Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #08 PUMPKIN AND CHICK PEA CURRY RECIPE!

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)



Until I discovered this recipe, when I had pumpkins in the kitchen I would always make Pumpkin Soup. Then one day I discovered a recipe that is based on Indian spices and ingredients. This is has become one of my favourite dishes and never fails to please! I made this during an Earthship workshop in the UK last year. They were all meat eaters and were a bit sceptical when I said how good this dish is. In the end, they all had 'seconds' and were totally inspired by the potential of good vegan Indian cooking.


This dish is very easy to make and most of the time is just letting the pumpkin and chick peas soften up. It has the unusual ingredient of toasted chick pea flour, which gives this dish a slighlty nutty, rounded taste. It is a hearty meal and will provide lots of energy and protien for a hard day's work, or a long cold night. It goes well with rice and flatbread.



What You Will Need


Serves 2 People


  • 1 small pumpkin
  • 100g chick peas
  • 4 table-spoons basen (chickpea flour)
  • 12 chopped cashewnuts
  • Fresh Curry leaves
  • 1 Tea-spoon fresh ginger
  • 1 Tea-spoon fresh garlic
  • 1 Tea-spoon murstad seeds
  • 1 Tea-spoon turmuric
  • 1 Table-spoon coriander powder
  • 1 Tea-spoon cumin seeds
  • Chilli powder to taste
  • 2 Onions
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 Tea-spoon sugar
  • fresh coriander leaves
  • 100ml Coconut milk
  • 2 Table-spoons Coconut Oil

How To Make It!



  1. Precook the chick peas until soft.

  2. Chop the pumpkin into 2 cm sized chunks

  3. Roughly chop the onions

  4. Heat a pan with the coconut oil and when hot add the mustard seeds. Wait for them to start popping and then add the cumin seeds.

  5. Add the cashew nuts and fry for one minute







  6. Add onions and saute for a few minutes until lightly brown






  7. Add turmeric, salt, cury leaf, ginger and garlic and saute for 2 minutes on medium heat




  8. Add pumpkin, cooked chick peas, coconut milk, corriander powder, chilli poweder, sugar, and a little water.




  9. Close the lid and cook on low heat until the pumpkin is soft. This can be around 20 minutes. Keep adding small amounts of water if it gets dry.




  10. In another pan heat some coconut oil and add the basen. If you dont have any then you can make it by grinding up some dry chick peas.




  11. Keep mixing until the basen has absorbed the oil and has a toasted darker brown colour.




  12. Add the basen to the curry and mix well.

  13. Serve and garnish with corriander.


AS I ALWAYS SAY, THIS DISH TASTES TOO GOOD! ;-)

ENJOY!



 

 


JOIN

 

 

Sort:  

This is really interesting - I love how the pictures turn out - are you editing out the background of the pan?

We make a lot of squash and I laughed because we are masters of pumpkin soup! I think we will give this a go - there are some hardening up on the farm right now ;p

i crop the pan yes,,, just before the edge in photoshop... that lets me get a nice close up shot ;-)

Yes, they are beautiful! We are alway spinning around trying to get the best background, but this seems very ingenious!

Oh wow mate, did not know that you cook so well! Such a yummy dish you made there! Love it! Your plating style is so lovely!
Btw I do run a cooking contest too, called Steemit Iron Chef and the theme for this week is actually pumpkin, i hope you have some time to check it out and maybe send an entry if you wish! Just check the tag #steemit-ironchef to see more on this unique type of cooking contest!
Cheers!
You made me hungry, i'm running to the kitchen!Lol!
@progressivechef

oh wow! thank you for this.. i did actually want to enter it.. but didn't think it was good enough! now you have inspired me!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

looks amazing ...love it !

Yum! We're normally an ovo-lacto family but doing a vegan month, this looks great. Do pumpkins that small have seeds? I wonder if you could grind them and augment the basen?

Interesting idea! I might try roasting them and adding whole.. i discarded them ;)

I love pumpkin and really love that flower you have on your table!

Beautiful post!

Thanks my brother! That flower is a big beautiful datura

I love pumpkin and chickpea curries. Works well with black beans instead of chickpeas too. Thanks for sharing. have a great weekend!

ooh yeah thanks amy, thats a Great idea!

Beautiful and looks delicious @eco-alex! Love the ingredients you used for this dish!

ahhh, thank you! It was good ;-) i even had it for lunch and dinner ;-)

Wish I could say I love pumpkin, but I don't! Everybody I know loves pumpkin and then there is me..the Grinch 😁

Nonetheless, this seems like an easy recipe to make!

P:S I love the statue of Lord Ganesh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51