You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 0

in #prepping6 years ago

That's awesome, I am already following so I will look forward to your posts. Me personally I only store a small amount of food, storing food is problematic for a lot of reasons, I store bullets.

Sort:  

Thanks a lot. I figured it was high time someone tried it out.

I store bullets.

That must have worked out very well for you in the Obama years! I still remember stories about ammo flying off the shelves at premium prices.

I actually started my hording then, the trick was to get to Walmart before the local gun store owners and/or friends of the employees would show up and buy up everything. By going to a Walmart most mornings I was able to acquire plenty of ammo even in the worst part of the drought. What is the shelf life on the Mountain House?

I think it's 25 years. The food is freeze-dried, the packets are sealed, and each packet has an oxygen absorber. Next to storing the food in nitrogen, that's the best I know of.

25 years is the max I have seen, it would be interesting to put some aside or find some that is 24 years old.

Yes, that would be a good test.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40