You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Struggle to Train for my Upcoming Race Ends TODAY

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Running in crappy weather has a certain appeal to it and it builds resilience in my opinion, but props to you for training on the treadmill; I would rather run in extreme rain or cold than go crazy on that thing :P
I hope you have an awesome race :)

Sort:  

I'd agree - used to do a lot of treadmill running but just get bored now! It's too interesting out on the roads and trails, whatever the weather!

When I was 5 years younger I was more prone to just run no matter what conditions but as I've aged a bit I'm a little more picky about what kind of weather I'll run in. I've done 15 mile runs in the rain before training for marathons (several years ago at least) and run at 5:30 a.m. when it's well below freezing.

Right now I'm working on rebuilding my speed and endurance and maybe as that grows my tolerance for adverse weather will come back to me....it would be nice.

But yeah the treadmill does kind of suck in its own way. It definitely serves a purpose (great for setting speeds and distances for interval training and the obvious weather factor) but I hope to minimize my usage of it because running on solid ground is a bit more effective.

Thanks for stopping by!

I'm with you on this. Unless the weather is totally crazy, I would rather be running outside. I do use my treadmill a couple times a week for recovery runs at night after a hard session in the morning and I find it physically and mentally so much tougher. But I'm only allowed out for one run per day else the girlfriend gets a bit stroppy, ha ha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65