The twang of bowstrings...

in #prepping5 years ago

I've been researching a potential new hobby lately which has been both interesting and somewhat daunting. As some of you may recall I do a lot of shooting, I mean with firearms and I use my skills in competitions both nationally around Australia and on a club-level locally plus in hunting and culling applications. I've been shooting, and a gun owner, since the age of 21 so for about 28 years and while I'm still learning all the time I have a vast and quite extensive knowledge.

Thinking about a new hobby meant looking into what skills I had currently, and those I didn't, to determine what I wanted to do. As someone who values a high level of preparedness and survival-type skills it made sense to look into something that aligned with that theme.

Contemplating the scenario I had a lot of choices ranging from deepening my first aid/medical skills to building better mechanical/electrical skills. Now whilst they sound valuable I already have some understanding of them. I have the ability to treat most gunshot wounds, cuts, snake bites, breaks, grazes and a myriad of minor-type injuries and whilst I'm no mechanic or electrical engineer I have an idea of such things. So I'm looking for something more foreign to me as a potential new hobby. Besides, hobbies should be fun right?

I've been putting serious consideration into archery and have done a lot of research over the last month or so. I don't mean standing in front of a target and lobbing arrows at it though, I mean practical archery, in the field. Archery that can actually assist me in certain situations. I have a few friends who do a lot of bow hunting and so have had detailed conversations about archery, bows, arrows, fletchings, arrow heads, strings and loads of other things. From my perspective understanding how to use a bow and being accurate and fast with it could have some benefit. I mean I may not always have a firearm to hand right?

In my research I turned to a resource I have at my disposal; A collection of scanned documents on... Stuff. The resource covers everything from permaculture, preserving, trapping and tanning, to bee keeping, butchering, field survival, evasion and escape, knots, foraging, medical, lock picking, stealth, shelter and several other topics that a person in certain situations may find incredibly useful. My collection also has an extensive section on archery which, until now, has gone un-investigated.

The archery component covers the topic generally but also provides extensive and detailed information, instructions and diagrams on use and technique plus how to actually make bows, arrows, fletchings and arrow heads. It's that which piqued my interest.

Most hobbies cost money and so I'm working through costings and the viability of beginning this one; The making of my equipment, over the cost of simply buying the stuff. A decent recurve bow would cost me in the vicinity of $1000-$2000 Australian dollars and arrows are somewhere around $12 upwards so getting set up isn't too costly although making my own would be a lot cheaper and, I believe, much more rewarding. I'm still weighing it up however I think I know which way I'll go if I decide to take on this new hobby.

Whilst researching I came across this guy on the internet. At first look I was pretty impressed with the practical nature of his skills with the bow and also the way he's looked back into history to rekindle lost skills. I believe there is some degree of contention in respect of his claims although his skills certainly look like they speak for themselves. I'm not sure I'd ever get this good although watching the video certainly confirmed my interest in this ancient skill. If you take the time to watch the video you will see some pretty amazing archery.

I shoot my firearms a couple times a week on average; Handguns and rifles including long range rifle shooting out to about one mile. The skills to shoot like I do have been acquired over years. I also make my own ammunition; A skill all of its own. But if I was in the wilderness and my gun malfunctioned I'd be lugging around a useless piece of steel. With a bow there's not a lot to go wrong, certainly not with a recurve bow. It's a piece of wood and some string essentially. Carry a couple of spare strings and you're GTG. (Good to go).

I'm still in research-mode and the jury's out ono whether to buy equipment or make it however I'm sure I'll reach a conclusion at some stage then move forward. I'm not sure I'll look as intense as Daffy Duck in that image above, or be as accurate and dynamic as the guy in the video however I'm sure I'll have a lot of fun with it and enjoy building my skills a little more.

*Image courtesy of Warner Bros.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Archery sounds like a very exciting new hobby, I think. And making your own equipment does indeed sound very rewarding, though would probably take up a lot of time and effort...

Hey you. Yeah, it's that time and effort I'm contemplating. More the time than the effort I guess. I could buy some stuff and start Robin Hooding right away but then what if I had the need to make my own someday? I'd not know how.

Did you see that video? Imaging me jumping around like a ninja-archer! :) I think I'll be somewhat more passive. :)

ha you never know, this hobby might bring out the ninja in you :P there's a ninja in everyone, in the right circumstances!

True, I like the idea of knowing how to make your own ;) Could come in helpful one day and if it doesn't, it's not like it's time lost, really, so all good, right?

Yeah, ninja is one of my personalities...The body is having trouble keeping up these days though... 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Chat to @realtreebivvy next meet up. I think he does hunting with a bow and arrow.

Yeah, I believe he does, or has in the past.

Okay, @galenkp. Archery is something I used to be interested in a lot, but not never really got to. Now, I don't think I'd want to, but it still intrigues me, so if you do end up doing any of that, that should make for some good times for you and fun reading for me.

This guy in the video, if all of that is real, is pretty amazing. I watched another one where he's curving the arrows around people and objects and then hitting targets dead on. That's just downright awesome.

It would be great to see him do it in person. And I wonder if he's tried to hire himself out for stunt work on these different movies he's talking about.

I'll blog about it should I decide to go down the archery/bow-making rabbit hole.

I think there's some genuine skill involved in that video although there are some who believe it to be trickery. I'm not sure although he certainly nocks, draws and fires quickly and accurately. Put me and him in a gymnasium-sized room, me with my loaded and holstered 9mm and him with bow and arrow in his hand, and I think I'd come off second best. Put me anywhere up to and including 1 mile away from him with one of my long guns with a clear line of sight and it's light out for bow and arrow boy. 😋

I've got some more research to do prior to deciding to take it on but if I do I'll write about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Archery is good fun 😆 though I haven’t done anything with a bow forever and am currently too pissweak to draw the one we have. Making also sounds like it would be fun if you felt like putting the time into it 😄

More importantly you are going to blog about it right 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have visions of me archerying like Robin Hood, robbing from the rich, giving to the poor, terrorising the Sherrif of Nottingham and generally larking about in forest green garb, feather in my jauntily-tilted cap and a dashing smile upon my face...Will I blog about it? Well, only the non-incriminating parts...

Posted using Partiko Android

Did you ever consider slingshots? (catapults)

Both cheap and very useful...And great fun!
(buy balls, don't use stones!lol)

There are lots of you tube vids out there, showing everything from hunting to competition events..)

It's a skill that can make you deadly with it.
I kid you not.

I had a slingshot as a kid. I was a good shot with it and ended up getting it confiscated. I was slingshotless for a time then replaced my lack of slingshots with guns. From there, well, it seemedkke a backward step to go back the slingshot...That is until I got one several years ago. I now have one in each car and a couple elsewhere...I'm still a good shot...And the slingshots I have are a little more sophisticated than the primitive version I had as a kid.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.405 which ranks you at #2204 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2198).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28