the art of fetch - in loving memory

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


Below is a poetry piece I wrote a while back in memory of my angel dog, Cocoa, who passed away before her time. Eleven long years ago, in September 2006, her kidneys started to fail.

Maybe there were signs that i missed, had I been more observant. I blame myself for not listening. By the time she was diagnosed, her disease was already past a point of normal treatment, and even so i didn't have the thousands of dollars that it would have taken to treat her.

Instead I watched her wither away slowly for weeks, heartbroken and totally powerless to save her, wanting to spend every day I could to spend time with her. She will always be the love of my life.



I found a stick on the ground today

Funny how it reminds me of you
our summers by the pond
sticks of all sizes - flung
into the water
onto the grass
flying through fields
pulled from the mud
dead wood debris
held in your mouth
running though trees

A stick
I could have found in the woods but
I am on a city street and

it is out of place - as am I
with cars whooshing by
as evening darkens a clouded sky
with stars unseen lights of commerce
green red and white Christmas scenes
compete for view
on this cold December night

The curling bark reminds me of dreams
of seasons spent in our snowbound home
gathering branches to save on fuel
kindling fires in the black wood stove
to take an edge off winter's chill
chicken soup simmering
in the great room downstairs

Sticks I'd stack in uneven piles
and when you were bored
you'd pick them up, one by one
carry them back to your bed, then
break them into hand sized bites -
leaving a mess on the floor

I'd scold you gently then wrestle you down
rubbing my face against your fur
waiting for gentle kisses in my ear
the chocolate brown softness of you
a balm to my wounds

The bark of a stick
a pale shadow of you...

A simple stick -
a stick on the ground
no great art
yet the curling of the bark
with shades of earth
reminds me of the life it once had

Now a broken branch
with a vein of dried leaves, seed
pods on a silver stem withered with age

Here death imitates art
innate beauty in the making

It's funny ~ how a silly old stick can make me cry



all photos @torico, all rights reserved

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing R.I.P. Cocoa.

that touches my dog loving heart, feeling like i wanna cry too remembering my old dog who'd left me years ago.

upvoted , followed and resteemed

thank you lisa! after eleven years, i still cry as i remember. those that we love share a special place in our hearts

Okay, so this noob just welled up.

What a lovely tribute to your sweetie. Those brown eyes, d'awww.

Loved the poem and it made me cuddle a little closer to my Yorkie, who is here beside me snoozing.

New follower here! Nice to meet you!

jakob, that just got you an instant follow. i poured my heart into this post and was hoping so much for people to understand. i've had so little response on it (6 views) beyond what I botted for myself and a few very kind people. I really appreciate your response, thank you :)

Aww, that means a lot to me. I know how it is. I just started here and had a post I really poured myself into and it made a difference to have someone care as well.

I really hope that you are giving yourself whatever space you need to process the emotions...it's been a really emotional time in the world (always seems to be the case, but esp heightened recently).

<3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by torico from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @torico to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

What a beautiful dog

she was the sweetest dog in the world.

WOW @torico that bring me a tear in my eyes !! Reestemed <3 <3

ty yusaymon!! i cried a lot for a few days which is unlike me. funny how memories affect you.

Yes I know that feeling !!! :S

Touching, this made me cry. Beautiful work.

thank you so much! i didn't mean to make everyone cry, but the sharing of grief and love helps to heal.

@torico

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

A very nice poem tribute to your doggy friend! Please reply, and I'll be able to nominate the proc poetic post to the @ocd curation team!

ty ma1neevent :) i happily (and sleepily) accept. i am honored.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59