train for a late Autumn race or even interact much on Steemit.

Now that things at work have settled and I'm back to the normal 40-45 hour work week, the weather seems to be either heavy rain or sub freezing temps, neither of which I like to run in. I do run in the rain, I'm not that much of a pansy (proof in this post https://steemit.com/fitness/@cryptokeepr/my-sunday-run-in-the-rain) but this weekend has been like a monsoon and it has ruined my chance to do my third and most important run this week--my long run.

The other two runs this week were both 4 milers. One I didn't have my Garmin for but I knew the route so I knew the mileage. Proof of the other is shown below.

run.JPG

So it's clear to me that I need access to a treadmill even though I prefer outside running

Instead of paying $95 / month for a fancy gym membership, I'm opting for a cheaper one that's about $15 a month with no multi year contract / obligation and I'll use this when I'm not able to run outside. This way I have no excuse / reason NOT to stick to my training plan. I am going this afternoon to sign up and I'm doing the run on one of their treadmills because there is more heavy rain in my area today.

I have about six weeks to finish my training for the half marathon I'm running at the end of March. I wanted to run a fast time but now my goal is just to finish in a reasonable time which is what I've had to settle for in the past couple of years due to all kinds of unforeseen circumstances affecting my training. Well enough with that. No more excuses.

I'll manage to finish the race no problem even with my training being lacking at best so far, but maybe I'll surprise myself and finish in a faster time than I target when race day comes. You'll see more about my progress in the near future.

That's all that I'll say just about me in this post, but I'd like to shed some light on a great new steemit group for runners if you have the time to read further.

I've become involved in a new group on Steemit called @runningproject and am supporting them through SP delegation and upvotes. I want to see this budding community thrive so lemme hit ya with some knowledge!

If you are interested in becoming part of @runningproject or being given upvotes on your posts by ISOTONIC (the group's voting bot), I'd suggest checking out @runningproject or @isotonic profiles and read some of their posts.

The running project and the bot are in their infancy and the project could use some more steemians to devote resources to them but they are growing very rapidly and I see a bright future for @runningproject and @isotonic. If you'd like to become involved in helping this great project, the creators are looking for support in the form of

If you're a runner on steemit I'd highly recommend becoming a part of this group. Membership is very easy to obtain and it has benefits which will only grow as the @runningproject grows and gains more visibility.

I'd like to thank @toofasteddie for all of his work on this project and @yabapmatt who is a witness here and helped with this project--please consider giving him a witness vote! Don't know how? Go here https://steemit.com/~witnesses and simply click the arrow next to his username

witness2.JPG

Sorry if I rambled or got off my original topic but I thought the @runningproject was an important thing to mention. I hope all of you runners who aren't aware of it will at least go check it out!

Have a great day all!

-The Cryptokeepr

Sort:  

That truly depicts your passion for running. People unconsciously waste a lot of money on gym membership, so you have taken a great decision by ending it.

Yes I had that membership for a little over 3 years (It required a 3 year contract to sign up as a member!) My family and I used it a lot the first couple of years and then we got busy with other things and ended up using it less and less so...$95 for a few visits per month = not worth it!

I've evaluated a lot of recurring monthly payments in the past six months and eliminated many of them. It always feels good to declutter my life!

Wise decision. What happened to your auto voting? Have you stopped it?

Thanks man!!!!! This is really helping us!!!

Eddie my friend! Glad to be of assistance! Sorry I couldn't pick up on the runner witness position but I just don't have the time. I don't like committing to things that I cannot do a good job of and I fear that I would fall behind if I were to attempt it.

However, I am always happy to support this project and figured I'd give you, Matt, Runningproject, and isotonic some visiblity as much as possible. I now have over 1,000 followers (when did that happen?!) and I'm very grateful that so many have found my content interesting. If I lead just one runner to the project through this post then I feel like it was well worth adding the last part about it to my post.

I'll continue to mention it in all my running posts as there are thousands of new steemians joining our ranks every day and every bit of guidance towards what they are seeking is a form of serving our steemit community.

I think @runningproject is going to grow into something very big, it's just a matter of time. Who knows how long, but I'll be involved indefinitely.

Hahhahah! hope you will be right!
You know, sometimes I felt like creating a Steem Decentralised Organisation... I still have a few things to implement, the idea is that some of the members work proactivelly by, for instance, taking care of the training Posts... In fact, next call I plan is for someone who will post weekly a Training proposal for a particullar race, i.e 10K , Marathon etc...This figure will be the Coach of the initiative for instance...
Similarly, I am planning more calls for other tasks...

If @runningproject evolves positivelly, I think, we should create a sort of Discord Channel with the main involved people in, as delegators for sure but also some of the experienced runners as well...
Step by step...

We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.
Alberto Salazar

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Don’t forget to “Vote your Running Author of the Week”
and also “CALL FOR A "RUNNER WITNESS"

Running in crappy weather has a certain appeal to it and it builds resilience in my opinion, but props to you for training on the treadmill; I would rather run in extreme rain or cold than go crazy on that thing :P
I hope you have an awesome race :)

I'd agree - used to do a lot of treadmill running but just get bored now! It's too interesting out on the roads and trails, whatever the weather!

When I was 5 years younger I was more prone to just run no matter what conditions but as I've aged a bit I'm a little more picky about what kind of weather I'll run in. I've done 15 mile runs in the rain before training for marathons (several years ago at least) and run at 5:30 a.m. when it's well below freezing.

Right now I'm working on rebuilding my speed and endurance and maybe as that grows my tolerance for adverse weather will come back to me....it would be nice.

But yeah the treadmill does kind of suck in its own way. It definitely serves a purpose (great for setting speeds and distances for interval training and the obvious weather factor) but I hope to minimize my usage of it because running on solid ground is a bit more effective.

Thanks for stopping by!

I'm with you on this. Unless the weather is totally crazy, I would rather be running outside. I do use my treadmill a couple times a week for recovery runs at night after a hard session in the morning and I find it physically and mentally so much tougher. But I'm only allowed out for one run per day else the girlfriend gets a bit stroppy, ha ha.

Hey John S. I owe you an apology. I have been following you from the beginning. I always pull up your blog page to support you but today I noticed I was not officially following you. I'm not sure if something happened or if I just forgot to hit that button from the beginning. I have corrected that and ask for your forgiveness. Thanks!

Hey man I didn't even notice lol. No worries. I know we've had plenty of conversations in your own feed and mine. I've done this with others as well, forgotten to follow and it's really nothing personal (at least I don't take it personally). It gets pretty time consuming keeping up with everyone!

Thanks for your sentiments.

As you touch on in the article, accessibility and knowing thyself is key to a successful training regime, so big ups for creating your own personal circumstances that will aid you optimally for your running 🤟🏼

Haven't heard of the @runningproject before, being a runner myself I will definitely check that out!

Otherwise, if you happen to be into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!

Cool, yeah I just briefly checked out your profile and am now following you. Pretty cool, a fellow runner and an engineer like myself. I'm pretty into fitness and self development and look forward to seeing your content in my feed.

Thanks for leaving the reply and safe travels to you my friend!

Glad to connect brother, seems like we have quite a lot in common 🤟🏼

This is a SPAM CONTENT. You posted this same exact reply on at least six other people's blogs.

Thanks for this! I had no idea there was a running community on STEEM (mainly been focusing on crypto/investing posts). Excited to hear about this!

I've also thought about getting a stationary bike for the house for when the weather doesn't cooperate and I'm not feeling the drive to the gym.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Hey bud! Man I've been having the same problem lately 😦 it's too cold in New York. But you're extremely determined and like you said you'll get the job done 😊 good luck <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64