First Steem Meetup in Wales - only 10 days to go [Saturday 10 February, Lampeter]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #promo-steem6 years ago

It is now only ten days until the first steem meetup in Wales.

The meetup is taking place on Saturday 10 February 2018 in Lampeter in Ceredigion.

I am really looking forward to meeting fellow steemians from around Wales. The meetup will be a great opportunity for us to look at ways of expanding the uptake of the platform in Wales.

With the current recruitment efforts of @theadmiral0, @welshstacker and myself, along with the general growth in steemit users, numbers are really beginning to rise rapidly in Wales.

We burst through our target of doubling the number of active users in Wales a couple of weeks back. The total number of Wales steemians is now just sailing through 100.

I wonder if we can triple that number by the end of the year...?


The first meetup is going to take place on the morning of Saturday 10 February in Lampeter, Ceredigion in west Wales.

It is going to be in Victoria Hall in the town centre during the twice monthly People's Market, a local produce and craft market.

The market runs from 10am to 1pm. The meetup will be held in the upstairs meeting room from 11am. Before the meetup a couple of us will be running a drop-in session for any members of the public who would like to find out more about steem and steemit.

There is no formal agenda for this first meetup as I see it as more of a getting to know each other session.

However if anyone attending would like to discuss any particular issues do let me know and we can make sure that they do get covered during the meeting.

There will a mixture of 'old hands' at the meetup as well as quite a few people who have signed up in the last few weeks as a result of our recruitment efforts.

Tea, coffee and cakes will be provided. There is a also a cafe downstairs that does a good full breakfast (both meat and vegan/vegetarian options) in case anyone wants to have breakfast there before the meeting.

We will be supplied with a delicious selection of vegan cakes by local baking company Cath's Vegan Kitchen.

Unfortunately Lampeter has no railway station (yet - there is a campaign to bring it back). There are buses to the town from Carmarthen and Aberystwyth.

I suspect most people will be driving here. There is some limited parking on the surrounding roads which will probably be full because of the market. Otherwise there is an ample public car park about five minutes walk away.

Victoria Hall is in Bryn Road and the postcode for satnav is SA48 7EE.



So far about a dozen people have indicated they are coming along to the meetup including @pennsif, @theadmiral0, @pumpkinsandcats, @cryptocariad, @cryptojelly, @artystuff, @monkeybots, @callumogilvy, @timmartin and @mayaliland.

I hope some of the other 50 odd active steemians in Wales that I haven't spoken with yet will be able to make it as well.

Everyone is welcome and if you want to bring along anyone who isn't yet on steemit to find out what it is about that will be fine too.

In case anyone is interested there was a full list of all the steemian in Wales in the post I published about 10 days ago.

There are quite a few new additions to be added now and a new version of the list will be coming soon.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :


[ flag image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0 // photographs by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

Good luck my friend

If there were a train station I'd do my best to make it there, but I'm all the way over on the east coast :(

I would love to come but it's a four hour journey for me on my motorbike, would like to see a little update on anything that happened there. Was thinking of bringing up how Steemit could maybe upgrade it's user interface so it looks more sophisticated to someone using it from a social media perspective - such as editing options, fonts, ethos etc and a more ergonomic platform in general instead of a feed based layout.

Waiting to see your post about the event.

@wales should we go or wait for a cardiff meet up?

This would be epic if it were in June :( I will be visiting Wales in June to compare some ancient Nordic writing I learned long ago. And to trace ancestry. I will be starting in London, to Bristol then driving to Pembrokshire Any recommendations places I should stop along the way?

That's going to be so cool, I hope you have a great time meeting some great steemians! :)

I'm not sure if I can go so far but I will try to get there; but have fun anyway.

Now I am wishing I was currently at Wales...its all good... You guys should have fun.. Waiting to see your post about the event.

It's all coming together very nicely. I'm really struggling on the recruitment front, I've hit a brick wall of resistance!! Better fetch my sledgehammer...

Its hard isn't it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35