My Steemit Vegan Cookbook #1: All My Steemit Recipes In One Place!

in #recipes7 years ago


I have had so much fun making food recipes on Steemit. The highlight of course being that I get to eat the delicious creations that I create! Somehow they taste even better after photographing them and putting even more love and attention into my presentation. As anyone who knows me knows, I love to cook and feed people. It is one of those simple joys in life that brings us together around a table or campfire, and lets us enjoy the moment with strangers and family alike. I am sure that many of you will have missed many of my old recipes, and since my Steemit birth in June 2017 I have written a few!

So this is for all you who who love food. As a good old friend who runs one of the top vegetarian restaurants in the world once said to me:

"It's not about it being vegetarian or vegan. It is about incredible food, that just happen to be vegetarian or vegan."


So I am happy to share my Steemit Cookbook with you, which is a full round-up of the last 4 months food recipes that I have created. I am starting with the oldest ones first, and also beginning with a post I write about using using 'Organic' FDA Approved Eggs. It's such an important issue to me, and involves a simple decision that anyone can make if they do choose to eat eggs.

If you do try one of these recipes, I would love to hear from you and how it went. I know a few you had a great time with the falafel recipe ;-)


1. PLEASE, Please please - Do it for the Chickens!

Whenever I visit the eggs section in the supermarket there is always a lot of choice! It can be hard to choose from so many options, and so most of us choose the same brand each time without giving it too much thought. Personally, I always choose the eggs that are obtained with the least suffering to the Chickens and Certified Organic.. Its not only better for the chickens but also for the eggs and for you!


2. Best Ever Home Made Falafel Recipe (vegan) (ecoTrain)

Falafel is the perfect balance of flavours, textures, temperatures and colours.. I could (and have) eat it EVERY day!.

Anyone who knows me knows that there is nothing I like to make more than Falafel, and following on from that, there is nothing I like to eat more than falafel (ok maybe sushi but its a close call). There are many ways to make it, and I've seen some people do it so wrong that I want to share with you, hands down, the best recipe I've ever used. This recipe is my own based on Yemenite flavours and spices. These takes the humble falafel to new heights!


3. My Thai Inspired Pesto - Original Recipe (Vegan Friendly) (ecoTrain)

The time has come for me to share a twist on one of my favorite foods, Pesto! Now before I start I would like to say that when you see a vegan recipe it doesn't mean you need to be a Vegan to eat it! Some vegan recipes are simply delicious and well worth trying even if you are a staunch carnivore. I have forced some of my dishes on rampant and reluctant meat eaters, only to see a big smile on their faces and put their bacon to one side!


4. Vegan Herb Cream Cheese Original Recipe (ecoTrain)

It’s time to share my third favorite vegan recipe for a full bodied vegan ‘cream’ cheese. This recipe uses fermentation, just like real cheese, to obtain that nice musty flavor. The main difference is that instead of using milk, we use cashew nuts. This cream cheese is bursting with flavor and has been tried and tested on quite a few vegans and none vegans alike. The result is always the same,, MMmmmm too gooood!


5. Simply Delicious Vegetarian / Vegan style Chopped Liver Pâté Recipe

This recipe is my absolute favorite thing to do with mushrooms. I always loved pâté, and when I was younger my Grandma would always bring a bowl of real chicken liver pate that I loved so much with some crackers. This is a vegetarian version and also vegan if you ommit the egg. It tastes just amazing and really embodies many of the flavours that Grandma's real chopped liver used to have. Very simple to make and with just a few ingredients. Don't miss this one!


6. Make Hummus (Humous) & Falafel Like a Pro - Vegan / Paleo Favorite Recipe



There was a time when I ate hummus twice a day, every single day for 6 months straight! I would always have it with something, and if I was treating my self it would be falafel. Hummus is one of those recipes that has just a few ingredients, and is very simple to make, and yet so many people get it So wrong! With my total passion for cooking and hummus, you can be sure to end up with the most silky smooth, buttery and joyful hummus you've ever made if you follow this recipe!


7. Coriander Pesto Pasta Recipe - A vegetarian delight for everyone!

One of the quickest, easiest and tastiest pasta recipes, this coriander pesto will surprise and inspire you to keep cooking. This recipe is a twist on an old time favorite basil pesto. The coriander takes this dish to new heights and leaves you feeling happy and totally satisfied. You can be eating within 20 minutes!


8. Flame Roasted Baba Ganoush With Whole Wheat Flat-Bread Recipe : vegetarian / vegan / paleo

Baba Ganoush is a delicious dish made with roasted eggplant and tahini. The name Baba Ganoush has Arabic origins and literally means spoiled father. According to Middle Eastern food lore, it alludes to an elderly, toothless father – or baba – whose daughter had to mash his food because he wasn't able to chew it. Baba Ganoush is a very quick and easy dish to make, and one of the secrets of a good Baba Ganoush is roasting it on an open flame to get a charred skin and the perfect texture. It is often accompanied with flat bread, or pita bread and some vegetables and salad. There is something very soothing about this dish, and people eat if for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you like Hummus then you may well enjoy Baba Ganoush!


