Games That Keep on Giving - "Random Acts of Kindness" and "Thank You For Being"


I am drawn to building community here on Steemit.

It's a genuine reflection of my real, on the ground life

in Texas at the eco-village the @gardenofeden.

I have found that community is a huge asset

in helping people thrive instead of simply survive.

Helping each other really is key,

as everything gets easier and more enjoyable when we support one another.


So I'm initiating a couple of giving games here on Steemit.
I've already begun the "Thank You For Being" game,
which I'll mention more of later in this post.


I invite you now to join me in sharing

"Random Acts of Kindness"



This is how we'll play:


- Do something awesome for someone else (someone on or off of Steemit),
and make a post about it.
- Or, if someone does something awesome for you, you can write about that too.
- Or, if you see someone do something nice for someone else, share that.
- You can do anything for anyone, but ideally, that someone would not know about it, as part of the fun is in the unexpected surprise.
-Use the tag #RandomActsOfKindness.


The idea of making a post isn't to draw attention to yourself
for having done something for someone else,  
but to tune into the way it makes you feel,



if you saw the reaction of the receiver,



what a difference you made in their life, 



and to encourage other Steemians to do a random act of kindness of their own.


~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~


Before the creation of the @gardenofeden,
I used to make this a practice in my everyday life.
I found it helped me as much as it helped others.
Here are few things I've put into practice on my own:

- Buying an ice cream cone for the person in line behind me.
- Secretly paying for dinner for a couple in a restaurant
who reminded me of my elderly neighbors.
- Giving my coat to a homeless woman on the corner in a snow storm.
- Gifting a scarf, earrings and other articles of clothing
to someone who complimented me on them.
- Gifting my thermos of hot coffee to a man standing
next to his broken down car in a blizzard.
- Giving a wrapped present to an unsuspecting cranky child (with a cranky parent)
in the grocery store.
- Giving away free hand, foot and head massages on a whim.



Since the existence of the @gardenofeden,
I have been blessed in the amplified gift of giving.


The founder of the @gardenofeden, @quinneaker, has dedicated his life to the betterment of humanity, and holds space for helping others as a daily practice.


We get to feed the homeless,



families, single parents, children, elderly, the firemen and other locals in our community.



We also give clothing, shelter, education and more, all for free!!
We get to help meet their needs and make their day--which actually makes our day too.

Here are a couple of videos to get your giving juices flowing:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Here's also an opportunity to get in on the  
"Thank You For Being" game.



It's beginning to take off, as we share the appreciation we feel for each other!
It's such a feel-good game that keeps on giving.



I've already met some amazing people to appreciate,
and I'm honored to find that there are some people who appreciate me
that I didn't even know were in my circle of friends.
I've really been moved by this experience already, at times almost brought to tears.


I hope you'll enjoy playing this game with me
and feel the family vibe and connection we are experiencing through this form of expression.
You don't have to be invited to play, just check out my post
and the links below to feel  the power of love being shared here.

I hope it goes viral!


THANK YOU FOR BEING POSTS TO INSPIRE YOU TO WRITE YOUR OWN:

Your "Thank You For Being" invitation
Receiving my first "Thank You For Being" @everlove by @saramiller
"Thank You For Being" @quinneaker
"Thank You For Being" @qiqi-power
"Thank You For Being" @alexandravart by everlove
"Thank You For Being" @gardenofeden by @jr11
"Thank You For Being" @denniskonstantinby @alexandravart
"Thank You For Being" @everlove by @jr11
"Thank You For Being"  by @olawalium
"Thank You For Being My Child" by @metzli


It feels so good to receive the gift of giving.

I hope you'll take this opportunity to play the
"Random Acts of Kindness" game, and the "Thank You For Being"
game with me.  

What goes around, comes around.  
I hope we'll all be amazed at how rich our lives become.






ALSO, CHECK OUT THIS GAME OFFERED BY @JR11 WHO IS PASSIONATE ABOUT HELPING THE HOMELESS AND BUILDING COMMUNITY HERE ON STEEMIT

I met @jr11 through the "Thank You For Being" game!


Helping the Homeless - Contest No. 1
DTube version of the Homeless Contest



Sort:  

Really love this. I remember watching my mother when I was a young boy. We would be driving to the store and she would see a homeless person rummaging through the trash binder . She would take her hand put it in her purse grab a $20 roll down the window and give it to the homeless person. Seeing the eyes light up on that individual after receiving the money was something that was so cool. And I think this person was happy about receiving the money but it also seemed the way he looked at us that he was joyous to see that people actually still cared :) Anyway, I look forward to getting more involved with this. Getting the opportunity to help others and then sharing the joy we get from doing that with others and possibly inspiring them to do the same thing... well it's something I will truly relish ! And something that can change our World in small but important ways !!

@robertandrew...thank you so much for this comment. I love it when we have a positive influence on people, knowing that we have made a difference in their lives that can lift their spirits, if only for the moment. I'm grateful to hear of your story and hope that the president set by your mother will trickle down through the generations. I think it would be great to see a #randomactsofkindness post from you.

💖

These are the kinda posts I want to see a lot more of here on Steemit.

Thanks

Me too! I've been told #thankyouforbeing is trending!!?

Great to hear!

I'm now appreciating @saramiller!!

