fight

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


got in a fistfight today with my head
not your usual roll in the dirt
punch duck and lunge
no this was serious shit
the kind with mallets and scissors
til death do you part
my head hates me
it would burn everything i wrote
sabotage my dreams
quit my job
lose my purpose
throw me in dark holes
cover me over with tarp
until i could not see daylight
until i withered and died from starvation
we had a bit of a disagreement
my head is stubborn
does not like
to believe
in things it cannot see
says its just trying to protect me
from the same old con
the people who say they believe in me
then disappear
my head does not
understand
why hearts don't follow set rules
i have a hard time with it myself
now i am not vengeful
don't believe in violence
but i socked my head in the back
with a pickaxe
the hangover is monstrous
but my head is learning the hard way
not to mess with me
call me stubborn
call me foolish
but i still believe in love
just wish
love believed in me


top photo rendered from my own photo in Deep Dream Generator


if you enjoyed this poem please check out my other work:

writing

on writing the superhero
london calling
torico's list
the dysfunctional friend

poetry

the art of fetch
aging
alchemy
birdsong
creation
hard candy
listen
liquid
mysteries of the art world

click this invite to enter

the discord steem-art server


Sort:  

Upvoted and Resteemed by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. Any quality blog creator can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please upvote this comment so that MAP can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

thank you to all my new MAP friends!

All the feels.

thank you my CO homey ;) hear there might be a denver meet up next month.. hope i can make it !

I hope you can make it too!

Some of us from the Colorado Springs meeting are already planning one for next week! We're planning to make sure we get these peppered and I'm going to make sure I set up my Zoom conference room to record next time so we can have a replay.

ok but make sure you warn peeps. personally i don't want to be photographed/video'd. or did u mean audio? that would be ok.

Yes, good point. I just heard @amvanaken mention that some people had asked if we'd recorded the meetup in Colorado Springs, so we were all discussing setting up a cam with Zoom for next time.

I am sure we can make sure that there is a place for people to sit where they will not be in the camera shot.

tip!

hugs great poem & insight. Love is a fragile thing but powerful. Sending some to you you. Resteemed your thoughts.

This post has received a 34.29 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @dreamingirwin. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @torico to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Wow. I know the feeling. Wonderful poem. Hits home. Thanks for sharing. :)

This really speaks to me! My emotions and my logic just don't play well together.
I'm going to have to resteem this one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72