What Was It All For? 🌀 (An Original Poem.)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

I fear the ancient ancestors, roll in their graves, 

Because of the oft-terrible, way I behave. 

Their sacrifices and efforts, nearly forgotten in vain, 

Their memories mean little, seldom feeling their pain.

They defended their honour, and protected their word, 

Then I came along, used my tongue as a sword. 

They look down upon me, seeing what I’ve done to our home, 

Inside apathetically, I watch the world from my throne. 

(Source.)

Sages that knew forwards and backwards, entire shelves of books, 

Soldiers who saved us, from the very worst of crooks. 

Families gave up all they had, and the lives they knew, 

All dreaming that a better world, would one day be true.

If I’m aware and perceive it, why don’t I just change our fate, 

How do I stop it, grow up, and get rid of this hate? 

How will I once and for all, see my neighbour as myself, 

If we listen to the ancestors, will it lead us to health?

If I respect my elders, and honour my folks, 

Looking in others, and finding their hopes. 

What would happen if I stopped lying, and sheathed my tongue, 

If I stayed my anger, and forgave most-everyone?

Can I avert my eyes, when lust makes me reel, 

Can I hold back my hands, and never again steal? 

Can I fight for the lives of others, as well as my own, 

Sharing this desire, will we finally bring peace into our homes? 

(Source.)

Other Original Poems;

Thanks for your attention and support! 

Melech מלך ben Chaya, @inphiknit 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47