What a wonderful initiative! Seven years ago I realized that my income was more than enough to support my life and that in fact I was spending it on frivolous items. I decided to give a portion away, came in contact with people in the Philippines and have been helping several families ever since. (I had no faith in "charities" so I sought out means to get in direct contact with people that could use some help). It has been a gratifying experience and I also learned that joy doesn't come from financial wealth, but from family bonds.

upvoted & resteemed by @edward.maesen

What a beautiful lesson---something we would all do well to remember. I have no faith in "charities" either. Let's get the help to the people who need it. We will all be better for it, as you know. It is great when we can see how much time we spend distracting ourselves, and do something that actually makes a difference for the world instead.

I'm grateful to have met you @edward.maesen. I appreciate how you live from the heart. Thanks also for your upvote and resteem. Your support is greatly appreciated.

I'm grateful to have met you as well @everlove. Now is the time.

Oh yes! I am out to playyyyyy! I so much love your movements. You are such an amazing personality. Only you can do what you do. Inam super proud of you. Hahahaha. Miss me?

Can't miss you, you're still here! So glad you are and so glad you're sharing the love. It's amazing how uplifting it is to receive a beautiful comment. Thanks @olawalium.

Hahahaha. You got me there. It's even more amazing to always read from you and see how you keep changing hearts and touching lives. Only God can reward such a beautiful heart that you have.
Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/randomactsofkindness/@olawalium/little-yet-priceless-random-acts-of-kindness-4dfd837b96aea

OMG ! Another amazing post of gratitude, grace, love, and joy of spirit. Thanks for being you and for helping to inspire the gift of giving. Humans can really use a dose of love--together we truly can change the world. Thanks for your presence @olawalium.

Thank you for always igniting the fire in us. Thank you for all you to make love be the language we can speak without reservations and holding back. Your love is really borne out of deep affection for people hence your Steemit handle. You are indeed a blessing. You have no idea how this has been blessing people. I am always available for you. I truly respect you. Thank you for being.

Kindness rocks.

Rock on!!!!!! Great to see you here @snake73.

This is amazing @everlove (I'm back and I've missed you!)

What a wonderful idea! Before I left there was a contest I was guest judging for positive posts and it was really getting a lot of entries! I believe the same will go for this, as in, it'll really take off! People want to be kind to each other and sometimes it just takes a reminder like this to do so <3 Thanks for being a beckon of light here! =D Sending you a big hug beautiful!

Oh so glad you've returned @heart-to-heart. We can never have too much love or lovies here on Steemit! I'm really grateful to be sharing some positive vibes--I'm sure that's what brought you back....lol! Thanks for being here, for your support, and for your comment. Hug received and returned a bazillion fold.

Well now, I couldn't agree more! I'm happy to be back but totally bummed that I missed you all at Steemfest! I bet you had an incredible time? :) You have my unwavering support always @everlove =D I love supporting high vibe, positive thinking, loving healers more than anything <3

Oh man....SteemFest was priceless. I hope you will make it to the next one. There really are no words so truly express the magnificence. I thank you for your support and the beautiful way you engage this platform. I'm so glad we're connected. I am honored by your presence.

Oh shucks @everlove, you're making me feel all mushy and we all know, I already am mushy enough ;) I will FOR SURE be there but I have a little bit of spice coming up in my life so, I'm really excited for these new opportunities :)

Oooooo, now that sounds intriguing!!! I hope that excitement for spice will flow over into this Steemit community. We'll just be mushy together!! <3

I can tell you without a doubt in my mind that you're going to love it ;) I just have to figure out how I am going to go about making the transition on here <3 Sending you a hug! You and @quinneaker are going to be on the top list of people who know ;)

Ok, now you've really got me!!! I can feel that I love it already. Your excitement is contagious Can't wait to hear what you have up your sleeve!!! Hug received--a bazillion back to you @heart-to-heart.

Oh thank for this great opportunity, #thankyouforbeing is already trending. I will surely be part of this one too #randomactsofkindness ,now i have the opportunity to share with the wold how i have helped people and how i am helped too. Thanks ma @everlove. Let the flag of love keep flying. I can't just wait to start sharing my experiences. #thankyouforbeing

YAYAYAYAYAY! I'm really stoked to hear that you find so much value in sharing the love around. I think it's a great way to bring the Steemians together. Just look....I found you!!!

I didn't now #thankyouforbeing was trending. I'm super excited to hear that. Thanks for the heads up....thank you for being @emmakwisequote.

Thank you @everlove you're a beautiful person inside and out. I will continue to support everything you do and I appreciate all the love. <3

I appreciate the help in activating the love connections. It really is beautiful to feel the magic ignite. Thanks for your support @jr11.

It is a beautiful act of love to help other people! I thank you from the heart for contributing a grain of sand to humanity, you allow God to act through you!

You know, I'm also in charge of helping homeless people in my country, Venezuela, we are going through a very big crisis and there are people in the street literally dying of hunger! It is a really serious problem, and with the money obtained in the upvotes and also with donations from kind people, I have been feeding and giving clothes and shoes to people in need.

Yay for you @malos10!!!!! We definitely need more people who not only see there is a problem, but who are willing to really stand up and do something to make a difference. I'm so happy to hear this.

I hope you will write a post about it and give it the #randomactsofkindness tag. Let's show Steemians what we can do when we really give from the heart.

Thanks for your comment and for doing your part.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38