My Sunday run in the Rain

in #fitness7 years ago

Today was honestly the best day that we've had in my area for running even though it was raining...it was actually a fairly comfortable temperature and despite the rain I decided to go out and run a few miles along the river.

run.JPG

It's been very cold for what seems like a month now (usually well below freezing for the highs during the day which is very unusual for where I live) and it's been hard to get myself to get out and run more than a mile or two because my lungs feel like they're on fire.

Also, when it's well below the freezing mark managing all the layers of clothing as I warm up throughout a run in those temps is a pain in the ass. So go the excuses...always something. But I did get in 3 very short runs this week and my job is slowing down a bit so I'll have more time to train, which is good because I am running a half marathon around the first of April.

There's just something kind of fun about running when it's raining (not pouring but light rain) and I was in a great mood when I finished even though I was sweaty and wet.

IMG_2005.JPG

As I was going to get in my car I noticed I was being accosted by a flock of hungry ducks and other water fowl! There was a bird food vending station near where my car was parked and I guess they're used to getting fed there but maybe the weather has kept people from going to the park and they haven't gotten as much to eat as they're used to. They don't look like they're going hungry (they actually looked kind of plump) but that didn't prevent them from seeing me as a potential source of a handout.

ducks.JPG

So I popped a couple of quarters in the bird food vending machine and fed them. The big one with the red on his face was a very unique looking bird and I've never seen one quite like him...after I ran out of change I got in my car and left to the dismay of my new feathered friends.

I just checked the weather and it looks like it's about to get cold again so it's either burning lungs and layers of clothes or the treadmill...not much of a choice but I'll pay the price if I don't train for this race. On a more positive note the cold weather will be good for my wife and I going snowboarding next weekend...looking forward to that!

Hope you all had a good weekend. Mine was busy but I still made time to do something fun.

Sort:  

I experienced the extra challenge of severe cold weather running while visiting NYC this New Year. So many layers! Hope the training goes well.

I found #RunForSteem this week - maybe you'd be intetested.

I need to check that out. @dragosroua was trying to get a running community coin (RUNCOIN) distribution going awhile back and I got a few but then work took over my life and I lost track of maintaining my fitness and the running community here on steemit. But yes I'll definitely check out #runforsteem and include it in my tags for running posts which I should be doing more of now that I'm nine weeks out from a race and running more.

I bet it was cold in NYC this month! I live in the south and it was bitterly cold. Good lawd!

I love rain since I was a kid.

I remember that everytime there was a rain shower, I would go to the streets and play soccer, because I saw professional players play in the rain.

I felt like a pro player then.

I don't that anymore, lol, because I got an injury when playing on the rain as I slipped and bent the knee.

Yes there's something about being out in the rain and not caring that brings back memories of childhood. I forgot that running in light rain isn't so bad so maybe I'll be more inclined to still train on rainy days that aren't too cold!

Sorry to hear about the injury!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks STAX! I upgraded to silver tier for next month and am excited about your continued visits to my posts! I got some mail today that I'm gonna have to share when I get time for a proper write up...

Running in layers was the worse type of running for me back when I used to ruin, nowadays I dont do much running but I do try and walk a lot

tip!

Yes I like when it's about 45 to 60 degrees F and I can run in shorts and a t shirt and I don't have to take things off or put them back on like gloves, hat, extra shirt, pants instead of short, etc. Layers suck. I shouldn't have cancelled my gym membership. Seems like the weather went nuts and did everything it could to make me not want to run as soon as I cancelled my access to indoor treadmills! Not that I like treadmills that much, but they're better than sub freezing temps.

Nature has a way of teasing us so often

I hope temperatures pick up to mske your running more comfortable

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Interesting story! I've dabbled in the dark web but never been ballsy enough to order anything. There's one thing I've been trying to track down for years without success (which rarely happens) and it's available on a lot of the dark web merchant sites but I've always been too paranoid to go through with it. Especially since govt's have been paid a bit more attention to it in the past year. They only go after big fish usually , but you never know.

My weekend went well... It's been a while I w exercised..I'm thinking of hitting the gym... I really envy you

I stoped by and invited myself to your post here.lol I realy enjoyed your story

Hi @cryptokeepr! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: New York By Gehry. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Very nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65