Poetry Slam Challenge 11: 🌀 Still Afloat (Original Poem)

in #poetryslamchallenge8 years ago (edited)


Corked,

Mostly upright,

I’ve lain over all the World’s Seas.

My only company,

The aged singsong of distant grey intelligences that I cannot know.

When the winds and waves give me rest from their torment,

In the stillness,

My brittle wax seal cracks in the equatorial heat.

The sun’s brilliance,

And the many years,

Cause the exposed inked letters of my edges to fade.

I do not know how much time remains,

But for now my meaning and purpose,

Rest hidden in the spiral of my parchment. 



From the offending flotsam,  

I escaped with but a chip struck from my vitreous armour. 

It reflected green as it fell away from me,  

Simply disappearing in the darkness below,  

After one last brief flash. 


Then,  

It all nearly ended that summer I drifted around the entire Southern Sea. 

Were my arrival just a few weeks later,  

I’d be trapped and forever frozen. 



Years passed,  

My fears raised again in the rocky shallows guarding the New Islands. 

Yet that dread,  

Is as nothing to my desire to be found, and known. 

I’m certain it was this need alone that summoned the currents,  

To sweep me from this deafening, crashing threat.  

The waves plotting to crack me,  

Then the rocks to shred me from existence. 



With Endless Water in my sight now, 

I ask if the pain will ever end?  

To whom I do not know, 

Though somehow sensing I will be heard, 

I call out and beg to be held, 

To be allowed to breathe, 

To know today’s purest air, 

To complete my journey. 


Though how to deliver this message after so much time,  

After being so abused?  

Or when found,  

Will I be able to let go,  

To unfurl my scroll and say what must be said? 

Will I even remember the words? 


Yes…  

Yes… 


After so many years, 

Trust the currents to continue to reveal my path,  

Truth in the strength of my seemingly delicate shell, 

Trust in my spiral that locks its papery content from the flame of time,



For I helped make it,  

With Great Care… 



(Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4.)


Thanks to @prufarchy for running the PoetrySlamChallenge, and to everyone who appreciates and supports the development of other's skills! The details and rules for the latest PoetrySlamChallenge can be found here!


Other Original Poems;

Thanks For Your Attention and Support!

Melech ben Chaya מלך בן חיה, @inphiknit

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Truly epic writing!

Wow thanks! Glad you enjoyed and thanks for taking the time to read :)

Love the approach and creativity to this poem and the personification. Nice to travel along treacherous terrains with the bottled letter. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted with admiration.

When I sat to write, I couldn't figure out what I wanted to say, so the letter itself spoke^^

I'm also very greatful for your appreciation and enthusiastic support, it'll help me keep going!

Yeah it definitely flowed well bro, and you're welcome, I am glad I can help and push you forward towards Greatness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64