PAPA-PEPPER'S WILD & STRANGE CONTEST - Round 4 - POETRY

in #contest8 years ago

Round 3, the MEME competition, has now officially ended and we are on to round 4, the Poetry challenge!

For those of you who haven't been following this contest, it started with a winning photo in Round 1 from @ballinconscious:


That winning photo was turned into this winning piece of art in Round 2 by @rigaronib:


That winning artwork has now been turned into this winning meme in Round 3 by @meesterboom:


Yep, that's right!

We had a lot of excellent memes entered into Round 3 of the Wild and Strange Contest, but, after leaning heavily on the opion of my guest judge this week, @rigaronib, it has been decided that @meesterboom is the winner!

Thanks to everyone else who entered for giving us so many great options!

I'll probably throw out a few @papa-pepper WILDCARDS on some of the other entries, but I'm still recovering from an illness and will be driving halfway across the country late, late this evening, so please give me a few days to send any payouts. (Thanks for your patience people.)

SO, DID I HEAR SOMETHING ABOUT POETRY?

You sure did, round four of the Wild and Strange Contest is Poetry!


Here are the official rules:

  1. By entering, you are giving me full permission to use your entry however I see fit.
  2. Your poem is to be eight lines long.
  3. Your poem should be free any language that is generally considered to be inappropriate for small children.
  4. Your poem needs to have a rhyme scheme to it.
  5. Your poem must be based off of the meme submitted by @meesterboom.
  6. You have until Midnight (CST) on Sunday night to enter your poem.
  7. Though you are more than welcome to make a post out of your entry, your entry poem must be submitted to the contest by replying to this post. Any attempt at entering that is not in a reply below by Midnight (CST) Sunday will not be valid.

If your poem wins, you will receive 50 STEEM!

Here is an example poem, off the top of my head.

Bigfoot don't live in any of our hoods,

Because Bigfoot stays out in the woods.

Many make claims, but the questions persist,

I wonder if the bigfoots really exist.

Bigfoot had the same problem, pertaining to man,

So to find out if we exist, he came up with a plan.

He logged on to steemit, the logical thing to do

And as it turns out, the rumors were true.

I hope you've been enjoying the contest so far, and we still have a ways to go!

Thanks to everyone who has helped by entering and commenting, and for all of your effort in helping choose winner in the past too!

FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

"Paid to post poems?-- pfft!" he proclaimed, "That's the craziest thing I've heard."
Wiping the spit from that heartfelt loud 'pfft', he thought to himself, "it's absurd."
"There's no way a guy, no matter how high in the mountains and trees that he lives,
can poet all up in the woods like a bear, and expect to get Steem bucks. "What gives?"
A big hairy poet, but you'd hardly know it, 'cept that his feet were certainly longfellows,
twas already on Steemit, he'd been there for weeks, had posted and written his 'hello's'
He'd learned some new things; today he'd learnt why all the "human" rumors persist,
so he somehow typed out the headline: "Today I learned; That Humans Actually Exist!"

Hey, you're here too, haha! Very nice. Steep competition.

It seems I have a poetry problem, I'm seeking help now.

Splendid entry indeed!

Excellent job!

Haha thanks, and thanks for the contests, a lot of fun

Bigfoot wanders the woods in his cold bare feet
Thru rain and snow and ice and sleet

He dares to wonder if there's a better way
Then dreams of shoes, but how to pay?

A glow shines thru the thick forest night
He trudges toward it, it's a screen with a light!

Click! Upvote! So easy this Steemit!
He earns steem then buys shoes, no joking, I mean it!

Great entry!

It's so good it could make me join steemit!

You've got me trying things again (couldn't resist) @papa-pepper ;)
Here goes:

Sitting beneath an old redwood tree,
Bigfoot pondered the nature of reality.
He’d heard legends of a creature that stood like him,
thought them naught but a tale that was told on a whim.
So he called his friend the raven to look far and wide,
and gather information to help him decide.
His friend told him “Check out steemit” and there he found,
man was absolutely real and the earth was round!

You do well trying new things!