9. Lentil Dhal Curry With Aromatic Rice - Authentic Indian Vegan Cooking

Knowing how to cook a good authentic Indian curry is one of those things that eludes many people. Why can't your home made curry taste like it does in a good Indian restaurant!? Well, I have been living in India for 11 years and if there is one thing I can say I have learned how to make, it is a good Dhal Curry! This recipe is one that I was taught by a dear friend who prided herself on making proper dhal as her mother taught her. Now, I am happy to share this with you here on Steemit!


10. Crispy Okra Juliennes, With Tamarind & Date Chutney : VEGAN / PALEO

Who doesn't like crispy fries?! I am a crispy food addict and require at least something crispy with every meal to be happy. So I'm sure you won't be surprised to know that I totally love a whole meal of crispy delight! The thing about eating crispy food is you have to have a good sauce or dip with it.


11. 🍴 How To Nail Your Shakshuka 🍳

Shakshuka is a North African dish and also a favorite in the Middle East. It is especially popular in Israel, where it is commonly eaten as a good hearty breakfast. I personally eat it mostly for lunch, accompanied by some flat-bread to mop up all that delicious tomato-y sauce. This recipe is one of my own and brings the best from both the African and Yemenite recipes by incorporating the spices of Yemenite cooking such as cardamom, cumin, clove, and the African method of serving the eggs whole instead of scrambled.


12. Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #08 PUMPKIN AND CHICK PEA CURRY RECIPE!

Until I discovered this recipe, when I had pumpkins in the kitchen I would always make Pumpkin Soup. Then one day I discovered a recipe that is based on Indian spices and ingredients. This is has become one of my favourite dishes and never fails to please! I made this during an Earthship workshop in the UK last year. They were all meat eaters and were a bit sceptical when I said how good this dish is. In the end, they all had 'seconds' and were totally inspired by the potential of good vegan Indian cooking.


13.Grilled Eggplant Stuffed With Mushroom Walnut Pâté, Tomato Sauce and Quinoa: Vegan Recipe

Are you hungry!? It's time for one of my home-brewed, self-inspired, original dishes! This is one that happened last year during an eventful evening whilst trying to decide what I could combine with my mushroom pâté that I love so much. Then a flash of inspiration led me to the discovery of what I can honestly say is a totally delicious dish. You know how there are some dishes that you never forget, even if you don't have it again.. I think this is one of them!


 

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

So nice! And they're all yummy! But I'm having chicken today, sorry ;-) ( organic though...and with way more space and better food then those above.

that makes all the difference!

It actually looks really good and that's coming from a meat lover :) Great work!

i love comments like this! happy to hear.. i am a meat love also. but only eat meat one a month or less.. like i said.. they arent vegan dishes.. they are amazing dishes that happen to be vegan ;-)

Some very tasty recipes there Alex.

Going to give the Pumpkin and Chick Pea Curry one a go tomorrow as we have a lot of pumpkins coming out of the garden at the moment.

This reminded me of my idea for Cooking with Steem cook books that I still have swirling round in the locker. Must move this forward when I can find a way to fund it. It didn't pick up enough traction on its first outing.

thanks a lot @pennsif ! That curry recipe is just stellar if you get it right.. Toasting that chickpea flour makes a lot of difference, and of course getting plenty of spice and massala in there! I ve no idea if you get curry leaf in the UK,, its not the most common leaf, but if you can its is a special one to be discovered!

I have the Curry Plant herb growing in the garden. It has a delicious smell. I wonder if that would do the job?

Sadly not!
This plant is sometimes used as a spice. Although called "curry plant" and smelling like curry powder, it has nothing whatsoever to do with this mixture of spices, nor with the curry tree (Murraya koenigii), and is not used as masala for curry dishes either.

But it could be the curry leaf, then it is ok to use.

I enjoyed your eggs article.
In Germany there is an initiative called Bruder Hahn Bruder Hahn (brother rooster) which means that if you buy eggs with this label, the male chicks from the farm where those eggs come from are not thrown into the shredder after hatching but are allowed to reach adulthood.
So those eggs are the best and most expensive you can buy in Germany, organic, free range and as ethical as possible because the brothers of the laying hens are not killed after hatching.

nice initiative.. i chose to focus on eggs because its really too easy to make a better choice and costs not uch more.. yet still people continue to buy the shittiest eggs and save pennies..

Glad Germany is leading the way on many fronts these days..

Alex all your articles make me so hungry, honestly! But despite that you show some really amazing dishes that are actually worth making at home and don't require a ton of products.

Thanks for yet another share :)

thanks mate! and yes i can make all i make in India with pretty a limited array of options.. having less spurs the imagination!

Good job! Thanks to @martin.mikes you have planted 0.05 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14274.66. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Great idea sharing all these yummy recipes on a single post mate! I have been doing it too, to make it easier for my followers wishing to try any of my older recipes.

yeah thanks your progressiveness! I agree ;-) It took me ages to pluch them all out and I was looking for them!

And now i get to see all those tasty recipes again.. and how i;ve improved.. still a ways to go though! ;-)

Great foods that are indeed need to be called a cookbook!!!!

thank my fairy friend! i had a lot of fun making these dishes.. and such a treat to eat them all up afterwards!

That made me drool. Omg you rock! Those foods look delicious af.

MMm, thanks @earisu.. i have to be honest, they ARE delicious! p-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52