alchemy - a poem

in #poetry7 years ago


my heart is a radar
it calls in calamity
from fields of grain
picks out hoar dried fruit
in ghostly trees
sleeps to avoid sunlight
birds with bent
heads gather courage
their pale yellow cat
eyes peer at me
like shamans yearning to
touch me, to steal
power from my gaze
as if they know my smell
from some other life
a piece of straw
plucked for their bed
a shiny layer of rusted tin
transmits dust to gold


photo @ torico2015


Sort:  

Oh, such a powerful piece! Loving this excerpt!

sleeps to avoid sunlight
birds with bent
heads gather courage
their pale yellow cat
eyes peer at me

<

thank you so much! this is one of my favorite pieces because it speaks to the mystery and magick in all of us.

I truly am moved.

I really enjoyed this piece. Rich with images, the short, colorful phrases, and a paradox of concrete/abstract content... Nice! Being written in all italics adds a certain dreamy quality, as well...

thank you! i do love the paradoxes in life. things that mive it that surreal quality. glad you liked it!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @torico. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @torico to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Powerful words that speak to the heart. Fellow poet here, check out my poems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61