Why thank you! Nothing's worth doing that's not worth doing well....or at least attempting to ;)

Can't do it well if you don't try or attempt!

TRUTH haha! I really appreciate what you do here. You make this community great, in fact you make it a community :)

Despite the rather coincidental name, I didn't make that site (brain hurts just thinking about it) a robot named spammy something or other left it in comments to @verbal-d in his recent collab post :)

0101100101101111011101010010000001100001011100100110010100100000011101100110010101110010011110010010000001110111011001010110110001100011011011110110110101100101001011000010000001101001011100110110111000100111011101000010000001110100011010000110100101110011001000000110001101101111011011110110110000111111
To decode click here

Introducing steemit's private messaging, haha!

Just for the record, and to set things straight....
That critter ain't my kin, and I didn't evolve from the lake..

He's got big feet, so they say...
But he's not elite or rare per-say

I seen him down at Walmart, shopping for Chinese pewter...
But I'm pretty sure, he just likes to ride the scooters...

And he'll never stay put, he'll roam again...
And he ain't mrfoot, he ain't my kin....

Well done @mrfoot!

I like how you played that!

Ya caught that did ya....

OHHHHHH YEEAAAAAHHHHHHH

Here's my entry - which is also in my latest post

Deep in the woods there lived a Squatch

And from the wood the Squatch would watch

The goings on at Steemit's site

His curiosity did bite

He signed on with a username

Learned markdown, voted, played a game

He thought that humans were a myth

When asked by peers, he pled the fifth.

Upvoted ,replied on your post ! I also posted mine here in the comments , with a link to my blog ! Hopefully lots of people enter ! 👍😉

He's definitely got a lot of entries which is great to see. Running contests are hard unless you're persistent. People generally don't seem to join in the beginning and then it builds up a following - sometimes after weeks! I've seen it happen here with papa, with the openmic and culinary challenges and more.

LOL - I am so glad that I finally got to read that!

THANKS for the ENTRY!

Adrift in a landscape wild and strange
Encrypted data bringing a new age
Lost in the wilderness of central banks
Avoiding society, wars, and tanks
A cry for help in the dark of night
A hairy hero shows up with a light
Can this be true, do you really mean it?
Yes, my friend and it's called Steemit!

Great minds think alike :-) I also rhymed steemit and meant it.

Ah, rhyming "steemit" with "mean it" - Pure Genius!
(Steemit like you mean it joke from Open Mic Week 8)

anybody wanna peanut?
(princess bride joke)

As you wish...
(Princess Bride joke)

You seem a decent fellow. I hate to kill you.
(princess bride joke)

I just realized I didn't really follow the theme of the meme! Can I change my last line to "Yes! Humans are real and they're on Steemit! @papa-pepper?

Entry changed.... for the better.

Inconceivable! (princess bride joke)

Actually, we are not inconceivable, as we have already conceived our fifth!
(@papa-pepper/@mama-pepper joke)

Hand slaps knee :) And I know, you shared the miracle with us (so many cute little peppers running around)

Yeah, we are still looking into what causes that...

yup! One HOT family.

If I go on Steemit what else could I learn?
That the new president elect could be a concern
We are not "out of the woods" yetis what they all say
Give him 3 months in office and a little time to play
Some say that the truth will eventually come out
Here's hoping that Trump will not make us all pout
Things may be looking up indeed
Let's make America great again is my new creed!

Political Yeti

Lol! - you're entered!

Watch out for unique contest
You never know what you will find

Bigfoot was searching for a contest
He was amazed by his find

Humans communicate on SteemIt
Being paid to simply exist

To his utter amazement on SteemIt
He found humans really do exist


I amaze myself could not sleep as this contest was stuck in my head I could not pass up an opportunity to compose a little poem. I hope this works out for the contest.

You totally composed that poem that!

WELL DONE!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

And I thought I was doing great with my payout....

There are a lot of Yetis,

that we have not encountered yet!

But believe me my STEEM~'prentices,

OH, dear STEEMIANS do not fret

We doubted their existence!

And they have doubted ours!

Now they've learnt of us, and us of them

While reading posts on STEEMIT for Months and Days and Hours

You breezed through that one, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77